We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant hotel where the staff are so friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel where the staff are so friendly”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We only spent one night at the Apex Waterloo Place hotel but wished we could have spent more time there. Up on the eighth floor our room was quiet, light and airy and well appointed.
Our rate included both dinner and breakfast in the restaurant, while it was busy we never felt rushed and the staff were attentive and paced the meal beautifully. The dinner menu on offer was their theatre menu which still offered plenty of choice. For breakfast they offered the full menu as part of the package.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

We would love to spend more time at this hotel and Edinburgh

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neva_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Neva_home,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see you found our staff very friendly and helpful. We will ensure that your feedback is passed onto the team. We are also pleased to see that you enjoyed your dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and that you found the pre theatre menu to have plenty of choice. We would love to welcome you back again and hope to see you soon.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,472
    1,448
    301
    81
    26
See reviews for
723
2,172
201
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night with my partner on a night away from Dundee. Couldn't fault a thing. Hotel and staff were perfect. Loved the decor in the rooms with high ceilings. Will definitely return here soon!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Sarah G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see you had a brilliant stay and that you found your stay to be perfect. We will ensure that your feedback is passed onto the team.

Thank you again and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My second visit to this hotel confirms it as a favourite. The decor is elegant, contemporary and calm. The location is just off the end of Prince's Street, 5 minutes walk from the Scottish Government building (St Andrew's House), just by Calton Hill. It's only 10 minutes away from Prince's Street shops, the theatre and Waverley Station, and close to the Old Town (approx 15 minutes walk). So it's central, but just off the main drag and therefore quiet. Very friendly, helpful staff (they gave me a free toothpaste kit as I'd forgotten to bring mine). Excellent £15 breakfast (e.g. smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, vegetarian options, full Scottish breakfast plus extensive buffet). It has a small pool, spa and gym. This isn't a hotel for views - they're mostly of nearby buildings. I'd recommend booking a room on one of the higher floors (7 plus) to get the light. I paid £110 a night for a room on a lower floor (3rd) which was a bit gloomy but fine, with a nice modern bathroom - simple, with lovely Elemis toiletries (bath plus shower cubicle). Free wifi with a very easy connection. I didn't eat in the restaurant - instead I enjoyed a meal at Howie's restaurant almost next door (charming bistro style restaurant, with Scottish specialities such as Cullen Skink, salmon etc). I've stayed at the Apex twice on business trips but would choose it for a holiday too. I like the elegant, boutique hotel atmosphere (although it has 186 rooms so is large) and the great location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShanM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear ShanM77,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent second visit. We are delighted to have been able to welcome you back and thank you for letting us know that we are a favourite hotel of yours. We are pleased to see that you like our boutique hotel atmosphere and that you would choose us for a leisure break as well as for business. It’s also great to see that you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful. We will ensure that your feedback is passed onto the team. Thank you again and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I found this hotel through tripadvisor and was so satisfied with our experience. We stayed five nights for a vacation in late June. The location is fabulous - short walk from the Waverley train station, short walk to Old Town and the Royal Mile, short walk to New Town, right across the street from Rabbie's tours - just perfect! Our room was large and comfortable. The bathroom was roomy and had lots of space to put things. The bed was very comfortable, the pillows were good. Also, the room was relatively quiet at night, which was a good thing considering its location. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. I accidentally prepaid for breakfast every day and it was a great mistake to have made. The breakfast was excellent! and really fast, for cooked to order food. You could get in and out in 20 minutes or so, and have great food. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay here again next time we visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Laura D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see you had a great stay. Our Breakfast Chefs will be made up to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and we are very pleased to see that you found our team helpful and pleasant. We will ensure that your feedback is passed onto the team. Thank you again and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights. The hotel is situated quite near Waverley Station and in the quieter end of Princess Street so you are not too disturbed by the noise of traffic, and is a short walk to all the main shops. From the minute you arrive you can be assured of a warm welcome from the staff who will help in any way they can. The room was very clean and comfortable. If you have the time you should try one of the spa treatments which will leave you totally relaxed and of course enjoy a swim in the pool. All in all an excellent hotel where the staff make it a priority to ensure you have a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Shirley P,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review about our staff and your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay. We are also very pleased to hear you enjoyed your spa treatment and relaxing in the pool. We will be sure to pass your lovely feedback onto all of our team.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Traveling with friends, our stay at the Apex Hotel Waterloo was fantastic. All the staff was friendly and helpful from the minute we arrived until our departure. We had rooms close by on the 7th floor. Could get to Old Town in a ten minute walk and loved going up to Carlton Hill, which is right outside the hotel. Close to shopping on Princess street as well. Loved the tea kettle in the room.....will stay at the Apex anytime I am able!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Wanderlust053,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you and your friends enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff friendly and helpful throughout your visit. We are also pleased to see you enjoyed our central location and that you found breakfast bountiful.

We hope to welcome you all back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A very good hotel in a great location. We stayed here at the end of June for 3 nights. We had 2 rooms for our family of 4. Each room was clean, well appointed, air conditioned and had Free Wi-Fi that worked well. The hotel is located in a great location for exploring the city of Edinburgh. The staff at the Apex Waterloo was very friendly as was the staff at Elliot's restaurant. While we didn't utilize the restaurant for Dinner, we did eat there 3 mornings for Breakfast. The staff at the restaurant were very friendly and the food was very good. Overall I recommend this hotel. Next time we venture to Edinburgh I won't give a second thought as to where to stay..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel200855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Travel200855,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay.

We are very lucky to be in such a central location in the city centre and we are pleased that you found our location great for exploring Edinburgh’s many attractions. It’s good to see you found our staff very friendly throughout the hotel and that you enjoyed breakfast in Elliots restaurant. We are also pleased that you found the free WIFI worked well during your stay. Thank you for recommending our Hotel to others.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,307 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#27 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing