We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We were delighted with the very central situation of this hotel and it had a pleasant entrance. Our room was very narrow and dark which was disappointing as we stayed for 3 nights and the room didn't merit the cost per night although we did like the separate walk in shower and bath. Also we were immediately below the bar area which made it extremely noisy late at night and quite early in the morning. I did mention this at reception but we were not offered a replacement room. The staff were friendly and the spa treatment was good if rather rushed. Not sure if we would stay again.

Room Tip: Need hooks in bathroom and somewhere to hang the hand towel near the sink. Make the rooms brighter a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,561 - 2,567 of 4,730 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

Great location and extremely helpful staff.
We were upgraded to a top-floor room with a beautiful view because we were celebrating a special occasion.
They even give you a little rubber duck to take home, that's how nice they are!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deeohgoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Great location with fabulous views. Outstanding hotel staff and superb hotel restaurant. The room was very comfortable (although the mattress was a bit soft for our liking but for three nights it was not much of a problem).

Room Tip: Upgraded room are worth the money! Larger space and bathroom with a fabulous view of the old town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 97bernadette97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The two most important things in a hotel are a comfortable bed and a clean and spacious bathroom. The Apex Waterloo has both in spades. The most comfortable beds ever. The service was also excellent. Breakfasts were first class also. It also situated in an excellent location. All in all it's difficult to find fault with this hotel on any front. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bimlico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Located at a 5 min walk from the edinburgh station, the hotel is well priced and has a contemporary design..the best part about this is however the staff - unhurried, helpful, courteous are just some adjectives for them..they will take great pains to ensure you have a good stay not only at the hotel but in Scotland! great hospitality guys, keep it up!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khosla_abhishek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights at end of Sept. Didn't eat in the hotel or drink in the bar or even visit the spa. However our room was an internal room on eighth floor and extremely quiet. Room not huge but had a very comfortable bed good sized tv and free wifi. From speedy check in to even speedier checkout the reception staff were very professional. Had to get boarding passes printed off and Kasia was more than helpful. The location was excellent as just five minutes from waverley bridge where you get the airport bus. Would definitely recommend this hotel and bookong directly with apex as you get a voucher for ten pound to spend in the hotel and it is just as cheap to book with them directly than through travel websites. We probably could have stayed in the travelodge next door fir half the price but if you can afford it it is definitely worth trying this hotel

Thank Casarina
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We loved our stay at the Apex Waterloo. The hotel was convenient to the train station, so we could walk to it and many sights in the area. The hotel staff was attentive but not overly so. We had a very modern room with a comfortable bed and great bathroom. We staid in many hotels on our tour of Europe, but this one spoiled us as it set a high level of comfort and design. We would love to stay her again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miller2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,753 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,049 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#53 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £83 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing