We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Tolbooth Wynd”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Mile Accommodation
Gretna, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old Tolbooth Wynd”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Booked this apartment through Easylet Edinburgh apartments and would not use them again. when we arrived and tried to obtain the key through instructions they gave us there was no key in the box. Spent 20 minutes trying to contact them only to be told that we could not get access to the apartment as there was problems with it and they had moved us to an apartment on the other side of town. Told them this was totally unacceptable as we had booked this because of the location and they said there was nothing they could do as they did not have another apartment near. They did order a cab to pick us up and take us to the apartment which was definitely inferior, burn marks on the carpets and holes in the flooring in the kitchen and could have done with a repaint and another clean! Contacted them again to tell them this and they offered us one in another block 4 floors up and no lift ! and one member of our party had a bad leg! They offered us £100 back on our payment which only just covered the cost of taxis to and from where we needed to be. Definitely spoiled the weekend and would not use this letting company again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly W, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Mile Accommodation, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Thank you for your review, apologies that you never got the service that you would of expected. I would like to take this time to let you know that we are going through an upgrade within our apartments and an easier way of checking in.

If you would like to discuss the matter further please don't hesitate to contact me further, I really hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Warm Regards,

Kimberly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    19
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
20
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

A luxurious place to stay. Excellent location. Clean. Quiet. Several apartments with balconies and all of the apartments are well looked after. There is more than enough room ventilation making it a very pleasant place to stay.

Having been to these apartments myself I can safely say that I would definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone who is planning on visiting Edinburgh, may it be for 2 nights or for 2 weeks.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed in Royal Mile apartments for a week at the end of June, and really enjoyed our stay. We were greeted by an informative and helpful man who got us settled. The apartment is perfectly located next to the castle and high street. perfect for an evening stroll or dinner, location couldn't be better. Apartment was clean, quiet most of the time, and had plenty of room for our family of 4.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anetakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom townhouse just off the Royal mile, great location we walked right onto the Royal mile and it was only a 10 minute walk to princess street. The accommodation was perfect for our family of 5 and we really enjoyed our stay
The staff on booking us in were fantastic and gave us a lot of useful information for our first time in edinburgh, we look forward to coming back and would defiantly stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Batman x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2013

After reading the reviews I was a little worried but for our long weekend away in Edinburgh it was perfect. Just seconds off the royal mile and about a 5 minute walk from the north bridge it was great. Rooms were very nice and simple, just what we wanted. Kitchen had both a fridge and freezer, a oven, washing machine, microwave, iron/board and a dishwasher. A number of plates, bowls, glasses and culturally was also provided. Living room was spacious with a sky TV and DVD player.The bathroom was good, and both bedrooms has an en-suite. Apartment also provided two hairdressers and towels. Only downside was we only had one set of keys which was a little bit of a difficulty if you wanted to split up. Would definitely consider this apartment next time we're away!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CAG12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

great location. . nice views ..ok apartment. ..lovely caretaker and handiman but pity about the street rubbish there all week ! and discovered nasty stains on mattress and duvet when we stripped the beds :( only other point is that cooker half worked, beds blocked access to wardrobes, and lots of stains on carpets and walls though it was beginning of season ...saying that we would book again the location was great.

Helpful?
Thank sushikim
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We booked this apartment based on the location as it suited the needs of our traveling party which included 2 older people (one with walking difficulties) and an infant of 10 months old. On the morning of our arrival we were advised that the property was trashed by its previous occupants and we were 'upgraded' to another apartment in Grassmarket area with no parking. We could only access the apartment at 14h00 to see whether it would suit, waited for 30 minutes on the street in the wind for someone to arrive and eventually were in at 15h00 only to find it will not work for us. The entrance was grubby and dirty and certainly did not give a very good impression. We ended up having to find something else, which was very stressful given the time frame and members of our party!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank EagerExplorer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#64 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#128 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Old Town
St Giles Apartments
St Giles Apartments
#20 of 203 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mile Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mile Accommodation

Property: Royal Mile Accommodation
Address: Old Tolbooth Wynd, Edinburgh EH8 8EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 203 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Mile Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Mile Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mile Accommodation Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing