We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and stay at the Apex Waterloo Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #34 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
“Great service and stay at the Apex Waterloo Place”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Great location with fabulous views. Outstanding hotel staff and superb hotel restaurant. The room was very comfortable (although the mattress was a bit soft for our liking but for three nights it was not much of a problem).

Room Tip: Upgraded room are worth the money! Larger space and bathroom with a fabulous view of the old town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 97bernadette97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,529
    1,484
    312
    84
    30
See reviews for
745
2,221
206
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The two most important things in a hotel are a comfortable bed and a clean and spacious bathroom. The Apex Waterloo has both in spades. The most comfortable beds ever. The service was also excellent. Breakfasts were first class also. It also situated in an excellent location. All in all it's difficult to find fault with this hotel on any front. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bimlico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Located at a 5 min walk from the edinburgh station, the hotel is well priced and has a contemporary design..the best part about this is however the staff - unhurried, helpful, courteous are just some adjectives for them..they will take great pains to ensure you have a good stay not only at the hotel but in Scotland! great hospitality guys, keep it up!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khosla_abhishek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights at end of Sept. Didn't eat in the hotel or drink in the bar or even visit the spa. However our room was an internal room on eighth floor and extremely quiet. Room not huge but had a very comfortable bed good sized tv and free wifi. From speedy check in to even speedier checkout the reception staff were very professional. Had to get boarding passes printed off and Kasia was more than helpful. The location was excellent as just five minutes from waverley bridge where you get the airport bus. Would definitely recommend this hotel and bookong directly with apex as you get a voucher for ten pound to spend in the hotel and it is just as cheap to book with them directly than through travel websites. We probably could have stayed in the travelodge next door fir half the price but if you can afford it it is definitely worth trying this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Casarina
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Apex, NC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We loved our stay at the Apex Waterloo. The hotel was convenient to the train station, so we could walk to it and many sights in the area. The hotel staff was attentive but not overly so. We had a very modern room with a comfortable bed and great bathroom. We staid in many hotels on our tour of Europe, but this one spoiled us as it set a high level of comfort and design. We would love to stay her again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miller2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Ok......wow! Amazing hotel. Fantastic location, brilliant staff, amazing room!!

We upgraded on arrival to a suite.......very little cost, brilliant decision! Duplex suite......the bathroom is bigger than my first flat!!!!

Just off the end of Princes Street!!! Wow!

Room Tip: Try a upgrade on arrival.....worked for us......brilliant room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SidLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Booked for afternoon tea mostly based on the promise of it including a chocolate fountain, and the fact that it is near the train station.
Location is great, at the end of Princess Street - so nice and close to the station.
We were the only people in the restaurant for afternoon tea at 14.30, so it was a bit odd. We were joined by another 2 or 3 tables before we left, but there was still very little atmosphere. We were asked to choose our sandwiches, which I have not been asked before. When everything arrived, it was underwhelming. The sandwiches were chunky rather than tiny, the scone was dry and ready laden with jam and a tiny scrape of cream. The chocolate fountain was a shot glass of warm chocolate, not really enough, but it was nice quality and did make a change.
All in all we were disapointed. It hasn't made it onto my list of great hotels to go back to.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parkinson555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,092 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing