We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff ,great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #34 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Great staff ,great location”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My partner and I stayed for two nights a good few months back and found the Waterloo to be a great place to stay for a short break.The check in was trouble free ,front of house were very helpful and pleasant. The rooms were clean modern and quite spacious as was expected from previous visit. If I have one complaint about the hotel it is the price of a glass of house wine £6 ......come off it ,as someone who used to run a bar believe me that mark up is staggering ,no wonder the bar was empty....once bitten as the saying goes!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Stephen a,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in November. We are delighted to hear that you found the check in to be trouble free and the front of house staff to be very helpful and pleasant – we will be sure to pass your feedback onto the team. Thank you also for your feedback with regards to our pricing in the bar. This is something that we are currently reviewing and your feedback will be taken into consideration as part of this review. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,497
    1,470
    309
    82
    28
See reviews for
734
2,194
205
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights as my husband was running the marathon. Our room had everything we needed, staff were lovely and breakfast excellent - they even put on extra breakfast treats for marathon runners which was a nice touch. Perfect location if you are visiting the city centre.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear P D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We hope that your Husband has fully recovered from his marathon run – well done to him! We are really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and will be sure to pass your feedback onto the staff and Chefs. We hope to be able to welcome you both back for the Edinburgh Marathon 2015 if not before.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Close to Waverley Station in the centre of Edinburgh, clean, friendly and helpful staff, fabulous breakfast that kept us going well into the afternoon and we booked with a deal so it was excellent value. Always recommend to friends visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz-Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Kaz-Ash,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay primarily due to the friendly and helpful staff and our breakfast. It’s great to hear it kept you going all day. We will pass this feedback onto our team members. Thank you for recommending us to your friends – we hope we can welcome you and your friends to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District Uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

another great weekend stay. Apex Waterloo is a great location for site seeing and shopping , while still being quiet. Very short walk from Waverly station. Great service, great food and spa faculties are heavenly! See you next year !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivlakedistrictUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear vivlakedistrictUk.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you found the service and food great and that you found the time to enjoy our spa facilities. We will be sure to pass your feedback onto the team. As you also said we are very lucky to be so central and close to all of Edinburgh’s main attractions and shopping areas. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed for 4 nights. Chosen mainly for nearness of train station. Did not have any meals but I did enjoy some scotch at the bar. Excellent location for sightseeing. Took the nearby Air Bus to the airport for flight home. The hotel is very modern. We had a tub and a wonderful separate shower. Room was standard sized for Europe. No AC. We got them to open the windows for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Cobbie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you found the location of the hotel excellent for sightseeing – we are very lucky to be so central and close to all of Edinburgh’s main attractions. We are glad to hear you enjoyed a good Scotch in the bar – when in Scotland as they say! We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

You enter this hotel on the fifth floor and my room was in the depths of darkness on the 2nd floor. A well sized but dark and dingy room with a tiny window letting in very little natural light. You had to have the lights on all the time.The TV was placed in a alcove and could not be watch from the bed comfortably. The service was good and courteous but there was a queue each morning for breakfast and seating was difficult.

Room Tip: do not go below the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabletopeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Tabletopeater,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are sorry to see that you found your room to be dark due to its location in the Hotel and that we did not have the opportunity to resolve this for you during your stay. On a positive note we are pleased to see that you found the service to be good and courteous and we will be sure to pass this on to all of our team members. Please do let us know if you are planning to return in order that we may make a note of your feedback on your next reservation. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed for two nights. Rooms were great with everything we needed. Clean and tidy, staff were polite and helpful and the breakfast was first class! Handy location for exploring city centre on foot. Spa was a little disappointing though, seems a bit claustrophobic as did the corridors which have no natural light at all. We got used to it quickly so this is the only reason we give it a 'very good' and not an 'excellent' overall.

Room Tip: Don't choose it if the spa is a high priority for your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terminator128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Terminator 128

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you found breakfast first class. We will be sure to pass this onto the breakfast team. We are sorry to see you found the spa and corridors claustrophobic and hope that this did not detract from your overall stay. We have recently expanded our Spa to include a relaxation room and another treatment room and hope that you had the opportunity to experience these while you were with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
965 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,031 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing