We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent city break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmslow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent city break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights for a wedding at the beginning of February. From the moment we stepped through the door to reception, we were greeted with warm smiles and quick answers to our questions. The room was spacious and provided everything we wanted for a relaxing break. Yes there was no view, but it didn't matter as the room was really nicely decorated. The breakfast was fantastic, although the wait on the Sunday morning was a little excessive - they could do with making this area bigger to accommodate the number of rooms.

We went for a quick swim in the pool and it was smaller than we thought, but was fine. The bar area was great and the food was gorgeous. We're hoping to come back in May if we can get a deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachelJWilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,382
    1,391
    290
    78
    25
See reviews for
680
2,097
192
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

great, genuinely nice service, went the extra mile.
Had a really great value package which included a massage, dinner and breakfast.
3 course meal was fantastic and breakfast included a great variety. One of the best meal i'd ever had.
Room was immaculate, we were upgraded to a larger room with big windows, robes and nice complimentary snacks. Separate shower and huge bath with lovely products to use. Bed was huge and really comfortable and having speakers and a huge tv with a selection of dvds available made for extra luxury.
Massage was great and spa facilities were good, a little cold but very relaxing atmosphere.
we felt very welcome, it was romantic and felt like a 5 star. Felt completely at ease with everything and great location.

Room Tip: rooms higher up have a better view, definitely recommend their afternoon set menu meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CamdenTownBrewery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Recently stayed with a group of ladies.

We found the hotel did exactly what it said on the tin and more! The concierge kindly helped organise a special piper to welcome our group and we thoroughly enjoyed the booked afternoon tea.

The leisure facilities are beautifully appointed.

The rooms are well serviced and the extra touch of the Apex Duck is charming.

Definitely consider if we ever get the opportunity to visit this wonderful city again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights in this hotel. It is in a great location and close to a q park so that was very convenient. Room was spacious and nicely decorated. Heating in the room was a little primitive relying on a dimple type heater when feeling chilly! Tv was out of order but that was acknowledged by our two complimentary drinks at the bar!lounge bar area was also very pleasant and hotel staff helpful and efficient! Would recommend and wld stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annadhubh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Apex Waterloo was in a great location close to Waverley train station. The room was nice, clean, comfortable and generally quiet. I was situated on the 7th floor which is where the meeting rooms were. Often those attending the meetings would step out to the elevator lobby area on the 7th floor and talk quite loudly on their cell phones.
The spa services were great, the bar area seemed nice but I did not try it. The only complaint was the food. The continental breakfast was very limited, the breakfast service staff were not friendly and the pastries were very stale.
Room service was pleasant but the sandwich was soggy.
The front desk staff were very helpful and pleasant.
I would stay here again just skip the breakfast and do not eat in the hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationhoundToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Just got back from the apex Waterloo , 2night stay the staff right from the front desk to the maids ,they cannot do enough for you ,nothing is any trouble.there was 4and a10mouth old it was a great stay .thank you all at the apex .we will be back with more family .

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with colleagues on Business. Managed to get a deal of £98 per night which was only £25 per night from the Travel Lodge next door, you could not have 2 more different hotel experiences!

Staff very friendly, helpful and just very professional. The hotel was immaculate and in top order. The rooms were great with the ensuite having desperate double end bath and large walk in shower.

Colleagues used the gym which was described as small but no problem.

Greatest thing for me was proximity to centre within a couple of minutes of Princess Street and 10 minutes to the Castle if that. I walked out for about an hour or so pre dinner and walked to the castle, down the whole length of the Royal Mile to Holyrood Palace and back to Hotel.

Also recommend Deacon Brodie's Pub on royal Mile (Castle end) for great Beer and Michael Neaves kitchen and whisky bar for amazing food, just off Royal Mile.

Will return to Apex Waterloo with family, no need to look anywhere else, just a matter of price as I won't get the corporate discount!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#83 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing