We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Stay - Highly recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #34 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Stay - Highly recommend!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for our first wedding anniversary on the Mayday bank holiday weekend. I had booked a superior room including dinner and breakfast. I emailed the hotel in advance to tell them it was our first anniversary perhaps expecting some small touch. On arrival we were told we had been upgraded and only realised this was to a full suite when we entered the room. Also, included was a voucher for two free drinks and another £10 voucher to spend in the bar or restaurant,

The downstairs included a big tv, sofa, coffee machine, minibar and WC. Upstairs was the big bed, another big tv and impressive bathroom,

The upgrade really went above and beyond and contributed to an amazing stay. We had a deliecious dinner in the restaurant and breakfast the following morning was excellent too.

The room itself was superb, with a very spacious and comfortable bed. The best part of the room was the bathroom with an incredible shower with five water points, in addition to a hige bathtub.

We used the swimming pool, steamroom and sauna, all of which were great. If there was a jacuzzi as well that would have made it perfect.

Taking into account the amount we paid, to get a delicious dinner, excellent breakfast and a stunning room we could not have been happier with our stay. We will most definitely return again! Thanks

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjbest12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,526
    1,482
    311
    83
    29
See reviews for
744
2,218
206
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel is REALLY a 4 star! It looks AND is nice and classy. Great ambience, excellent location! A lot of attractions/sightseeing options within walking distance.

The staff, especially LINDA, was so incredibly friendly!!! Linda anticipated my needs as a guest, offered assistance proactively and was genuinely kind. Also helping with local logistics. Just lovely! The restaurant staff at breakfast was VERY friendly also. I really felt like a guest by being pampered by so many staff members.

Endulge yourself in an oasis of comfort, tranquility and amazingly comfortable beds. I'm planning to visit again in June for business and Apex Waterloo is my preferred choice. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Room Tip: Request for a room with a view on a higher floor. Preferably a day or two PRIOR to your arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTraveler1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel is by a nice breakfast place towards Princes street, the Howies restaurant up the street which has a great lunch menu.
There is a mall and movie theater on Leith street and all the shops you can dream of on Princes street (Primark, M&S and the like)
Up the street you will find Regent Gardens which overlook the city and is a must see, especially if it is sunny. You just have to go over the north bridge, with a nice view of the city and 5 italian restaurants!, to get to the touristic Royal Mile with the Castle, the Palace, the church, lots of restaurants and tourist shops.
The train station is also very close (but you don't hear anything as it is below)
The hotel itself looks new, you get free wifi, AC, a big TV, hairdryer and iron, tea, kettle and biscuits and a big shower room. We haven't tried the gym and the swimming pool but they are complimentary as well.
The reception desk is very helpful. Great stay!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cmdpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel just for a night but was very very beautiful.
if you have a car, parking is very tight, so be prepared.
stuff are so friendly and helpful. they will book taxi for you on time whenever you need. lobby bar beautiful and looked like they have a nice restaurant on site but we did not dine there.
room, beautiful room with modern decoration, you get to take home a cute duck for your memory and i think that is very cute and nice thing they do in this hotel.
only the problem was the view.
lobby is on the fifth floor and your room could possibly be underground like ours, well, we still had windows and sun but the view was the worst i ever seen... all we saw was construction stuff from our window . nothing else.. lol
but the hotel itself was so beautiful. just make sure you have higher floor for better view!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rurina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This was our third visit to this hotel and the standards are still excellent.The reception staff are friendly and helpful always willing to give advise and directions to attractions in the city.
The rooms are clean and spacious for a capital /city hotel.The bathroom had a separate shower and bath.The room had a side view which is quieter.The food is of excellent standard.The pre theater menu is excellent value.Breakfast is served to you which makes a pleasant change.The service can be slow if the restaurant is busy, but we don't mind as we like a leisurely breakfast.The full english is excellent and the smoked salmon is very tasty.We always leave our luggage at reception on the day of departure and return for a drink in the bar, which is a great place to relax before catching the train.
The hotel has the great advantage of having a lift that takes you the rear entrance of the hotel ,so you are on the right level for railway station.
The hotel is perfectly placed for the station and for visiting the attractions in the old and new parts of the city

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors and to the side as these are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tranent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I recently stayed with my 2 sisters at Apex Waterloo in Edinburgh to celebrate a birthday and we had a wonderful time. The room was large, clean and comfortable, the ensuite was huge and breakfast was fab. The staff were all very friendly,professional and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed the Spa and pool. The hotel is in the perfect location for exploring the city, it couldn't be closer to the train station and Edinburgh's many fine bars and restaurants. I would recommend this excellent and beautiful hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Staying just for one night was a shame as this hotel has lovely rooms, great location for the city and it's own entrance by the station. Staff were friendly and the room very clean. Nice city centre hotel that is well worth staying at when in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TigerMoth1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,083 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,770 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#86 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing