We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$602
US$489
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$281
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$155
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$301
US$279
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$207
US$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$222
US$202
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (5,001)
Filter reviews
5,001 results
Traveller rating
2,831
1,680
360
95
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,831
1,680
360
95
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselemis productstrain stationjelly beanssauna and steam roomwalk in showerrubber duckend of princes streetcalton hillsuperior roomroyal milespa facilitiesexcellent locationlovely hotelhotel barlarge bathroomcentral locationcity break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,496 - 3,501 of 5,001 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Had a great stay at the Apex Waterloo. This is the 2nd time I have stayed here and again it didn't disappoint. the service was excellent and that staff were wonderful. I stayed with 3 friends for a weekend when we went to see Dirty Dancing at the Playhoue. The staff in Elliot's Restaurant in the hotel were great, helping us with meal choices, wine and even the nightlife in the area. The food was excellent and would definately eat here again for our pre-theatre meal.

We took the time on Sunday to enjoy the ozone pool and steam room before breakfast and I must say it was very impressive. The location is 10 out of 10 and we all had a fabulous time, thank you Apex and all your staff

Room Tip: Standard twin was roomy and great shower room
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shell213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a long wknd in dec. excellent location for city centre and very convenient for the station (2 min walk). Modern, well equipped and stylish. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, going out of their way to add a personal touch.
Rooms were just right. Fantastic bed with a stylish bath/ walk in shower room, tv + dvd and free wifi (good speed on iphone)

Restaurant was concenient and to a good standard for the frst night.

Gym/pool facilities were adequate

Spa and treatment centre was a pleasant surprise. Would definitely stay again!

1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed for the first time in this hotel in the Autumn. Our experience was very good indeed. The hotel is superbly located at the bottom of Princess Street. It is an elegant building and the public rooms are light and spacious with lovely high ceilings. The room we were allocated was just right. It was clean, well-furnished and quiet. Without exception, staff were helpful, cheerful and courteous. We recommend the Apex Waterloo Place without reservation and have already booked our next stay in the Spring.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louroucal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Stayed here for one night of a weekend spent going to a gig and shopping for an engagement ring! Fantastic service from the front door to the restaurant, good quality quiet room, good breakfast and good atmosphere in the bar. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finners31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Just had a brilliant stay here. Had slight problem with our booking, we'd booked 1 room for 2 nights & The Apex had us for 2 rooms but sorted it & upgraded us to a City Deluxe Room. Was a brilliant room; can't remember the last time we stayed in a hotel & they refreshed the rooms in the evening with new drinks, towels etc. Everyone we dealt with in the hotel was helpful & very chatty. We ate in the restaurant & the bar & both were great for value, service & food. Only criticism would be the pool was a bit cool & no jacuzzi, apart from that can't say anything bad about it. Great location, close to the shops & Princes St. Would definitely stay there again. Had stayed in Grassmarket Apex before but this was a better hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews