We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top marks for convenience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Top marks for convenience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

The hotel is very well located and this coupled with helpful staff; comfortable beds and wholesome breakfast made this a pleasant stay and much better value than Holiday Inn Express or Premier Inn. The swimming pool is rather small and was over-crowded with children when I tried to use it, so chose your time carefully.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,381
    1,391
    290
    78
    25
See reviews for
680
2,096
192
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Recently stayed here with my boyfriend for two nights. We got a really good "Easter offer" deal on the hotel's website where we got a superior room with breakfast included, and we also got a really nice bag of complimentary chocolates. Location was great, just a few minutes walk from Waverley station and Princes Street. Staff were all really friendly and helpful, giving us a map, tips and advice as we didn't know Edinburgh well. We dropped off our bags and went straight out, when we returned our bag had been taken up to our room, which was lovely. Really big room with big TV (with DVD player), comfy bed, iPod docking station, massive bathroom with lovely Elemis toiletries. Breakfast was lovely, I didn't have any hot food but had all the usual continental (toast, cereal, croissants, yoghurts and fruit). My boyfriend had Eggs Benedict both days as he says it was to die for! We were given a £10 food voucher for the hotel as a reward for booking directly through the hotel website, we put this towards room service on our second night, which was very nice (and didn't have to wait too long). I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Hopefully I will soon be moving to Edinburgh for university and I will definitely recommend this hotel to any visitors I may have! Would love to visit again in future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Recently stayed here with my husband to see a concert at the Playhouse. Location was perfect for this venue and also hotel was minutes from Princess Street and Waverley station. Parked our car literally round the corner from the hotel at the Omni Centre and we were pleasantly surprised at the charge when we collected it.( Friday 11pm until Sunday 11.30am.) Reception staff were delightful and also bar staff very pleasant and helpful.Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzzyleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I stayed for two nights in the Apex Waterloo hotel in a deluxe room (well worth the upgrade price for the coffee machine, large bathroom, evening turndown service and other extras).

The hotel is in a wonderful location, the staff are polite, cheerful and attentive and the hotel is decorated to a high standard. The amenities provided are excellent and breakfast was top notch, I would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Upgrading to a deluxe room is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tartanspartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I have stayed with you 3 times now over the past month or so and in general the stay has been excellent. The only downside I have experienced is I have struggled to get a strong wifi connection and both my iPhone and work BB which are on Vodafone and BT respectively struggle to get a signal which makes it difficult to do some work from your room. I was in room 404 Thursday 25th April but can't recall the other 2 room numbers but you will see from your records.

Is this an issue with every room at the Apex or have I just been unlucky??

Room Tip: Better wifi and Vodafone/BT phone signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazzala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

My husband and I were in town for the half marathon and our honeymoon. Everything was great including the location, service, food etc. The only thing I must say is that the bar on the corner kept me from getting a good nights rest before the race. Other than that it was great. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE ENGLAND
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

perfect location. end of princess street. not even a 5 minute walk from waverley station. we went to the festival theatre which was only a short walk away. bus to britannia. definately worth a visit. friendly staff. super comfy beds. quiet hotel. clean. lovely big bathroom. would recommend

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fizzy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing