We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #34 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
stokesley
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We were very impressed with this hotel. It was very close to the Railway Station.
The staff were very friendly, and the breakfasts were pretty good.
Room size was fine, and was very quiet. The separate bath and shower was a bonus

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank batman001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,526
    1,482
    311
    83
    29
See reviews for
744
2,218
206
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

As a present for my partner's birthday, I got 2 tickets to go and see the Lion King in Edinburgh. I looked for a 4 star hotel online and this one was very central and the price was ok for this kind of hotel. I can strongly recommend the Apex now after spending a great stay there. All the staff are very friendly and efficient. The room was spotless, modern, very quiet and the bathroom, fantastic. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and it was delicious. The pre-teatre menu is fab. If you're going to the Playhouse theatre (2 mns' walk) and a good quality overnight stay, don't look any further!

Room Tip: Our room (402) was the only room looking over the indoor swimming pool. While it was a little strang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeleneT72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Came here with my girlfriend in December for a short trip.

Great location, walking distance of pretty much the whole city. Room was slightly smaller than expected but that might be because of the huge bed (really comfy).

Nice bonus to have the sauna/steam room and pool to use too. Staff were more than helpful and we also had a lovely breakfast in the restaurant on our final day.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Very good hotel, comfy bed, good shower, pleasant staff, good pool and sauna/steam room. Good breakfast (order night before to get it cheaper). Excellent location for Arthur's Seat and Playhouse.

Ensure you use the basement entrance (ask at desk) for access to the station and theatre.

Had a pleasant pre-theatre meal at Elliott's (hotel restaurant) for a fair price.
Would use this hotel again!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darmacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This was my 3rd visit to this hotel. Was upgraded to a superior room for a small charge. Nice big room with bigger bathroom. Also received £10 voucher. Which we used towards a drink at the bar. Excellent service, nice breakfast and very helpful staff. Very well located for the Playhouse and shops. Will certainly use this hotel for future stays.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieQE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We have business/ meeting friends in Edinburgh 4/5 times per year. The Apex Waterloo Place meets all our needs. We take the bus from the airport which leaves us at Waverley, a 5 minute walk to the hotel. We have business meetings in George Street and our friends live at Scotland Street, all within easy walking distance from the hotel. The staff are all very professional but helpful and friendly. We find the Bar very welcoming and relaxing and often eat there after arriving in the evening after our flight. My husband likes to take an early morning swim in the pool while I prefer the luxury of the comfortable bed and watching the breakfast news. We would not consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger. Floor 5 is on the same level as reception and bar restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishTodd6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I love this hotel and it's my hotel of choice in Edinburgh - excellent value and location. Friendly staff, free wifi, spacious clean and well designed rooms, lots of storage, well insulated and lovely - quiet - air conditioning system! I always get a good night's sleep which is so, so important - never hearing other guests or loud air/heating systems! A lovely stylish old building but contemporary, design (not old fashioned). My room had a great sized bath and a walk-in shower. My favourite room is on the 9th floor looking out over the front of the hotel. Go for a room above level 5, with 9 being a great floor. I also think a front facing room would be quietest. Booking direct I also got a £10 voucher which I used towards room service so I got a meal for £8! Only niggle was lack of instructions for DVD player but staff were quick to assist. And the toilet flush sits behind the toilet seat, but that's just a design feature and me being very fussy! Perhaps breakfast could be slightly less expensive too. The location is amazing for Princes St, George St, and all Edinburgh's key attractions. And only 5 mins' walk to Harvey Nichols! There is also a convenience shop a few doors up from the hotel for cheap snacks if you want a chocolate treat or drink for watching a movie! The hotel offers a good selection of free DVDs from its library. If you want a long lie there is a great privacy button on the door. The reception staff also kindly stored my luggage for as long as I wanted whilst I could travel to meetings. I will always stay here and be sure to keep asking for my favourite room. Remember and take your free duck from the bathroom! Thanks for a great, comfortable, stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank svphighstandards12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,083 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,769 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#86 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing