We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #32 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen Denmark
Level Contributor
115 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Super location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Stayed here with a friend for two days.

We checked in about noon, and our room was not ready. We then ventured out in the city, assured that we would get a text message when our room was ready. The message never came, but that was about the only bad thing I can say about the service at this hotel, which was friendly and helpful.

Room was on the 4. floor, which felt a bit strange as the reception is on 5th and it feels like going underground. If you like a view I agree with former poster saying that you should book at 5th or higher. We had no view to speak of, but we were there for mixed business and sightseeing and really had no plans to spend more time than necessary in our room.
Room itself was quite small, but well appointed as was the bathroom - tub and shower.
Tea making facilities that we did not use. Plenty of cupboard space as well as a desk and an armchair. Decor was modern and nice enough. As I said, we did not have a view, but the room was unbelievably quiet at night. Beds were very comfortable.

We had breakfast included in our rate - the continental buffet was delicious, as were the cooked options - we had eggs benedict and pancakes with syrup and bacon, both perfect.

The gym and swimming pool were great asa well - did not use the gym (plenty of walking anyway), but used the pool. Changing rooms were great with towels and huge private showers.

The location is superb - you are within walking distance to old town, castle, all the shopping in George Street - you name it. And transportation to and from airport very easy - take bus 100 from airport to Waverly Station, from there it is 5 min walking to the hotel.

Overall I will say that we truly enjoyed our stay here (but next time, we'll ask for a room on a higher floor).

Room Tip: ask for 5th floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katrineCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,440
    1,421
    295
    80
    26
See reviews for
708
2,142
195
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

Location: excellent situation directly on Princes Street, 2 blocks from train station, 2-6 blocks from tons of chic New Town restaurants and clubs, 6-10 blocks from Old Town sites, shops, pubs and clubs.
Accomodations: first class decor & accoutrements (large valuables safe, refrigerator, iron, hair dryer, coffee/tea setup, big flat TV, LOTS of fluffy pillows, big deep bathtub as well as marble shower, FREE INTERNET THAT WORKS!) Room temperature control was easy and effective.
Facilities: indoor pool was warm and clean, convenient locker room; dry sauna small but cozy; (sadly steam room was out of order); exercise room full of top quality cardio equipment. Business center was disappointment - nice big meeting spaces but the computers had been disassembled, could not figure out how to reassemble them in order to print files; but front desk was very helpful in printing documents I needed off a flash drive at no charge.
Room service available 24 hours, nice selection, not outrageous prices. Did not try restaurant but bar/lounge was very friendly, good service, good drinks, snacks till 11:30pm, welcoming place to sit solo but also chic enough to host a client.
Front desk quite slow on check in/check out but extremely helpful with any and all questions and needs.
Summary: top notch hotel for either tourist or business activities, at a very competitive rate for 5 star quality.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lroden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

From arrival to departure the atmosphere and treatment in the Apex is superb. Nothing is a problem to the staff, who do it with a smile and make your stay the experience you really 'want' it to be.
Rooms are modern, with all the facilities you would expect and plenty more that you wouldn't. Leisure facilities are immaculately clean and well kept. Bar and restaurant areas are light and pleasant with a great atmosphere.
Add to this the fact that the location is only 100 yards from Princes Street and you have the perfect base for a city break or business trip.
We'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMillsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Fantastic location, good bar with botteled micro brewery Steward Brewery on offer. Best bathroom I've ever had in a hotel. Nice big flat screen TV. And free Internet access !
Couldn't be better. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSkogheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

OK so you are thinking 'hidden' in this location ?
Let me explain - the main shopping street ends where Waterloo Place begins and the traffic just seems to go somewhere else ! This is a great location and is walking distance for many attractions.
The hotel itself is very well run with reception, breakfast and bar staff very professional yet friendly. Unusually, they take a real interest in their visitors.
Car parking is off-site but secure.
Beware the local Traffic Wardens - none of them have married parents and will gleefully slap a ticket while you unload.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berks UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary. Great excellent location. Our upgraded room was spacious and very comfortable with a great bathroom.
We received a anniversary card from the hotel with a free drink voucher for two whch was a nice touch.
The breakfast choice and quality was excellent.
Staff are friendly and helpful

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poorjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

Being a solo traveller, I booked this hotel based on the comments I read from others on this site. I must say, I was slightly disappointed..so lets begin.

From the Airport: Buy a AIRLINK round trip ticket, it's inexpensive and will drop you off at Waverly Station (Waverly Bridge). From there, walk towards Princes Street, turn right and soon you'll see the APEX (maroon) Flags flying outside. If you get turned around, just ask where the St. James Shopping Center is -- the Apex is on that side of the street

Location: Is near two shopping malls, Waverly Station, and just across the North bridge, you enter into Old Town onto the upper end of the Royal Mile. If you take a stroll down Market Street into Princes Street Gardens, you can actually see Edinburgh Castle. If you turn left outside the hotel door, you're just steps from Calton Hill where some of the best scenic pictures can be taken.

The Hotel: There are so many choices to eat in the city, I saw no need to eat in at the hotel restaurant; drinks at the bar were a bit pricey but it was nice all the same. They seem to have a fine choice of amenities which I did not expereince.

The Room: When you arrive, the front desk is on the 5th floor, my room was on the 2nd and, as you can see from the photos, it was as if I checked into a basement apartment. The windows were small and I could never get the room temperature higher than 21 celsius. There is a nice soaking tub for those of us who like to relax after a long day of walking. However the water in the shower ran hot and cold. I also heard the clanging of empty bottles being thrown out from time to time.

Overall I had a great time and would recommend Ediinburgh without hesitation. One final thought, if you ever get 'lost', the best way to get your bearings in this ciity is to look for landmarks - Edinburgh has LOTS. Cheers!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Street_Map
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,244 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#28 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing