We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Miss”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
14 reviews
Living room
Kitchen
Kitchen
bedroom
bedroom
2017 guest award
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Helmut44p...
Swabia, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AVOID”
Reviewed 23 January 2018 for a stay in November 2017
3
people found this review helpful

AVOID - Unheated, dirty, drafty, tiny former shop. Bedsheets with mould, hair and dirt from previous use, no working shower, clogged toilet. Proprietor couldn't be contacted and has pocketed our large security deposit dishonestly. We are taking legal action. Our trip to Edinburgh was ruined.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2018
This guest has contacted us directly and via different platforms since December. We lawfully retained the guests security deposit of £75.00 (Very small for Edinburgh and did not cover our costs) The guest had blood on our duvet and as the property was empty after their departure they left the fan heater on in the bathroom for days. Both were a breach of the terms and conditions. By making payment, the guest entered into a contract which they appear to have treated with total disregard. We were not contacted re the issues raised by the guest. As far as we knew, they were perfectly happy with their stay until we advised we were retaining the security deposit. This does not seem at all consistent with us against the claims made which I will aim to address now. The property is heated which reviews via booking.com will show. The guest either didn't notice the heater in the bedroom (Although there is one in the living room) or is willfully being dishonest. The heater in the bedroom is behind the bed. In turn, due to this experience, I now leave this turned on for guests and remind them to turn this off before leaving. More complaints seem to be added on each time we hear from this person including the size of the property and that it's a former shop. Both a true and we don't know how we can make this anymore clear than calling it The Wee Haven - Wee is Scottish for little and we display the size on booking.com which is visable to everyone before you book. We find the fact this is a converted shop a quirk of the property, making it a bit more unusual and again detail this in our property description. All laundry is freshly prepared the day prior to guests arrival. The shower was in perfect working order, you simply didn't pull the chord to turn the hot water on
Again as with all issues, I could have guided you through this, had you actually contacted us. We cannot do anything about this after you have stayed. The clogged toilet is a completely new claim, I only heard this for the first time yesterday after you'd contacted a 3rd party. I can only say, we'e had absolutely no issues. However, i do have 24 hr plumbing insurance whom i could have contacted, had you advised you had any issue. We habe sent detailed findings to you and 3rd parties at your request and are confident in our position and that we have acted fairly, reasonable and lawfully. Our reviews are constantly good and have many returning. We provided our details weeks ago, should you wish to take legal action.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane Simo...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No working smoke alarm and a collapsing z bed”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very small apartment - on the plus side, plenty of tea, coffee, milk etc., which was nice after a long journey. And that's the good part. The bathroom was very dank and strangely laid out, and the bath/shower potentially dangerous. More worrying still the kitchen extractor fan and the smoke alarm had both been disconnected. Also the bedroom window was screwed shut, so the only escape (in the event of fire) was to open the bedroom door, and the inner door to the sitting room, find the front door key and (hopefully) escape. I have written to Edinburgh City Council, and Scottish Fire and Rescue with full details of my concerns. The apartment had been cleaned, but the spare duvet (at the bottom of the wardrobe) reeked of sick and ale. Also, the z bed collapsed as soon as it was put up. We left it out, with a note for the cleaner when we vacated the apartment one day early. By this time we just wanted to get home. My partner was charged a £50 refundable deposit, and yet despite numerous messages left for Kerry C, this has not been refunded, and his emails have been ignored. At £522 for the week - just not good enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Leaving
Liked least: Being in the apartment at night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2016
We have passed this case to our legal team due to defamatory comments which we take very seriously. Should this continue we will escalate this matter further and will be in touch formally. We have also emailed TripAdvisor re this matter. In the meantime, I will provide a brief reply to your review. The first photo you took of the unwired fire alarm did not show the working fire alarm which had been upgraded prior to your stay. Whilst the fire alarm showing wires is a bit unsightly, its undergone replacement. If you noticed the unwired fire alarm you could not help hut noticed the working one. Therefore, there is no danger. I test the fire alarm weekly. With regards to the second photo, you have shown the joining in the 2-part window, not a screw. The window is in not screwed shut and am baffled at this suggestion. You even have 2 options to open the window by 1. pinching the clips in the middle 2. Simply lifting up the bottom of the window from the middle. I invite any guests to try this out. This has been the first time ever such accusations have been made. If you weren’t sure all you had to do was ask. unfortunately, it doesn’t seem as though owners can upload photos to give the full picture/ balanced response. I wonder if you noticed our fire extinguisher too, adding to our fire awareness. We never heard from you whatsoever during your stay with us. In fact, this is the first-time we’ve heard your complaints, including you leaving a day early (almost 3 months after your stay). I suggest, issues arose once you realised the bed broke and you would not have your security deposit returned. The security deposit is based on conditions. I can categorically say the bed was not broken before your arrival and no note was left for the cleaner. You may now realise it would have been a good idea to leave a note. However, you simply left the bed lying out as confirmed by your partner in an email and my cleaner. Lots of guests leave things lying around - We don’t equate this to items being broken. Had you informed us of the bed we could have replaced it. The brand is of such good quality that there is a life time guarantee on this however, instead I discovered bed was broken upon our next 3 person stay and had to turn them away due to the broken bed, refunding them and having to take the day off work to wait on a new bed being delivered, equating to a day’s pay. This equalled to much more than your paid security deposit. To make matters worse, the bed was not there for your use, it should be used with extra payment on a 3 person stay and was not made up for you which seemed to prompt you to either use dirty sheets and/or no sheets, this wouldn’t be very nice for the next guests. We do take responsibility for the fact that perhaps we should have put a lock on the storage cupboard door for items which should not be accessed. We have now rectified this as a direct result of this situation. So, sorry, decided to take this route. It’s never nice losing a security a deposit but on the odd occasion we do have to charge this we hope that guests will take appropriare responsibility without takin routes which seems knowingly, potentially harmful to a small business.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Rima2104
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 21 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Me and my husband stayed at this lovely apartment for two nights. Absolutely great location, cosy apartment and free parking. Great value for money. Thank you for a brilliant stay wee haven!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for the price!”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed at the wee haven for one night back in June and it met our requirements perfectly. It was very reasonably priced and although small and basic, we found it had everything we needed.
If you're looking for modern luxury you won't find it here, It is an old building. But if you want basic, well priced comfort this is for you. However I personally wouldn't recommend it for more than a couple of nights, simply due to its size. And I loved the bathroom!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilith_9
North-west
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The apartment was easy to find, and in a nice location overlooking the sea. Sadly the condition of the apartment was poor, there was a plastic curtain on the livingroom window because the real curtains were too short for the window. The apartment has no central heating and the electric heater in the bedroom did not work. The matress was thin, old and lumpy and there were existing hairs on the bed sheet when I first got there. The bedroom curtain was transparent and if you looked in from the outside you could see everything even with the blind slats closed. There was also mouldy bread left in the kitchen cupboard and the oven mit had not been washed and had crusted food on it. Such a shame, looked so promising.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Noise from the street in the morning,bad matress and cold as no heating
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: right on the water front,nice places to walk and lovely pubs near by for food
Liked least: the smell from the extractor fan in the kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Bed and bath
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing