We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Bar/Lounge
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Room Service
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Bar/Lounge
    Reviews (4,992)
    Filter reviews
    4,992 results
    Traveller rating
    2,824
    1,679
    359
    95
    35
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    2,824
    1,679
    359
    95
    35
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewselemis productstrain stationjelly beanssauna and steam roomwalk in showerrubber duckend of princes streetcalton hillsuperior roomroyal milespa facilitiesexcellent locationlovely hotelhotel barlarge bathroomcentral locationcity break
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    2,565 - 2,570 of 4,992 reviews
    Reviewed 30 March 2014

    I stayed at the Apex Waterloo March 16-21, 2014. Very nice place, modern décor, clean, super quiet (well on St. Pat's there were some folks carrying on out in the street, but that can't be managed by the hotel). Staff were super helpful - even sewed a strap handle back on a satchel for me! They called cabs, helped look for missing reading glasses, offered suggestions in restaurants, bus service etc. Had a great view of the clock on the Balmoral Hotel too (9th floor). Location is about 2 min walk from the Waverly train station exit onto Prince's St, easy walking distance to most of the "main" Edinburgh area. Cab fare a bit farther out was very reasonable. Nice bar and restaurant onsite. Storage safe and refrig in the cupboards, great way to save a few meal expenses. I'll be back!

    Room Tip: I really liked the view of the Balmoral Hotel clock and top of Scott Monument - probably need to be 8th floor or higher (and on the east side). You can see Carrollton(sp) monument from the other side. Go buy milk and fruit from Sainsbury's and use the in-room teapot to have breakfast.
    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank prairie_fan
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 March 2014

    Excellent location and Room.
    Beautiful view from Sea Side Rooms.

    Excellent location and Room.
    Beautiful view from Sea Side Rooms.

    Excellent location and Room.
    Beautiful view from Sea Side Rooms.

    Excellent location and Room.
    Beautiful view from Sea Side Rooms.

    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Uzair S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 March 2014

    Stayed here for two nights on a work trip with a colleague. Lovely hotel, beautiful rooms, happy and helpful staff and very central but peaceful also and great value for money.
    Our return flight was booked late in the evening but we finished with work early afternoon. We had planned to do some sightseeing but it was raining, we had bags and wanted to relax. The hotel were very helpful in arranging a late check out and them allowing is to use their spa until we were ready to leave. This I thought was kind enough but as I checked out ready to spend the next few hours in the spa one of the managers very generously told me they had an empty room and offered it to is to use free of charge until we were ready to leave for our flight. This I thought was extremely kind and generous. We decided to stay in the spa but I was really impressed with this customer care and would definitely recommend this place and go there again.

    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Kismat73
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 March 2014

    We stayed here from Friday 21st - Monday 24th March for our first wedding anniversary and couldnt have chosen a better place to stay. We were checked in by lovely staff to be told that our room had been upgraded due to our special stay what a lovely touch. The room was spacious and clean and could not have asked for more. The breakfast was exceptional with so much choice you were spoilt. It was very central to everything, 10 mins walk to the castle and 5-10 mins walk to Holyrood House Palace. We had such an amazing time and will definately be back to this hotel on our next visit to Edinburgh which hopefully wont be too long away!!

    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank riri2007
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 March 2014

    We were so looking forward to our stay at The Waterloo but due to an IT problem we had been double booked. The hotel is right smack bang in the city centre, which was perfect for us but when we found out about the mix up between the booking company and the hotel, no one seemed to care and left us the short time we had to try and sort it out. Really poor quality service. The hotel is lovely and super clean, though. I would of used this hotel again but was just so disappointed with their lack of help.

    • Stayed: March 2014
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank bleaser
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews