We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Took my Six year old Daughter to the APEX Waterloo place for the weekend and i'd go back any time,Staff were great with kids,Service was good and everyone was very friendly,The hotel is near enough to just about everything,Great weekend M OConnor.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,246 - 3,252 of 4,814 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2013

We had a winter long weekend in Edinburgh at this Aprex hotel, one of several Apex venues in the City, and the best-rated. It is well located just off the end of Princes Street, so it was convenient for the station, Castle, Royal Mile and many other tourist attractions on foot. We also found the buses easy to use - to and from the airport and to Leith where we visited The Royal Yacht Britannia - a must-see. The hotel is a recent conversion of an old building and it has been well done. It was chic, with a good restaurant and excellent breakfasts - cooked to order but with swift service. There is a leisure centre and spa, both good. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, going to some lengths to assist us with tourist advice and so on. A first-class base for visiting a lovely City.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pm46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We came to visit our daughter who lives in Edinburgh and have visited the locality many times although not this hotel before. The service was excellent with a man at a desk on reception whose sole job was just to show you where to go and how to get there. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice of food, again excellent service and a bright airy room to eat it in. Our bedroom was large clean and comfortable and so was the bathroom.
The only downside was that the room was not warm. They did provide us with a heater when we complained but the bathroom was still cold.
The swimming-pool was not large but we enjoyed our swim in it.
The location was very good, near the station, very near Prince's Street and within walking distance of loads of good restaurants , shops and tourist attractions.
Overall an excellent stay and we would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

My boyfriend booked a room here for my birthday last year, the room was fantastic, bed was so comfy and nice big bath. Room spotless and complimentary tea/hot choc/pringles and jelly beans! The free Elemis toiletries were amazing. Used the sauna and steam room and swimming pool which was fab as we were the only 2 in at the time so nice and peaceful. Staff at front desk were friendly and let us leave our bags when checking out to pick up a few hours layer before leaving Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T-bone82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

The Apex hotel was the perfect location for the Hogmanay celebrations, close enough to the action but not too close to prevent a good nights sleep! The rooms were large and very comfortable and left spotless every day by house keeping. The leisure facilities were good, although the spa was closed over new years and there was no hot tub, which would have been great after all the walking during the day, but apart from that the hotel was perfect and i would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkfrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We enjoyed the central location (within easy walking distance of airlink bus to airport and train station, but also close to restaurants, pubs and shops). The interior is very stylish. The bar is a pleasant place to have a drink in the evening. The staff was friendly, professional and attentive. I liked little details in the room, like the scented toiletpaper. The bed was very comfortable. No complaints, except about the poor wifi connection.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiaLaenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Clean
Great Breakfast
Wet room style shower, big baths, good decor, good facilities, great staff, will server your evey need
free water and biccys in room, replenished daily
fast 9MB (tested) Wifi
40" TVs in the rooms, with SKY sports and usual channels
some rooms are huge, others normal size
really is spot on, and i stay in lots of hotels.

Room Tip: 912 - It's massive : )
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikesRealReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#72 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £81 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing