We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room, Good Location, Cool Bar, Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #34 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Room, Good Location, Cool Bar, Great Staff”
Reviewed 24 November 2011

You can't beat this location if you are taking the train. So close about a 5 minute walk. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. The room service is nice and quick. Loved the food we ordered from downstairs. The bar downstairs is cool and the staff very nice. I wasn't a huge fan of the concierge, he seemed annoyed by our questions. But that was not that big a deal. We went against the grain and took a taxi over to the marina and had an awesome seafood dinner with the locals. The hotel is still close enough to walk to the royal mile and the castle (everything is fairly close in the city)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueskyzander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,498
    1,470
    309
    82
    28
See reviews for
734
2,195
205
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

The location is great. 03 minutes walking from waverley station and very close to the main attractions of Edinburgh. The room and bathroom were big and very clean. The staff was ok. Free wi-fi with very good connection. Good value comparing to others hotels of same category. All in all we enjoyed our stay and recomend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CelioCassio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony Mc
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2011

A first class hotel !

Have just spent a fantastic weekend in Edinburgh and the hotel was the icing on the cake and well above my expectations.

Ideally located for arriving by train (2 min walk) this hotel provides a great location for exploring everything this city has to offer.

The rooms were imacculate and very tastefully furnished and the bed was comforatble we had a great night sleep.

The staff friendly and knowledgeable and the pool, spa and breakfast!! just added to a great weekend.
Looking for a relaxing weekend end away? I’d definitely recommend you stayed in this hotel you won’t be disappointed

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This is a lovely hotel in a great location for exploring Edinburgh. We were within a few yards of all the shops, pubs and restaurants. The rooms were spotless and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

On entering the Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, I have to say I wasn't dissapointed. The elegant chandeliers and the light reception made it feel very modern. The rooms were big, with sumptious furnishing and a huge bed. It was actually quite hard to get ready to go out for a night on the town as the bed was so comfy and the plasma TV a perfect size for the room.

The staff were friendly and the rooms spotlessly clean after the maid had been. We used the spa facilities which were clean and well positioned within the hotel.

A drink in the hotel bar was a perfect way to finish off the evening.

All in all a lovely hotel in a good location - 5 mins walk from the train station.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CleoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Just returned from this fabulous hotel after a 2 night stay, I cannot speak highly enough of it.
Helpful and friendly staff, excellent facilities and cleanliness and very comfortable rooms. It is the little things that make a difference and all of those little things are in place.
Our room 911, was very well thought out, spotlessly clean, superb bathroom and just perfect really.
The leisure facilities are tremendous too.
Breakfasts were first class and possibly the best thing about the hotel was a 5 star service without the sometimes uncomfortable high class attitude that some hotel staff have. If they were natural or have been trained, it is most noticeable just how friendly and polite they are from front of house staff to room cleaners to restaurant staff. I appreciate I am waxing lyrical about our short stay there but my wife and I were sad to leave and cannot wait to stay again and this is not something I would say about all hotels.
Location in so far as travel by rail is ideal and also for tourism purposes.
11 out of 10 for my wife and I.
Look forward to a return but unsure when this will be as I am a poor student!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walterthedog55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Just spent the weekend in this hotel and had a fantastic time. Great location near the station and city centre. The staff were very friendly and efficient with quick check in / out and great service at breakfast. The room was beautiful, very classy. Yes, you'll pay a little more than your standard budget hotel but worth every penny I thought.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,031 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing