We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

We'd upgraded so were on the top floor with floor to ceiling windows plus skylights making the room airey. Didn't book breakfast. First morning went down the road to a lovely little cafe; how we wished we'd done that the next morning too. But we didn't; we ate in the hotel. Disappointing. My advice - stay there but get your meals elsewhere. Great location. Really really central.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jilllian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,335 - 3,341 of 4,648 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed here for 2 days for an anniversary weekend away. The hotels location is ideal - right near the train station! Situated in a great place, quiet enough from the centre, but within a short walk away.The decor is very modern and different, we couldn't have faulted a thing, apart from the fact our free little 'apex duck' to take home was nowhere to be seen. The staff were all so friendly and helpful, couldn't do enough for you. We arrived early before our room was ready so they held our bags till later in the afternoon. They also looked after them the following day till late evening when we got the train home, no fee needed. The room we stayed in was the standard double city room, and it was very nice, with a VERY comfortable king size bed.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, as I think it would appeal to all. Had a lovely stay and will be re-visiting in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Nice upmarket hotel in central location. Walking distance to all tourist spots. Cosy bar with drinks and snack food available until 11pm. The king size bed was so comfortable and the shower is large with great water pressure. Tea and coffee making facilities. Delicious breakfast cooked to order. Haven't used spa so cannot comment.
The staff are so friendly and helpful.
We are staying here at the moment and I cannot fault it at all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed here for just one night in Edinburgh to see a show at the Edinburgh Playhouse. Brilliant location right at the end of Princes st and only a few mins walk to the venue. The train and bus station only a few mins away also. The hotel is situated next to Calton Hill where you can enjoy elevated views over the city aswell as the various historical monuements located there. The rooms very very comfortable and furnished to a high standard inc 40in LCD television, free wifi and luxury toiletteries. Friendly and helpful staff. We ordered room service in the evening which was delivered promptly, food was hot and very tasty as was breakfast the next morning. Did not use the pool etc due to time constraints but looked lovely. Will definately be back the this hotel, a jewel in the heart of the city !

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennismyth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This is a great hotel! Location is really good - close enough to the action and far enough from the bustle. Clean, modern, comfortable; the guest bar/cafe/lounge was welcoming, the bed and pillows excellent, the bathroom gleaming and the whole experience was very enjoyable. Recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank west0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We walked from the station with our luggage and small child...easy! Our room was comfortable..even the fold out couch for our daughter was actually comfortable! We loved the underground swimming pool. Had a great late night pizza from room service and breakfast was delicious. Great variety in the little buffet and nice menu items. We covered this entire town by foot and loved every moment of it!

Room Tip: Ok, only drawback could be our surprise that our window faced a back corner shaft. The hotel is on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Nice and clean upmarket hotel located very near to the city center . Well furnished with 40 inch LED television . Bath /toilet was adequately stocked. Bed was perfect (kingsize luxury matress). Breakfast was also good (cooked or continental ) . I did not use the pool/fitness center during my stay so cannot comment on it. Overall I woud recommend it.

Room Tip: Opt for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lotus_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,690 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £84 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing