We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, room and price !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

The title states it all ! The quality of room outstripped our recent stay at The Missoni which was at least 100 extra for a night! The size and quality of room, bathroom and tv were far superior than the other hotel and parking we paid £3 on Saturday afternoon and free on Sunday directly outside of hotel unlike the £20 at the other! If it's not obvious from these comments, book here for great value in a great city.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AndrewandMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,297 - 2,303 of 4,648 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

We did not actually know we were staying here until we turned up to our booked and paid for reservation at The Carlton (different story) but while we were arguing the toss, the staff there booked us in here.

The location is great and the hotel looks smart but we arrived at almost 10pm unexpectedly on a Saturday when it was busy. The Manager greeted us with the words "you have a room with no view" and then explained that we had got the last room in the Hotel as a favour to The Carlton and it was all he could give us at short notice.

The room itself was actually below street level, the last one in a long corridor right next to the machine room and with a view of a concrete yard with bins and pallets in. It was also overlooked by other buildings/flats and there was no way you could have your curtains open at all. It left us feeling quite vulnerable to be honest as 2 women but it is not the Apex's fault they were put in this situation.

The room was spacious, nicely furnished and had the usual facilities in. Given the fact it is so far away from all the facilities and the location of it, it is definitely not worth the more than £100 a night. There is no way they could sell this room. The noise of the machine room also kept us awake.

The staff were helpful and polite, the room was clean, the hotel was clean and offered plenty of facilities but we did not use them due to the circumstances we were there under. The location is ok. There was a menu in your room for room service food and drinks but the prices were extortionately high for even a 4* hotel in Edinburgh.

I think if we were to go to Edinburgh again, we probably would try this hotel out as it was a shame we didn't really get to take advantage of any of the impressive facilities it clearly has.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room at the rear on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justval1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is in the heart of Edinburgh. We could walk to places to eat and to many of the attractions. It is on a local bus route so getting around is easy. The staff was very nice and the breakfast was such that you could order just about anything you wanted. The room we stayed in was very spacious and clean and overlooked the city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golferkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for 3 nights in the duplex suite back in January for my 30th.

The staff were lovely and the room was spotlessly clean. I asked for ice quite alot as I like my drinks properly cold and it was never an issue for it to be brought to my room and I was never even charged for it.

The fridge didn't work at all really and I had to properly stretch to close the sky light at night but these facts didn't detract from the overall pleasantness of my stay.

There's free wi-fi, large TV's which were great to hook my laptop upto with netflix and I managed to get my little apex duck once I mentioned that one wasn't left in the bathroom.

The pool was nice to use if you're lucky to get it to yourself and I would definitely stay in another Apex hotel based on my experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here on 11th Feb for one night with my boyfriend. Very friendly staff who very kindly gave us a free drink each as it was our anniversary. Our room was spotless, very clean and tidy. Huge king bed and a massive television. Loads of space in the room as well. Bit gutted with our view as it was just of buildings and a side street but because we were only there for one night it didnt really bother us too much. Loved the complimentary refreshments in the hotel room. Bottled water, tea, hot chocolate, biscuits etc. However we didn't get any bathrobes or slippers as mentioned in previous reviews. Our bathroom had a lovely shower as well as a large bath. We visited the swimming pool which was very refreshing and enjoyed the sauna and steamroom. Very nice! It is in a very good location, five minutes walk to Princes Street and literally two mins to get to Waverly Station if you leave from platform two of the station and come down the steps the hotel is right there, and from leaving the hotel, if you leave from floor 0 you can get to the station in a few minutes. Very handy. Our breakfast was lovely, and staff were very pleasant and polite. Would definitely return to this hotel in the future! :) really enjoyed our short stay. Thanks, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chappaz90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This hotel is well worth a stay if visiting Edinburgh. In a superb central position. Very clean and modern. The most friendly staff. Restaurant very efficient. Rooms well equipped. Free wi- fi. Nice swimming pool. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ella020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This hotel is located very central to Old town and New town. All the major attractions were in easy walking distance. If you are doing any type of tours the pick up points are close by as well. We took the bus from the airport, very easy to do and the walk to the hotel was less than 8 minutes. The beds are very comfortable and the service was great! Very quite at night and the amenities they offer are very nice. We had dinner twice in the restaurant and the food was quite delicious and the wait staff was wonderful. We also took advantage of their bar area and again the service was great. Highly recommend this hotel due to its location and price. You just cannot beat it. I will certainly stay here again on my next travels.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,690 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £84 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing