We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely b&b in beautiful Stockbridge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stockbridge B&B

Stockbridge B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stockbridge B&B
Ranked #268 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
idstein
1 review
“Lovely b&b in beautiful Stockbridge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2008

We only got back the other day from Edinburgh where we stayed for a night at this b&b which we can highly recommend. The area is great with a bus stop just outside the house which takes you to Princess street in about 5 mins. The room was lovely, very homely and clean and the breakfast was gorgeous !!!!!!! Thanks again !!!!

  • Liked — The room is really pretty, location is great too and so was the breakfast !!!!
  • Disliked — Can`t think of anything !
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank missverri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2008

The flat is incredibly well kept, clean and very welcoming. Sarah made us feel very comfortable and was certainly accommodating to our numerous demands! The breakfast is in a beautifully presented room, wth ample choice of a healthy continental breakfast with the best bread ever, sourced locally. We would highly recommend this relaxed and peaceful bolthole for getting away from the busier parts of town. Sarah's place is no more than a stones throw from the excellent Stockbridge Restaurant. A and L, London.

  • Liked — Style of building and decoration
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Largo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st albans
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2008

Sarah has created Stockbridge B&B with great care and that is also how she treats her guests. She is friendly and helpful and very conscious of your space and needs. Very much like staying with a friend. Our room was large, sunny, and impeccably decorated with the lovely little touches of a high class b & b (more fun to discover these yourself). We go to the Fringe Festival every year and I would not hesitate to stay at Stockbridge again. The neighbourhood has lots of independent little shops and cafes and despite the parking problems during Fringe we were still able to find onstreet parking without much problem.

It is a bit difficult to find as the address, Mary's Place, is the name of the building on/in Raeburn Place. We had our bicycles with us which is a great way to explore Edinburgh!! Although there are quite a lot of hills, the centre of town is just a 5 min bike ride uphill and bumpy cobblestone ride down. ;-) I believe there is easy bus service right outside the door, too.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the owner.
  • Disliked — Cycling uphill and riding back down on wet cobblestone.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pegalitauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2008

A beautifully kept, traditional flat in a great location - close enough to walk into the heart of Edinburgh, but hasn't lost its (distinctly upmarket) 'villagey feel', with a range of delicatessens, bakeries and even bead shops on the doorstep.

Attention to detail and visitor comfort are second to none, with luxury toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities and a good selection of magazines, CDs and books. Our host was very friendly and keen to make our first stay in Edinburgh a good one.

The breakfasts deserve special mention, with more delicious things than you could possibly hope to eat in a whole day! Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Thoughtful little touches and extremely comfortable bed!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ruthi_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2008

We stayed here for a few days for an office conference in town and it really brought the homely touch to an otherwise busy work week. Sarah's place is so well done up, from the facilities of the place to the herbal tea she provides, this place has a feel of home and warmth.
Certainly on par with a small scale boutique hotel feel and luxury, just wished she had more rooms!
Her place is within walking distance of town, and everything is really a short cab ride away!

  • Liked — The owner's hospitality and the apartment itself really.
  • Disliked — It is up quite a few flights of stairs, so it isn't quite disable-friendly
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vader80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2008

My first trip abroad started in Edinburgh and the Stockbridge B&B was the ideal accommodation. Away from the Festival chaos, I found the village setting a great place to embark from and return to each day.

The arrangements in the flat give one the feel of staying with a friend as opposed to a conventional B&B. The hostess is present, but goes about her daily life. She is friendly and knows the city and its many offerings.

The breakfast room features tall, well appointed windows that over look the village and you can look across the cricket field up to the duck pond in the nearby park.

The shops and cafes and galleries were full of life and everyone was incredibly friendly. There is lots to see on foot nearby as well, particularly the Royal Botanical Gardens.

Transportation was a breeze. The bus stops right in front of the building, although I typically walked to everything. The Royal Mile is about a 30 - 40 minute walk, depending on how many pubs you dip into!!!!

Cheers!
michael from Houston TX

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank BlewJay234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2008

My friends stayed at this B&B on a recent visit to Edinburgh and raved about it. I went round to pick them up after breakfast one day and was very impressed. The B&B is in a flat in Edinburgh’s lovely Stockbridge, is within easy walking distance of the centre of Edinburgh and is surrounded by cafes and restaurants. The flat is really nicely decorated and the owner is very welcoming, super friendly and easy going. She offers a continental breakfast only but my friends tell me that it was one of the best continental breakfasts they have had in recent years – with locally made bread, a good selection of fruit and a great choice of cereals etc.

Their bedroom looked really nice, it was a decent size and was ensuite with its own shower. They tell me the bed was very comfortable and they got a good night sleep each night.

So this place is to be highly recommended if you’re looking for a great base in Edinburgh in a homely B&B.

  • Liked — The owner was so nice and welcoming
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TanquerayTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
St Bernards House
St Bernards House
#380 of 445 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stockbridge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockbridge B&B

Property: Stockbridge B&B
Address: 8 Mary's Place, Edinburgh EH4 1JH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Edinburgh's bohemian Stockbridge, centrally located adjacent to the New Town, perfect for enjoying the very best Edinburgh has to offer. Stockbridge B&B is all about the personal touch; fantastic Scottish hospitality; comfortable, homely and spacious accommodation with a delicious continental breakfast! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stockbridge Bed And Breakfast
Stockbridge Hotel Edinburgh
Stockbridge B&B Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing