We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel in a perfect location...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in a perfect location...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our stay in this hotel during a five day break over the Easter weekend. The staff we very welcoming and accommodating. Our room (Superior Double) was clean, spacious and comfortable. Special thanks must go to the Concierge who recommended a number if excellent restaurants and places to see! We will be visiting again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Udiff_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,374
    1,389
    289
    78
    25
See reviews for
678
2,090
191
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband and I very much enjoyed our stay at Apex Waterloo Edinburgh. The location of the hotel was perfect for tourist attractions and getting quiet peaceful rest at the end of the night. We also ate at the bar one night and the Angus burgers were pretty amazing. However, my one complaint is the lack of variety and unimpressive breakfast buffet.

Would definitely return if ever in Edinburgh again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaLisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

My family and I stumbled on this hotel when the International was booked for the dates we needed and I am so glad it was! We had an amazing time in Edinburgh and adored this hotel. The room was modern but welcoming, the beds comfortable and pristine. The hotel is a 3 minute walk from Calton Hill, our new favorite place. Tub was large and deep, amenities plentiful, and the separate shower was large. We took advantage of the indoor pool, and the sauna as well. Both Caitlin and Verity were incredibly helpful. We really couldn't recommend this hotel higher.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SAJ-Casey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just back from a three night stay at the Apex Waterloo Place Hotel and it was quite simply fantastic. The lady on reception when we arrived was very friendly and attentive and this just set us off on the right foot. From there on I can easily say that all staff we came across were very friendly and had excellent customer service. Our room was on the third floor and although we did not have a great view this did not bother us as the room was lovely. It was a great size with all of the usual Apex luxuries and the bed was very comfortable. The gym and spa were excellent and well worth a visit. The bar area was very relaxing and had a great selection of cocktails and craft beers which were all very reasonably priced. As said in many other reviews, the hotel is well situated and you can walk to all attractions.

We have stayed in Edinburgh on numerous occasions and stayed at a lot of nice hotels such as the Missoni, however when we are next in Edinburgh (which I hope is soon) I will most definitely be booking the Apex Waterloo Place Hotel. I cannot wait to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prosecco86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Great impression remains , not my first time here and will be back

Quick efficient check in, Monica at front desk very helpful
Great room service, good dishes, not overpriced
Spacious rooms, though view could be better!
Breakfast excellent, huge variety on offer
Location is convenient
And don't forget , swim pool , sauna and gym- nice touch

Thanks to all at Waterloo place!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SunE45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay here. Ideally located for great restaurants and pubs in the New Town area.
Most city centre tourist attractions within walking distance, but plenty of bus routes nearby , if required.
Room was great and very quiet, even though we were across from a pub.
As others have mentioned, station is a very convenient 5 minute walk away from hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a good view, then probably best to ask for room above 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinMc1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Apex Waterloo is a great location. It's an easy walk from the train station, so even if you have luggage - trust me, you can make it. Just exit (up the escalators) to Princes Street/Waterloo Street and you are about 2 blocks. It was in perfect proximity to the castle, the National Monument, Queen Street, etc.

We were upgraded to the Master Suite which was very nice. The bedroom was very dark and quiet (my bliss), the living room was cozy with a beautiful few of the National Monument of Scotland.

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful when needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#83 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing