We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I'm a fan of the Apex group and this one doesn't change that view. The location is perfect, being a minute from Princes street but just away from the hustle and bustle. The staff are super efficient and friendly, the rooms are large and comfortable and the spa area is very good. I didn't eat in the hotel but from what I could see the dining area was well used.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dode k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,004 - 3,010 of 4,809 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013

Location is great if you are using the rail network and is so close to the city centre. We were in luck and received an upgrade .... Room was excellent. Have stayed here before which is why we came back again, and we will certainly be back

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Spent two nights at the Apex in cold February. Check-in very welcoming, rooms very well equipped (if a bit small), beds extremely comfortable, bathroom enornous and well provisioned.
Breakfast was a feast (even if service was a bit slow/haphazard). Bar was well stocked (if a bit cold - all those large windows). Bar staff slightly too haughty - it not Harry's Bar boys. Would be great if a few snacks were available later at night. Ideally located closed to the City Centre - walking distance of everything. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors were nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentFlyer63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed with friends for a three night break. All of the staff were friendly and welcoming. Our rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable, (especially the bed) and the rooms were well stocked with complimentary water, warm drinks and biscuits. The range of breakfast choices was wide and the quality of their food very good.

After an exhausting 4 days touring Edinburgh it would have been nice to stay a day longer and just enjoy the comfort of the hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 703jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night in April , booked direct with the hotel on a link through trip advisor so got a great deal and also a free £10 voucher to use in the hotel. Arrived before check in time and they stored our bags until we returned to check in properly. On arrival back, our bags had already been taken to our room which was a nice touch. We were staying in a standard room on the 10th floor. Room wasn't the biggest of rooms but very modern and scrupulously clean. Amenities were good in the room, it had a fridge with 2 free bottles of water in, kettle with tea, coffee, hot choc and biscuits, hair dryer, iron and ironing board and Elemis toiletries. Bed was super comfy and had a proper quilt. As a nice touch they had left me a box of chocs and a voucher for 2 free drinks as I was celebrating my birthday. Every member of staff we encountered was lovely and professional and we couldn't fault them. Unfortunately didnt take advantage of the spa facilities as didnt have time so can't comment on those. Had to use my £10 voucher on check out day and couldn't quite manage to spend it all so the barman let me choose some soft drinks out the fridge for my journey home to make it up to the £10 which was nice of him. We were able to leave our bags after check out until time for our train which was really helpful. This was a fantastic choice for Edinburgh and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This hotel is beautiful. Bathrooms are big and have shower and bath...sleeping area is generous and you have a very large flat screen TV..a hairdryer, iron and ironing board,,you are always stocked up with plenty teabags, coffee, biscuits etc..very comfortable beds..excellent location. well worth the money.. What else could you ask for? Oh yes..treated myself to a treatment at the Spa YOU CANNOT MISS THAT!! And had 2 visits to the gym and heated swimming pool. All in all a great time. So many good things forgot to mention the staff!!! Very very helpful, and polite..so book quick because it is busy hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed just one night with my daughter at this Hotel in Edinburgh but would have liked to stay longer. It is a lovely hotel close to the railway station and has a great check out time of 12pm. The rooms are spacious and clean with very comfortable beds,really liked the bathroom with a bath and separate walk in shower. Dining room is waiter service and the food was excellent, although not overly keen on the Haggis with breakfast. Staff are very friendly and helpfull. Very nice Spa with sauna,steam room and swimming pool but rather disappointingly no jaquzi. Would deffinitely recommend this hotel and would love to go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jiggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#72 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £78 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing