We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights from 14 -18 November. Was attending a wedding at Balmoral hotel and found this hotel only 50 yards down the road from there and only a few minutes from all the shops on Princess street.

Very good hotel, with rooms having everything needed and an excellent breakfast. We saw our friends hotel room in the Balmoral and it was only marginally larger but had shower over bath and we had large walk in shower. Considering their cost was double ours i think this hotel offers great value for money.

Having read other reviews we asked for room high up and had one on 8th floor. No noise atall up there.

Would recommend to anyone thinking of staying in Edinburgh and wanting to be near everything.

Room Tip: Reception on 5th Floor so ask for high up room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick187058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,416 - 2,422 of 4,647 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed at the Apex Waterloo Place hotel in March 2013, the first thing that really struck us when we arrived off the train was how close the hotel was to everything - a miles walk to the castle (a miles walk ish, we got lost!), 5mins from all the shops and restaurants. Brilliant central location.

The hotel itself is housed in an amazing Georgian building, from outside you would never guess how modern it is inside. Our room was clean, tidy, very comfortable bed, massive bathroom with shower and bath and the staff couldn't do enough for you, from booking taxis for us, or to giving you directions to a good restaurant... They really couldn't do enough for you. A special shout out to the barman who was manning the bar one particular evening we got back to the hotel about 1am, if the drink you wanted wasn't on the menu, he'd try his best to make it for you. Also the chandeliers in the bar are definitely something to be seen.

All in all, we both had an amazing time, and if we could stay at the Apex Waterloo Place again tomorrow, we would.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bryony9928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Stopped here middle of November with my partner and thr hotel was top notch!
Very helpful and friendly staff
Got upgraded to a bigger room for free on arrival was offered full use of facilities also.
Would definitely recommend to family and friends and will definitely be returning in the future

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank natalyssa16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

good location, good room, friendly and helpfull staff, good wifi, clean and beautifull swimming pool (great after a day of discovering Edingburgh). Overall: a very good experience. Good price/quality. Just one detail: breakfast coffee and tea were not up to our standards. But that's really the only thing to complain about.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I am staying here as a corporate guest and will have been here 3 weeks by the time I leave.

The rooms are fantastic with a big Bath and huge shower. . Although some rooms don't have baths so if this is important to you request it. The staff are very accommodating so if you have a room request they are always more than willing to help and try to accommodate your needs.

The hotel had a gym with two running machines a cross trainer 3 bikes and a rowing machine, it also has mat space and weights a small gym but iv not seen it to busy. The pool is very pretty although quite small if you want a swim, you will need to do lots of lengths to have competed a 'real' length. The sauna and steam room are nice and i have not seen them busy yet. My only annoyance is the showers in the changing room need constant pushing to keep the water going which is rather annoying when washing your hair.

The restaurant is very nice although the menu is small which is ok if you are only visiting for a short time but corporate guests staying for longer may want to order from the room service/bar menus too. The staff have been happy to let us eat from these menus in the restaurant which has been good.

The apex also give you a resident Bath duck, Waterloo Place is a Brown duck called Earl but they often produce other ducks for events/charity at the moment they are giving away sprout the Christmas duck for a small donation to macmillan. My two year old son loves these ducks and has enjoyed me bringing home different colours which the staff have helped me get my hands on.

Over all this hotel has been the best hotel iv stayed in the UK and I will definitely return on a non work related trip to explore the beautiful city.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loobielulu12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Brilliant hotel in central Edinburgh.

Location is central, less than 5mins walk from Waverley Train Station where we arrived. Short walk to most of the attractions in central Edinburgh and most of the main shopping streets.

Received a lovely welcome at the front desk on arrival and all staff encountered during our were great.

Room was great, modern, clean design - with a bath and walk in shower, safe, fridge - everything we needed for a perfect stay! Also loved the rubber duck which you get to take with you.

We didn't use the spa or the restaurant, there is a nice coffee shop a few doors down where we had breakfast each morning.

Edinburgh hotels aren't the cheapest, but this represents great value at the heart of Edinburgh - would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Easy to find.Very clean. Staff attentive without being overbearing or a nuisance! Comfortable room with excellent bathroom with bath and shower. Breakfast excellent apart from poor coffee, food in bar good but restaurant to 'fussy' for our plain tastes. We will certainly come back in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,690 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £84 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing