We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOISY! Lovely hotel, but beware if your room faces onto the street!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #32 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed for 2 nights, and loved Edinburgh. The hotel was actually lovely in most respects - clean, spacious room; great breakfast; good service; great location. However, I would never stay here again due to the complete lack of soundproofing, and hideous amount of noise at night! The room we were staying in faced onto the street and had absolutely no sound proofing whatsoever. This meant that it was almost as if we were sleeping in the street - we were woken up by every noisy party walking past. I am normally a good sleeper, but was woken up 7 times in this fashion between 1am and 5.30am, so have actually enjoyed returning home to have a rest!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing onto the street are very noisy at night - especially at the weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ali499515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,601 - 3,607 of 4,548 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2011

L-O-V-E-D this hotel. But what's not to love about Edinburgh right? Found the hotel no probs from the train station (including the bat cave entrance at the bottom ;)) Just up to Princes street from the station and to the right. Reception staff very coureous and professional. Nice big room and chique decor. Big flat screen, wardrobes, coffee/tea service with comp water in fridge. We ended up in handicap equipted bathroom so if you don't mind water going everywhere when you bathe (since it's a "drive through" shower) no biggy.
Our view wasn't great. Just across a casm looking at the other part of the hotel. Parts of the common areas are in faux slate so it gives a "castley" kind of affect. The pool area was nice too. Skylights help with natural lighting. Sauna and steam rooms too.
A cool James Bond way to get to the hotel from the train station is follow the "way out" signs towards platform 1. It's a little confusing because of lots of construction going on. Once you're street level go in the direction of the large arch. On the right you'll see a sign saying Apex. Buzz the reception and they'll open the door. I was almost expecting "Q" to be wonderig the halls there...If you're leaving Edinburgh by train, just take the elevator to the floor marked rail station.
Didn't want to shell out the pounds for the breakfast but there is a great little Italian cafe on the corner that has great options for breakfast. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone for their next trip to Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauikeiki65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Only minus the very "narrow" single beds (in the twin room).
Besides that really great value for money!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I stayed at the Apex Waterloo during a recent shopping weekend in Edinburgh. The location is excellent - within walking distance of the train station and shops. I found staff to be helpful and polite. The whole hotel is modern and includes a swimming pool which was brilliant to visit after a day's shopping. The room was clean and included the biggest wide screen TV I've ever seen in a hotel room. My only grumble is that the two twin beds where so close together they might as well have been a double bed however there was room to pull them apart. Overall a really enjoyable stay - I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sid87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stayed 3 nights in Sept 2011. Easy to walk to all attractions in Edinburgh. Restaurant on corner was good and easy for breakfast in the morning. There are a number of restaurants we went for dinner within a short walk of the hotel. The rooms are large and remodeled. Hugh bathrooms and large windows in bedroom and bathroom. Apex website offers packages, worth looking into.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Being from Canada, we have no experience with the Apex brand and we booked the hotel solely on the Trip Advisor reviews. First the Hotel is in a great location, right next to the train station and walking distance from the Edinburgh Castle, downtown shops and restaurants. Check-in was easy, fast and friendly. The room was clean, had a 50 inch flat screen TV and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. To top it off, Nick the bartender really made our last night in Scotland extremely enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Top quality hotel with everything to a very high standard. Nice and relaxed atmosphere and good restaurant for breakfast, didn't seem over busy and looked after fast and efficient. Service excellent. Stayed here and previously the International Apex at Grassmarket. This one is marginally posher and more modern, but not sure it's worth the extra compared to Grassmarket. Depends what you want, If you want to shop, it's on your door, pretty much on Princess St and St James shopping centre two min walk. I guess that's why it's a bit more expensive plus down side of Grassmarket is noise from pubs! If you want to have fab views of castle then maybe Grassmarket is better. This one at Waterloo was lovely, high standard and quiet at night and comfy beds. A lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0j0expl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,589 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,883 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £87 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing