We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good quality hotel”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Great looking hotel inside and very comfortable. We had a room at the front which we was great but inside you could hear the constant noise outside (traffic, people singing etc). Breakfast was lovely but the back seating section was extremely crammed together, so much so we could hear every word the couple next to us said to each other. The main section where the food is was a lot more spacious. The staff were extemely polite, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Wouldnt get a room facing onto the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brightyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,472
    1,448
    301
    81
    26
See reviews for
723
2,172
201
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Best place in town. Spa is great! Front desk was great in meeting my daughter's extra bed needs at no extra charge. Breakfast was expensive, but good. Great location across from train station. Trendy newly refurbished look, but not snobby or upitty.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laszlo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Stayed here with my boyfriend for his birthday. We got a room upgrade when we checked in which was nice. The hotel itself is lovely, located just up from Princes Street. The room was nice with a huge shower and separate bath and nice comfy bed. However the staff really let the hotel down. Had a drink in the hotel bar, it was empty other than a group of 4 people, we ordered our drinks and the barman said he would bring them over, we went and sat down and then proceeded to watch him polish a load of glasses , answer the phone and have a conversation for a few minutes, polish some more glasses before making my cocktail painfully slow and pouring a pint. We were sat for a good 5 minutes with no drink. Wouldn't like to be in the bar on a busy night. We then went to order a taxi at reception to take us to the restaurant, the receptionist was very rude. Asked me several times where we were going and keep saying 'where' in a very annoyed tone, we are only english I've never come across anyone who speaks the same language unable to understand me. Felt like she couldn't be bothered to order us a taxi and made a bit of a performance out of a relatively easy task. The hotel wasn't that clean either, thick dust on the alarm clock and bed side tables. Maybe we just had a bad experience but probably wouldn't return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, CA.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Wonderful!! Will be staying there again on our next visit! Can not recommend this hotel enough. The room was beautiful and the staff very nice and helpful. We had a one bedroom suite, very large with a lovely large bathroom as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMSqueenmarygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed here in April with my wife and two kids in two rooms. Rate was very good compared to other nearby hotels that were not as well rated. Rooms were small, but not tiny. Very clean and relatively newly furnished. Housekeeping was prompt and efficient. Breakfast was included and gave a continental buffet plus a ordered entree from kitchen. Food was all very nice, but the dining room is too small for number of B&B rate guests they have so there can be a wait at peak times. They do set out juice and pastries while you wait. Bar area is modern and staff very helpful. We had a hotel credit we received for booking direct and gave us 10 pounds per room to spend. Pool area is fine. Small and a bit wet (I mean areas other than pool itself such as deck and chairs). Needs a little more attnetion during day. Location is ultra convenient to Waverly and although at the "end" of the main city area everything was an easy walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAM5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The hotel is very well located and this coupled with helpful staff; comfortable beds and wholesome breakfast made this a pleasant stay and much better value than Holiday Inn Express or Premier Inn. The swimming pool is rather small and was over-crowded with children when I tried to use it, so chose your time carefully.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Recently stayed here with my boyfriend for two nights. We got a really good "Easter offer" deal on the hotel's website where we got a superior room with breakfast included, and we also got a really nice bag of complimentary chocolates. Location was great, just a few minutes walk from Waverley station and Princes Street. Staff were all really friendly and helpful, giving us a map, tips and advice as we didn't know Edinburgh well. We dropped off our bags and went straight out, when we returned our bag had been taken up to our room, which was lovely. Really big room with big TV (with DVD player), comfy bed, iPod docking station, massive bathroom with lovely Elemis toiletries. Breakfast was lovely, I didn't have any hot food but had all the usual continental (toast, cereal, croissants, yoghurts and fruit). My boyfriend had Eggs Benedict both days as he says it was to die for! We were given a £10 food voucher for the hotel as a reward for booking directly through the hotel website, we put this towards room service on our second night, which was very nice (and didn't have to wait too long). I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Hopefully I will soon be moving to Edinburgh for university and I will definitely recommend this hotel to any visitors I may have! Would love to visit again in future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,307 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#27 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing