We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #32 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Came here with my girlfriend in December for a short trip.

Great location, walking distance of pretty much the whole city. Room was slightly smaller than expected but that might be because of the huge bed (really comfy).

Nice bonus to have the sauna/steam room and pool to use too. Staff were more than helpful and we also had a lovely breakfast in the restaurant on our final day.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,442
    1,424
    295
    80
    26
See reviews for
709
2,143
198
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Very good hotel, comfy bed, good shower, pleasant staff, good pool and sauna/steam room. Good breakfast (order night before to get it cheaper). Excellent location for Arthur's Seat and Playhouse.

Ensure you use the basement entrance (ask at desk) for access to the station and theatre.

Had a pleasant pre-theatre meal at Elliott's (hotel restaurant) for a fair price.
Would use this hotel again!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darmacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

This was my 3rd visit to this hotel. Was upgraded to a superior room for a small charge. Nice big room with bigger bathroom. Also received £10 voucher. Which we used towards a drink at the bar. Excellent service, nice breakfast and very helpful staff. Very well located for the Playhouse and shops. Will certainly use this hotel for future stays.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieQE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We have business/ meeting friends in Edinburgh 4/5 times per year. The Apex Waterloo Place meets all our needs. We take the bus from the airport which leaves us at Waverley, a 5 minute walk to the hotel. We have business meetings in George Street and our friends live at Scotland Street, all within easy walking distance from the hotel. The staff are all very professional but helpful and friendly. We find the Bar very welcoming and relaxing and often eat there after arriving in the evening after our flight. My husband likes to take an early morning swim in the pool while I prefer the luxury of the comfortable bed and watching the breakfast news. We would not consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger. Floor 5 is on the same level as reception and bar restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishTodd6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I love this hotel and it's my hotel of choice in Edinburgh - excellent value and location. Friendly staff, free wifi, spacious clean and well designed rooms, lots of storage, well insulated and lovely - quiet - air conditioning system! I always get a good night's sleep which is so, so important - never hearing other guests or loud air/heating systems! A lovely stylish old building but contemporary, design (not old fashioned). My room had a great sized bath and a walk-in shower. My favourite room is on the 9th floor looking out over the front of the hotel. Go for a room above level 5, with 9 being a great floor. I also think a front facing room would be quietest. Booking direct I also got a £10 voucher which I used towards room service so I got a meal for £8! Only niggle was lack of instructions for DVD player but staff were quick to assist. And the toilet flush sits behind the toilet seat, but that's just a design feature and me being very fussy! Perhaps breakfast could be slightly less expensive too. The location is amazing for Princes St, George St, and all Edinburgh's key attractions. And only 5 mins' walk to Harvey Nichols! There is also a convenience shop a few doors up from the hotel for cheap snacks if you want a chocolate treat or drink for watching a movie! The hotel offers a good selection of free DVDs from its library. If you want a long lie there is a great privacy button on the door. The reception staff also kindly stored my luggage for as long as I wanted whilst I could travel to meetings. I will always stay here and be sure to keep asking for my favourite room. Remember and take your free duck from the bathroom! Thanks for a great, comfortable, stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank svphighstandards12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

This is my 3rd visit to this hotel and have always had a fab time. Rooms are very clean and beds comfy. Good food, although could do with more variety at breakfast. Great location especially for the playhouse theatre. Staff have always been very friendly and polite. A really nice hotel. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarcyLanarkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel was terrific. Everything worked well. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was excellent - walking distance to everything. The room was a joy after some of the hotels we had stayed in with the same star rating. We would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,246 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,629 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#27 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing