We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location for train station shopping & bars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #34 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Arrived at 2pm on 15th dec and room was not ready so we sat at bar and got a drink. Was very busy but with it being Christmas time it was expected. We were given our room at 2.30 which is still before the 3pm checkin (room 811) the reception is on level 5 so any rooms on levels 1-4 are lower down would possibly suggest requesting a room above reception level as the rooms lower faced traffic. Upon entering our room we were impressed. Fridge with water in, deep bath & walk in shower, elamaris comp toilitries & large room. Bed was extremely comfortable just sunk into pillows! We walked down to build a bear workshop which is about 25mins down princes street passing all the high street shops. We tried to get a table at hotrl kust for ease but was full. After freshening up at hotel we walked to George street about 15mins made a reservation for later on at Hard Rock Cafe & then onto a bar before returning for our meal. Had a comfortable nights sleep then on the morning went over to the shopping centre behind on hunt for a reasonable breakfast the Q for Elliot's at the hotel was long! Had no joy at the shopping centre so was going to head down to McDonald's but saw a guy holding a billboard advertising a cafe. We followed direction and glad we did!!!!!! It's called snax cafe. Google it the have website it's just behind the big Wellington statue. £2.90 for my breakfast & £4.50 for husbands extra large. Beats the high hotel prices!!!! We had left bags in room so went back to collect but our room key would not work and again when we went to reception. The concierge lady came to assist & let us in. She was very helpful. Check out was smooth. All in all a fab stay. We kicked ourselves as forgot our swimwear for pool etc.... An excuse to visit again lol!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneWillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,226 - 3,232 of 4,699 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2012

My fiancée and me stayed at the Apex in mid-December and we were very impressed.

The hotel is in a great location, around a two minute walk from Waverley if you use the 1st floor exit via the escalators. Although it's a stone's throw from the busy Princes Street, it's a pretty quiet location and a bit of an escape from the hustle and bustle of the city.

The hotel itself was very clean and tidy with the rooms in particular kept to a very high standard of cleanliness. The elemis in the bathroom was a big hit!

Service was brilliant throughout our stay. Our experience with staff on reception, breakfast and room service was impressive.

We booked the hotel on a discounted rate so it was certainly value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordansafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We stayed 2 nights here. We got a good deal from secret Escapes website. The hotel is centrally located very near to Waverley Station (approx 5 min walk) and the city centre. We were warmly welcomed by reception. Our bedroom and bathroom were both a good size. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful with a buffet style for cereal, fresh fruit and pastries. You could also order from a menu of cooked breakfast which had options ranging from a full cooked breakfast to omelette and eggs florentine. These were cooked to order and waiter delivered.
We used the pool, steam room and sauna. These were quite small but as it was quiet was worth a visit. I was very pleased with this choice of hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Located central to everything: train station, the Royal Mile, Princes Street with great shopping! The hotel staff were all friendly and accommodating. We were extremely happy with their service and the hot breakfast was fantastic. We would definitely return here with our family for a more leisure trip.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor originally and was unable to get cell phone reception. We asked to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Famluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This was our second trip to the Apex Waterloo Place Hotel and we were very pleased that we returned. The hotel is ideally located a short walk from both the station and the centre of town. Everyone at reception was very friendly and helpful throughout, as was the cheery chap who delivered our room service breakfast each morning. Another reviewer mentioned having to go up and down stairs - not the case as there are 2 very fast large lifts. We were on the 9th floor and never waited more than a few seconds for a lift up or down. Elliotts restaurant and the spa were also very good. The room had everything we needed, was spacious with plenty of storage and the bathroom had both a great shower and bath which my wife was delighted with. It's literally a 2 min walk to Princes Street, yet is very quiet and tucked away from the bustle. Overall another great stay and we hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Stylish modern hotel in an interesting old building. We stayed two nights and our room was comfortable and well equipped. The pool is lovely. Breakfast was good with hot meals cooked to order. Anyone arriving in Edinburgh by train should consider this hotel which is so convenient for the station and also for shopping and access to the main sights. I would expect to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elspeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

I have this place a 5 for everything except for service where they got 4 stars. do I have to beg for a cake of soap or 7 everyday?? they are a bit tight assed with their bathroom products and I love to pinch them and I have aunts back home waiting...

breakfast not all that great, coffee is putrid. front desk staff great!

oh and yes, if you have laundry that needs doing instead of £2.50 for a pair of jocks having the hotel do it ask the staff to point you in the direction of the neighbourhood laundry. I just ran 2 big bags there(only 10 min walk away) £8 for both bags.

rooms are quite large

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvermasked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,724 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,046 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £83 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing