We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #32 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Just back from a two night stay at the Apex Waterloo Place and I couldn't recommend it highly enough. I stayed with my mother as part of a birthday celebration and the staff were so helpful and friendly. The whole hotel was spotless and the pool/sauna/steam room were excellent. Breakfast was lovely and set us up for the days to explore. Fabulous location. Definitely a five star stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRoweJRowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,123 - 2,129 of 4,551 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Great service and breakfast.
The location is perfect just between old and new city.
Kasia the from front office was a superstar! Made our stay the best.

We had booked a room in another hotel that was not as required! Super happy to transfer to Apex hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Loved Scotland! And all the more with this conveniently located, completely refurbished in modern style hotel. Beautiful rooms, comfy beds, great bathrooms. Great breakfasts included. 5 minute walk to pubs and great shopping. Best hotel the whole tour!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ivanhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

In the ωερυ center of town along the acropolis hill with great views and privacy. Nice clean rooms with large bathroom and a generous breakfast. worth the money for what it offers. The staff were polite

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank billakos2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here for a mid-week break visiting the hotel with no expectations due to getting off a deal site...could not have been more impressed. Great location, close to the entire city with an entrance that is practically in the train station. Had emailed ahead asking for a room higher up, great check-in experience with really helpful and professional front-desk staff. Room was excellent, good hospitality tray and great bathroom amenities (Elemis - very nice) bed was really soft which was an initial worry until I had the best three nights sleep! Breakfast was great (restaurant supervisor was exceptionally friendly and professional) good offering with both hot and cold options - porridge was great though in Scotland they could have added a tot of whiskey! Great spa area - pool, sauna and steam room was spot on to come back to after walking the length and breadth of the city. All in all this stay exceeded expectations and will now entice me to look at other Apex hotels for future stays - modern, stylish and excellent staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Herts-Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I visited Edinburgh for a two night get-away and the Apex Waterloo proved the perfect choice. Located approx 3 min walk from the train station, the hotel delivered everything we needed. Our room was upgraded foc which made for a pleasant arrival. Our luggage was looked after and the reception staff welcomed us to the city. Our Superior room was fabulous - very contemporary but also plush and comfy. Huge bathroom and bath, which made relaxing very easy. Nice touches included complementary chocolates, room snacks and a drinks voucher for the bar - just the little extras that make you smile. The hotel is in a great location to explore the city and i really could not fault anything. We didnt have breakfast due to extra cost - this is the one thing that could be included.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at the Apex Waterloo Place Hotel over the Easter weekend & chose this hotel because of its reviews and its ranking in the list of Edinburgh Hotels. The location, staff and facilities were all great, especially the concierge who was most helpful and the spa staff who were very friendly.

This said, both my husband and I agreed that the hotel lacks attention to detail and could be improved to make our stay more comfortable. We noticed that the cleanliness of some areas (bathroom, stairwell & spa area in particular) were not to a good standard.

We booked a City Double room and stayed in Rm 227 which, with two other rooms, was set aside from the rest of the hotel and had to be accessed via the stairwell. The stairwell was gruby and undecorated and often had food and drinks left aside on the landings for long periods.

The room had no view and was not very welcoming. In addition, the bed was most uncomfortable and both of us had a very unsettled couple of nights sleep. To summarise our feeling of the room is that we felt that it was used as "staff quarters" during non busy periods and the stale smell in the small communal area in the morning was overpowering.

The Elliot Restaurant had a limited choice of dishes and with so many nice restaurants in Edingburgh and a good room service menu we would recommend either exploring further afield or ordering from the room service menu.

I have been to Edinburgh a number of times for business and pleasure and stayed in hotels each time. I would say that this is the worst of all that I have stayed in over the years, although the spa facilities were reasonable. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 227
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LittleMissHappyMRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,597 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,885 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £87 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing