We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Staed here in Octoer 2011 in a Duplex Suite. Downstairs had a two seater sofa, TV, guest bathroom and small table. Upstairs bedroom quite small, very little wardrobe space. Bed covers didn't seem big enough for the bed! Upstairs batheroom huge however, we would have preferred some of the space taken from there into the bedroom, but in fairness could see why structurally it was the way it was. We would return but probably try the Master Suite (on one level).

Everything clean, got offered turndown service each evening.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotland_Cruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,510)
There are newer reviews for Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,536 - 3,542 of 4,511 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2011

This hotel is literally a 5 minute walk from Waverley Train Station (the central train station in Edinburgh), and perhaps 10mins from the Royal Mile - couldn't be better situated. We had booked one of the standard rooms, but upon arrival they told us that because one of the luxury deluxe rooms was available anyway they would give us a free upgrade! The upgrade was amazing - a very spacious room with king size bed and wide screen tv, sofa, refreshments and a huge bathroom. The initial room cost was a bit on the expensive side but the upgrade definitely made up for it. Staff were generally very friendly and helpful, and are able to store luggage for you on the day you check out. The only down side is breakfast doesn't seem to be included in most of the room deals, and is £15 each so if you fancy a cooked breakfast but not at those prices there are plenty of cafes around that do breakfast. Don't expect great views, as you are in the city, and with so much to explore in Edinburgh there's no excuse to stay in! Overall an affordable luxury hotel in Edinburgh, great location. Five stars if it had included breakfast in price.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kovitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is very handy to Waverley station, which was particularly convenient as my wife and I had come up from London by train and we had only a short walk from the station to the hotel (about 4-5 minutes). We spent 3 nights in a superior double room on the 7th floor, overlooking Waterloo Place (Princes Street). The room was slightly smaller than we had expected, however, it was still very comfortable and quite adequate with a very nice bathroom. Only negative about the hotel was that there were steps up to the lift (elevator) and steps again on our floor from the lift area down to the corridor for our room - with 2 large suitcases this was less than ideal. Overall, we were pleased with the hotel and would stay there again if we return to Edinburgh. We did not eat breakfast or dinner at the hotel, so cannot comment about the meals there. The location of the hotel, in Princes Street, is great. It was a relatively short walk across North Bridge (the bridge over the railway) to the Royal Mile and up to the Castle - about 15minutes. It was also only a few minutes walk to Waverley Street, where the open top bus tours started (next to Waverley Station). There were also many good restaurants close by, so we had a choice for dinners and breakfasts. A visit to the Castle is a must and we can also highly recommend the "Mary King Close" tour of the underground streets and houses. Edinburgh is certainly an interesting city, full of history and beautiful architecture. Definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: 5th floor is street level for Princes Street, so request a floor above this level if you want to ove...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBug53_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

A hidden gem in Edinburgh!!!!!!! I have visited this hotel many times over the last 2 years and I am never disappointed. Location is perfect. Food excellent. Service is outstanding and all the staff are happy. Rooms are lovely - modern with a twist, fluffy bath towels and luxury toiletries. Don't hesitate to book this hotel it is wonderful.

Room Tip: It is worth the little extra to upgrade to the deluxe room.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank future6150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

5 Minutes from the station which was great, on check-in I was informed I had been upgraded to a superior double. Was nothing flash and the view out the back of the hotel was pretty grim. The Hotel staff were helpful and polite but the bar was quiet with no atmosphere - but why stay at the hotels bar when there are so many to choose from locally.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harpotheton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

The location of the hotel is ideal.....at one end of Princess Street and within walking distance of all the attractions. The car park at the shopping centre behind is quite handy (and you get a discount on car parking from the hotel reception when you check out if you tell them) but it's quite a long walk if your bags are heavy so suggest you unload at the front of the hotel and then move the car. The hotel is gorgeous inside...very modern and trendy but not intimidatingly so and all the staff were lovely.We didn't have breakfast there as it's quite expensive..we always prefer to grab something in a cafe anyway. The dinner was good but the service let it down just a little. My white wine was tepid so I asked for another one. The bread was cold and the butter was frozen which is disappointing in a restaurant like this. My main course was a little average but everything else was fine. I would eat there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

My fiance and I enjoyed two great nights at the Apex hotel. The rooms are pure luxury, with king size bed and huge plasma tv with a beautiful view of Edinburgh. The room was beautifully clean and the bathroom brand new. Both evenings we went for a swim in the hotel swimming pool. Again, very clean and very relaxing. The hotel staff were extremely friendly, the receptionist on arrival was very helpful showing us places to visit and eat in Edinburgh city centre.
The room price was very good for the experience. However, the car park is another matter. We are happy to pay for car parking as it is the norm at most UK hotels. You are also pre warned by the hotel that you have to pay and given a discount coin at reception. But this is the most expensive hotel car park we have ever been on and even with the discount, it is still extortionate. This was quite a disappointment, but didn't ruin our lovely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheEvenstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,528 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,852 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £86 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing