We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden treasure”
Review of Forsyth's Tea Room

Forsyth's Tea Room
Ranked #24 of 131 Coffee & Tea in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“hidden treasure”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

What a wonderful place! I am sure if Harry Potter exist this would be one of the place he would like to share his tea with his friends :) Mrs Forsyth, the owner with the purple hair, makes you feel like you visit your old aunt who is about to prepare a nice tea for you. The location, the tea room inside, the decoration, everything is great! I would like it even more if smelled less chlorine, but even this, is part of the aesthetic of this place- and to be honest I am not sure if I ever visited a place with such clean toilets! So just find Chalmers Close and vist Forsyth's Tea Room!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fed_lubitel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    40
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Thought it would be nice......”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Quaint little granny style eatery, clean and tidy.
Abrupt and sharp service, although forgiveable as it was a late afternoon August Sunday.
Soup and roll, hearty, coffee hot
Tuna salad was a pathetic affair, with barely a teaspoon of tuna in it, runny with salad cream and padded out with the odd bit of sweetcorn. Soft radishes, half a tasteless tomato and a spoonful of pickled beetroot and some scraps of lettuce and a miserly amount of what looked like grated onion. Salad price £6.95 and two small slices of brown bread at an extra £2.00.
My total of £11.00 with coffee, for something that equated to a poor sandwich.
I felt ripped off, especially as we had to pay for this upfront.

Never again!
Poor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Washington
1 review
“Great food and conversation”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Stopped with the family looking for some good shortbread, after a recommendation from a kilt shop. Everything looked so good we stayed for a meal instead (and also bought plenty of shortbread). We had scotch pies, pasties and sausage rolls. All were excellent. Don't expect quick service, it's just her and a man who came to shovel snow off the close 14 years ago (love the stories!). Food was lovely and so was the owner with her lilac hair. Great shortbread too!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margot R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely for a good cup of tea or coffee on the Royal Mile”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Called into Forsyth's tea room after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and what a lovely place it is, we only had a cup of coffee on this visit, which was a very good cup of coffee, but will return and will sample the food the next time, the cakes etc looked very good. It is hidden away down Chalmers Close which is easy to miss, look out for the sign to the Jury's Inn Hotel and it is down that cut, on your left hand side walking down the Royal Mile from the Castle, facing the Museum of Childhood, near to a chemist. It is full of knick-knacks, tea cosy's etc, and the most friendly service from the owner, she gave us maps of the city, recommendations of where to eat what to visit etc, a lovely lady.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palermo, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

What a wonderful find this tea room is!
It's hidden away down Chalmers Close on the High Street, directly opposite the Museum of Childhood.
It is exactly like going to your Granny's for tea...flowery china cups, crochetted sugar bowl covers, knick-knacks everywhere.
And the star of the show is the owner with the lilac hair. She is just the best!
The food is of a high standard and very reasonably priced. (Great scones and jam and don't get me started on the beautiful cakes)
If you want a an authentic Scottish welcome and enjoy things quirky, this is the place for you .
The service is a little idiosyncratic, and you may be called upon to lend a hand, but this is a small price to pay for a great experience.
We will certainly be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forsyth's Tea Room also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Forsyth's Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing