We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub, great food”
Review of The World's End

The World's End
Ranked #237 of 2,698 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited the World's End with my cousin who was over from Canada and wanted a decent plate of fish and chips. Well, we were not disappointed. The fish and chips here are great, and our pieces if fish looked like small whales. A couple from Oklahoma sitting next to us were so impressed by our lunch they took a photograph it.

Good pub, great food, and the service was excellent too. Give the World's End a try, for fish and chips at least you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Will1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWorldsEnd, General Manager at The World's End, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Will
So glad we lived up to expectations with the fish and chips - was a pleasure having you both in - Vancouver is a long way to come for lunch ;) no pressure huh !!
Thank again for your kind comments - will see you in 5 years
Kind regards
Susie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 2,098 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ate here on a Saturday night in June so was very busy but such a great atmosphere we just waited a bit in the bar. Waitress was great and even got us to try haggis! Food was good and portions were huge! Even got our son a T-shirt as a souvenir!

Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWorldsEnd, General Manager at The World's End, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Laurie ,
Glad you enjoyed the haggis - hope your son likes his t shirt as well ,
Take care
Susie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped for drinks one evening in Edinburgh. Everyone in the bar was from the US, no locals (red flag!!!) whisky selection was extremely limited and light handed pours. Didn’t stay long, there are better pubs in the area.

Thank Devin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWorldsEnd, Manager at The World's End, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Devin

Our guests come from all over the world and we do have locals and regulars - I’m sorry on the evening you visited you did not enjoy it being full of your own countrymen. Our physical back bar space is small - with this in mind we have around 30 whiskys and I would dearly love to fit more in, im sorry if you felt this is limited . There is a good choice of other spirits also as Gin is now a huge seller . As for light handed pours all our staff have been trained to pour correct measures - it is against the law to pour both over and under when dispensing alcohol
Regards
Susie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are visiting this pub 7 times since september last year and infortunatly this time we have this red hair waitress. She is not welcoming and very rude. I'm sorry to be honest but i work in this industry too and i never seen someone like her, i know you are not a fine dining but i think you should be smilling and respect your guest! Maybe she is growing but she need to think about find a new industry or apply to Macdo. I can go deeper for the way of she act and work in a floor but is no point to explain when with 5 tables you wait more of ten minutes for the drink order that she is not even able to take correctly. We ask for "ignis and gun" and gin tonic with out ice and we receive one cider and the gin with ice. If for my next visit she is still there is should be the last and i stop to recommend this place. Is not the fist issu i had here i never complained even for the time my fiancee found an hair in her plate but i can't accept this kind of people are working. Hospitallity is not just a studiant job!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JL0uP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWorldsEnd, Manager at The World's End, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review , all our team take our guests comfort as number 1 priority . If you would like to let me know your issues on the day I will look into this for you . Please email details to 3942@greeneking.co.uk
Regards
Susie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were down for the Rolling Stones gig at Murrayfield and decided to have a couple of drinks here before we went. Very busy but we were lucky enough to grab a table and enjoy the atmosphere. Very friendly staff and the beer was top notch. Always want to make a point of visiting the worlds end when we are in Edinburgh. It’s a must for any traveller.

Thank PortPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWorldsEnd, Manager at The World's End, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking time out to review us - I’m glad you enjoyed your day and hope you will visit again in the future
Kind regards
Susie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The World's End also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The World's End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing