We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city break hotel for Hogmanney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Well done all staff at The Apex Waterloo. Stayed 2 nights over New Year. Reached hotel at 11am and were checked into a superior room immediately. The reception male and female staff were extremely friendly and courteous and the concierge lady also put herself out to help out guests unfamiliar with the city. Room was surprisingly very quiet despite New Year and so comfortable and spotless. Lovely bathroom with Elemis products. There were quality complimentary room snacks in abundance. Breakfasts good but did not eat other meals here but the restaurant staff provided top class service. Went up the hill a few yards to Hogies restaurant which was lovely and quite reasonable one evening and attended the hotels Hogmanney Ball the other night. Location of hotel perfect for sightseeing, The red hop on/off bus was handy for us to get around and we got off a few yards up the hill on Waterloo Place coming back to the hotel instead of the last stop at Waverly station. If visiting the city again we would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murrayhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,510)
There are newer reviews for Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,233 - 2,239 of 4,510 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed in the Apex on 29th December and were extremely happy with the cleanliness, the location and the facilities. Their staff were friendly and professional, the rooms of a decent size and the leisure centre was clean and modern. The offer of free wifi was most appreciated - though this should be a minimum requirement in 2014 (which it isn't in the Edinburgh Sheraton for some strange reason !)
The only downside was the quality of the food at breakfast - which was without a doubt the worst breakfast I have ever had in a Hotel of this quality. The team didn't seem particularly well organised and though pleasant enough kept disappearing and needed to be hunted out to provide more coffee / toast etc. The food itself was bland : tasteless sausages eggs and bacon and haggis with the damp consistency of chewed oatmeal. The toast looked and tasted like it had been warmed up under a lightbulb. At £17.50 a head we had expected more. That said, don't let that put you off the Hotel which is otherwise excellent - just eat out !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at the Apex Waterloo Place just after Christmas for a three night honeymoon. On arrival the staff were very friendly and wished us well. Our room was beautiful, with a luxuriously comfortable bed and wonderful bathrooms. There was minimal noise meaning that our sleep not interupted. We also enjoyed the wonderful spa and leisure facilities. The hotel was also very close to the station and Princes street, meaning it was easy to get around. We enjoyed our weekend of luxury very much.

Room Tip: Higher floors have lovely views
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HollyD232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with our stay at the Apex Hotel in Waterloo Place. We enjoy staying at this side of the city and found this hotel to be very comfortable and we had been given a quiet room at the back of the hotel as requested, although this meant no view. The room was well decorated and clean although the shower needed a little attention to the door and grouting but otherwise immaculate. Bed was very comfortable and the Wifi being included great. We found the reception and bar staff very friendly and helpful and the reception staff were polite and courteous. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We paid a small supplement offered prior to arrival to upgrade to a superior room which was worth it...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Had a nice stay here some staff were pleasant but most quite surly the younger staff were worse and bar staff too which showed inexperience. Food was good.room was excellent very comfortable and clean. Wifi was free but you were forever login in.mobile phone signal not good. But overall was good and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryl_ludlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We spent Xmas at Dunstan Hall Norfolk and New Year here. There is no comparison what a fantastic hotel. Had I been here first Dunstan would not have had the fair to middling review given.
This hotel is in the centre of the city at the heart of all the celebrations taking place as well as central for sightseeing.
The staff at the hotel very welcoming and friendly It is very busy but no problem for the staff to deal with, always a smile and if you do not know the city there to provide help on directions and events.
The room is superb spotlessly clean bed very comfortable with crisp linen bedding will definitely come back.
Rooms do not have a view but once again in the centre of the city therefore surrounded by buildings of the New Town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leithy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The only thing stopping me from giving it 5 stars is there is no jacuzzi. Otherwise this chic hotel has it all. We stayed in room 803. Granted the view was not the best of the bins and adjacent offices, however, this had its positives being it was peaceful. Room was very comfortable. Beds which swallow you up when you lay on them. Bath big enough for two. Double shower cubicle. Washed down with Elemis products, what more could you wish for?... Clean?..... Spotless!

Big fluffy white towels.

Bigger tv than we have at home!

Lift is the best lift I have ever used... Get in, press button, press close door.... Gone!....no waiting for the stupid thing to get going.

Spa facilities are very good and clean. Lovely hot sauna, steam room and a small pool to swim in. Only thing missing is a jacuzzi.

As for access, the hotel is in easy reach of the royal mile, air link bus drop off point and is located in easy walking distance of of all local attractions.

We didn't try the food as we were on a room only tariff.... (Budget) but the hotel is nothing short of luxury and we would highly recommend staying there.

Room Tip: Room 803 is on the 8th floor and is peaceful for a good night sleep.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,528 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,852 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £85 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing