We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel is a short walk from Waverley Station. The rooms were great, the hotel staff friendly. My only negative comment would be that the hotel bar does not have many seats to cater for hotel guests, we were a party of 6. We didn't eat at the hotel as found so couldn't comment on that.

It is a lovely hotel and very comfortable and I wouldnt hesitate to stay here again when I'm back in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topcat1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,510)
There are newer reviews for Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,069 - 2,075 of 4,510 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Apex Waterloo hotel is really close to Waverley Station (approx. 5 mins walk). The hotel is very well maintained and the rooms are well appointed. The hotel staff are very attentive and friendly. The breakfasts and evening meals are very good but as with all city hotels, the drinks are rather expensive. The swimming pool, sauna and steam room are very small - we only spent 30 mins in the spa area over the weekend.

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My family, some friends and I stayed in the Waterloo Apex in mid-April- we were all in Edinburgh for a special occasion. On arrival the hotel told us that they had heard about the purpose of our trip and had upgraded my fiance and I to a beautiful suite for our 3 day stay! We were absolutely delighted. The rest of our party were all very happy with their accommodation too. Staff were lovely. We would definitely stay in this hotel again when we next return to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Really easy to find.
Pleasant check in. We got a complimentary drink at the bar each to celebrate our anniversary.
The bathroom was wow!
The bed was comfy.
Free pringles, jelly beans and toiletries.
The restaurant was good, but not amazing.
It's sad I know, but the clinching point when I booked was the free rubber duck. Overall, it was a good choice. (We spent an hour or two duck hunting the following day to collect more from the other local hotels in the chain)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cerys_lane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I was there with my husband and son for 3 nights in April... it is an excellent hotel... we had one of the small suites and it was perfect for the 3 of us... the room was immaculate, the staff were all really helpful in all the areas of the hotel... the food in the restaurant was lovely as we had breakfast and dinner there. The pool is small, but it was never very busy so was ideal for us. I would really highly recommend this hotel and really can't wait to go back.... the location is within walking distance of the train station and centre of Edinburgh so you really can't beat the location either... we all loved it.. thanks for a lovely time :0)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We are just back from a short stay at the Apex Waterloo Place Hotel and can't recommend it highly enough. We visited for our wedding anniversary and can honestly say it is one of the most comfiest hotels we've ever stayed in.

We stayed in a Deluxe Double Room which was on the corner of the hotel so had windows down two sides of the room. As we were on the 9th floor we could see over most of the roof tops and had a view of Edinburgh Castle. From the other side we could see over the Firth of Forth as well. The room was a great size and so was the bathroom.

The staff were very welcoming and we had no issues at all with the service. The price of the hotel was very competative and I think we easily got our money's worth. Its in a great location very close to Waverley Train Station and if you are driving the OMNI car park which you get a discount for using is less than a 2 minute walk away. If you are using the OMNI car park don't bother walking all the way up the hill to Waterloo Place. Instead as you leave the car park walk down Calton Road as there is an entrance on the left hand side with lift access to the main reception.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borahorza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I spent four nights at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel last March, and I can say that i quite enjoyed my stay at this property! Location is really comfortable, pretty close to every major attraction in Edinburgh, and in a quite area (the city is indeed pretty much quite, and so beautifully appealing). The room was very good, the bed could be slightly more comfortable, bathroom a little dissapointing in terms of size and general facilities. Room service was good with a decent array of choices for an overnight request. The great spots on this hotel are the swiming pool and spa area, and breakfast service, very very good indeed. I loved my eggs benedict or omelets every morning, with a very attentive service from its personnel. Staff very helpfull and welcoming every time i had the oportunity to interact with them. I truly recommend this hotel when visiting this lovely city, and in terms of cost-benefits just tumbs up! (They might consider a renovation of rooms decor and facilities to make them a little more cosier and comfortable).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darnok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,528 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,852 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £85 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing