We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect wknd break hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect wknd break hotel”
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a long wknd in dec. excellent location for city centre and very convenient for the station (2 min walk). Modern, well equipped and stylish. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, going out of their way to add a personal touch.
Rooms were just right. Fantastic bed with a stylish bath/ walk in shower room, tv + dvd and free wifi (good speed on iphone)

Restaurant was concenient and to a good standard for the frst night.

Gym/pool facilities were adequate

Spa and treatment centre was a pleasant surprise. Would definitely stay again!

Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

4,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,469
    1,445
    301
    81
    26
See reviews for
721
2,169
201
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed for the first time in this hotel in the Autumn. Our experience was very good indeed. The hotel is superbly located at the bottom of Princess Street. It is an elegant building and the public rooms are light and spacious with lovely high ceilings. The room we were allocated was just right. It was clean, well-furnished and quiet. Without exception, staff were helpful, cheerful and courteous. We recommend the Apex Waterloo Place without reservation and have already booked our next stay in the Spring.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louroucal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Stayed here for one night of a weekend spent going to a gig and shopping for an engagement ring! Fantastic service from the front door to the restaurant, good quality quiet room, good breakfast and good atmosphere in the bar. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finners31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Just had a brilliant stay here. Had slight problem with our booking, we'd booked 1 room for 2 nights & The Apex had us for 2 rooms but sorted it & upgraded us to a City Deluxe Room. Was a brilliant room; can't remember the last time we stayed in a hotel & they refreshed the rooms in the evening with new drinks, towels etc. Everyone we dealt with in the hotel was helpful & very chatty. We ate in the restaurant & the bar & both were great for value, service & food. Only criticism would be the pool was a bit cool & no jacuzzi, apart from that can't say anything bad about it. Great location, close to the shops & Princes St. Would definitely stay there again. Had stayed in Grassmarket Apex before but this was a better hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This hotel is perfectly situated for Waverley and Prince's street, and despite it's central location did not feel quite in the middle of the traffic as places like the Balmoral. I had a city room which was well furnished and comfy although the view of the atrium at the back was uninspiring, and I wished I'd paid the extra for a better room. Service was very good as I have come to expect from these type of hotels.

The gym is small and would feel crowded easily but serves a purpose. Breakfast was okay but I've had better choice and better quality.

Room Tip: Ask for floors 6-8 as these will be above reception which is on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamSSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We were really happy with this hotel, couldn't fault anything. We arrived very early, so although our room was obviously not available, they checked us in, took our luggage and then sent us a text the moment our room became available, which was well before published check-in time. The receptionist also advised us she'd upgraded our room, no extra change. The luggage was already waiting for us in our room. Room was really spacious, big comfy bed, big telly, everything you could possibly need was available. Most importantly, there was a large separate shower (not standing in a bath). Room was quiet and very clean. Breakfast was ok, although as one previous reviewer points out, they struggle to cook poached eggs properly. The spa area was compact, but we never found more than a couple of other people using it on the several occasions we used it. I would totally recommend this hotel. Location was brilliant, only a few moment walk from the hustle and bustle of the town centre shops and station.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PompeyStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

Stated on a b&b basis. Second time we've been. Very short distance from Waverley Railway Station so take the train and don't worry about the car or parking!

Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms pretty smart.

Breakfast -on the whole not bad but really need to sort out either the cooking of poached eggs or the fact they sit under heated lamps for a while they are brought out. 2 plates of Eggs Benedict returned for rock hard poached eggs - not good enough; in fact of the 10 poached eggs sent to our table only 1 had a soft yolk! Very disappointing. We gave up sending them back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottmccallum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#83 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,299 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,669 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#27 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing