We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a lovely hotel!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here on 11th Feb for one night with my boyfriend. Very friendly staff who very kindly gave us a free drink each as it was our anniversary. Our room was spotless, very clean and tidy. Huge king bed and a massive television. Loads of space in the room as well. Bit gutted with our view as it was just of buildings and a side street but because we were only there for one night it didnt really bother us too much. Loved the complimentary refreshments in the hotel room. Bottled water, tea, hot chocolate, biscuits etc. However we didn't get any bathrobes or slippers as mentioned in previous reviews. Our bathroom had a lovely shower as well as a large bath. We visited the swimming pool which was very refreshing and enjoyed the sauna and steamroom. Very nice! It is in a very good location, five minutes walk to Princes Street and literally two mins to get to Waverly Station if you leave from platform two of the station and come down the steps the hotel is right there, and from leaving the hotel, if you leave from floor 0 you can get to the station in a few minutes. Very handy. Our breakfast was lovely, and staff were very pleasant and polite. Would definitely return to this hotel in the future! :) really enjoyed our short stay. Thanks, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chappaz90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,469
    1,445
    301
    81
    26
See reviews for
721
2,169
201
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
236 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This hotel is well worth a stay if visiting Edinburgh. In a superb central position. Very clean and modern. The most friendly staff. Restaurant very efficient. Rooms well equipped. Free wi- fi. Nice swimming pool. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ella020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This hotel is located very central to Old town and New town. All the major attractions were in easy walking distance. If you are doing any type of tours the pick up points are close by as well. We took the bus from the airport, very easy to do and the walk to the hotel was less than 8 minutes. The beds are very comfortable and the service was great! Very quite at night and the amenities they offer are very nice. We had dinner twice in the restaurant and the food was quite delicious and the wait staff was wonderful. We also took advantage of their bar area and again the service was great. Highly recommend this hotel due to its location and price. You just cannot beat it. I will certainly stay here again on my next travels.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The hotel is in a great location for a walking tourist in Edinburgh, located just at the bottom Princes Street.

The hotel itself is very modern, and generally feels quite fresh and new, which is something that appeals to me at least.

We opted for a junior suite and found it to be very well equipped and pretty spacious. However, considering this room is two levels above the standard room, i did wonder how much smaller the basic room must be...? Again, the bathroom had ample space and the shower was fantastic.

The staff are very courteous and helpful, exactly what you would expect in a good 4 star hotel. The same goes for the bar staff.

We did however think that the breakfast at £15 per head, was expensive (£60 for two mornings breakfast for two seems like a lot to me!!) and so we eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConzoMuzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend and we were not disappointed. The room was stylish and spacious, with a large bathroom. Lots of little extras were provided in the room - bath robes, Elemis spa toiletries, Jelly Belly beans, Pringles, biscuits, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, still and sparkling water etc. The room even came with a complimentary rubber duck to take home! The hotel is ideally situated and very convenient if you are travelling via train - there is even an entrance to the hotel from Edinburgh Waverley station.
We made the most of the spa facilities during our stay and both treated ourselves to a relaxing treatment at Yu Spa. The spa facilities were adequate, but there is only a small pool, so this may not suit you if you're a keen swimmer. I was slightly disappointed that there wasn't a separate jacuzzi hot tub. However, the sauna and steam are perfectly nice, and the pool does have a jacuzzi end.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs_CC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I decided to opt for the Apex Waterloo Hotel after expploring numerous other options in the area and was not disappointed.

Even though I arrived several hours before check in time, I was given a room on the third floor which also had the leisure centre, so bonus there. The front desk staff were very friendly and informative. An unusual feature of this hotel is that because it is built on a hill, the entrance to it is actually the fifth floor.

The room was spacious and tastefully decorated with tea and coffee facilities, a room safe, iron and ironing board and a wonderful writing bureau. The bed was big and comfy and the tv had a decent selection of channels including some premium sports channels. The bathroom again was oversized, bright and airy with a shower and a large separate bath which included a rubber duckie! The only thing missing was a couple of bathrobes and slippers.

Breakfast was included with the deal I had booked (on Alpharooms.com) and your hot items are served to your table. The selection of cereals, breads, pastries, etc were not overly abundant but what was available was decent and probably reflected the most popular choices. A hot breakfast is priced at £15 so check around to see which deals include breakfast.

The leisure centre is located on the 3rd floor and the changing rooms have lockers (which require a returned £1 coin) and your room key is required to gain entry. There are plenty of towels supplied so no need to bring anything from the room. There is a sauna, steam room and a nice pool, very relaxing after a day seeing the sights of Edinburgh.

The only negatives that I could mention would be that the room had no view and the window did not open but this wasn't a huge issue for me. Also, I could not get any mobile phone reception in the room. Other than that, you will not go wrong with this hotel and I would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rjoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Spent 3 nights here in January and was a perfect short break. The hotel is in an excellent position at the east end of Princess Street and a short walk to the train station. On arrival we were met by very friendly staff at reception who gave us information on the city. Our room was specious and very clean with a large bed and a mini fridge with water, tea/coffee making facilities, biscuits,Pringles and jelly beans! The bathroom was lovely with a large walk in shower and desperate bath tub complete with complimentary rubber duck! Would love to return next time we visit the city.

Room Tip: Get a superior city room for extra room space
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HSwindells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#83 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,299 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,669 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#27 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing