We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #34 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Stayed for the weekend in early December, first time in Edinburgh. Hotel location was great, less than 10 minutes from just about everything. Room was a decent size, bed huge and comfortable, great big shower - everything you need for a relaxing city centre hotel. The bar was good, plenty of choice, reasonable prices and friendly staff. Did not eat breakfast or use the spa so can't comment but both looked good

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkSteveP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,526
    1,482
    311
    83
    29
See reviews for
744
2,218
206
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Spent two nights in this well located hotel at the top of Princes Street. It's very close to the Royal Mile and Edinburgh's sights and the Christmas Market. A listed building the inside is very modern. Huge LG Flat screen TV in the very well equipped bedroom (iron and board, tea, coffee, safe etc). Bathrooms are well appointed, ours had large bath and separate large walk in shower. Great towels, face clothes, shampoo and shower stuff.

Breakfast was all included, lots of fruit, continental and full hot breakfast with egg, bacon, black pudding, haggis and Tattie Bread. All good quality and well prepared.

The reception staff are very friendly as are the bar staff. This is a great hotel and I would say here next time I'm in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Don't think the rooms to the front are double glazed due to listed building but we were at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DannyBoyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I had one night in Edinburgh with two friends and the Apex Waterloo made it such a lovely experience. Finding a hotel for 3 people can be a challenge. We took the train from London and only had a 5 minute walk to the hotel from the train station. It was safe and easy, even with the construction at the train station. At check-in, we were upgraded to a suite which provided a separate bedroom with a king bed and a living area (with a sofa, coffee table, entertainment center including a wall mounted 42" flat screen TV, Bose surround system & DVD player, a small dining table, mini refrigerator, espresso machine, tea kettle & snacks) and a large bathroom with a bath tub worth spending several nights soaking. By the time me made it to the room a rollaway bed (for our third person) was made up in the living room -- still plenty of space to lounge -- and all our luggage was waiting for us.

With one night, we needed to make the most of our time, so we asked the staff for lunch suggestions which were the best of our trip (Guilford Arms -- try the haggis, it was great and the West St Mungo beer). Also, off a side street from the Royal Mile, try The Villager for a great hip pub dinner.

After a long day of sight seeing and eating, we made it back to the room where the staff brought up extra espresso and a DVD for us to watch.

Really, it was such a wonderful hotel and experience. I can not wait for the opportunity to go back and hopefully spend more than one night!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JensAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed in a Superior Double room for one midweek night in November. The location of the hotel is great for Princes' St shopping, George St nightlife and Royal Mile sightseeing.
Upon arriving, the decor of the lobby gives an insight into the modern, boutique style of the hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly. Our booking was incorrectly entered as a City Room but this was quickly rectified once we produced our booking confirmation.
The room itself was large, with bed, bedside cabinets, iPod/iPhone dock/alarm clock/charger, 2 seater sofa, LCD TV, minibar and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was also large with deep bath, twin sinks and separate large shower cubicle. It was all extremely clean and both the bedroom and bathroom had big windows facing out onto the side of the hotel, overlooking the back entrance to Waverley Train Station.
We brought our own champagne with us and, after calling room service, a bucket of ice was delivered in under ten minutes! Additionally, we asked the concierge twice to order cabs and both arrived quickly after only ten minutes!
The concierge down stairs was also very good and friendly too. We ordered a cab at night to take us to dinner. She called one and showed interest in our destination for dinner, giving recommendation of what to try. Next morning, when we also asked her to order a cab to the airport she asked how dinner was and wished us a good trip. Nice little touches that cost nothing but make guests feel welcome and at home.
Having stayed in all Apex hotels in Edinburgh and Dundee, I knew what to expect with the chain's reputation - upmarket rooms at great prices. The newer Waterloo Place certainly did not disappoint and we'll definitely stay there again when visiting the capital overnight. Friendly staff, spotless rooms and great location!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doylem1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celbridge, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This is a very nice hotel which is very centrally located between the old and new city in Edinburgh. The breakfast which was included in the price was very tasty and service was excellent. The pool area was pleasant

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maimurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I was blown away by this hotel. Great city centre location, literally a few minutes walk from Waverly train station, off Princes St.
As we arrived before 12 noon our room wasn't ready but we were able to leave our bags and go off and explore. We were told to come back after 2pm, finally made it back by 6pm. Our room was ready and the bags had already been taken up. We had been upgraded from a standard to a superior room too. Room 707. Amazing bathroom, huge bath and large shower, bathrobes and Elemis toiletries. Large bedroom with twin beds, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, hair dryer and the largest flat screen tv I have ever seen.
The staff could not do enough for you, offering maps of the city and suggestions of where to go. The hotel has a lovely pool, sauna and steam room and a gym. All lovely and well maintained. I was staying with a girlfriend who is a local and she was very impressed too.
I would recommend ths hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrestongirlEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights on honeymoon. Upon check-in, we were upgraded to a deluxe room (we had mentioned that we were on honeymoon when we booked the hotel online). There was also a bottle of wine in the room with a nice note from the hotel. The room was gorgeous with great views of the city. The bed was very comfortable. We had free wifi for the duration of our stay. The staff were excellent and very helpful. Breakfast was great with a very good selection on offer. The location of the hotel is ideal, being a stroll away from the main shopping area of Prince Street. We did not eat in the restaurant but seemed to be busy a lot. They have a lovely hotel bar as well. The spa is very small but offers a good selection of treatments. The pool is adequate but I found the temperature a little cold! I will most definitely stay here again when I am in Edinburgh...excellent place....thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveller75_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,083 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,770 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#86 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing