We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #32 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel has a superb location, right at the end of Princes Street, 5 minutes walk from the stores (Parking at the Q Omni right behind it, hotel will give 15% discount on parking). The hotel is modern, clean and the staff are extremely polite and helpful. I was going to book through a site like last minute.com, however I noticed that the hotel advertises that they will match any rate, so I called them direct, the lady was extremely helpful, she did match the cheapest price I had seen online and as it was my husbands birthday she put a note in my booking to upgrade if possible. We did indeed receive the upgrade to a small suite - it was superb, on the 7th floor with a great view all the way to the water!. (I recommend you ask for a high floor as the traffic is noisy) the room was spacious, immaculately clean and the bathroom was huge with a large walk-in shower and a stand alone bath. Elemis toiletries were suppled and also there was tea/coffee making facilites, fridge, A/c, biscuits, pringle crisps and sweets. The one huge let down was the breakfast, it is £15 each for the full scottish breakfast, the food is all stone cold, although served on red hot plates, the sausages are not cooked and insipid and the rest looked like it had been made hours and was congealed, the obviously they do not make it to order, so avoid this at all costs - two doors down there is a lovely deli that does breakfast, and next to that an italian restaurant that also does breakfast, for about £5 each. We would definately stay at the hotel again, but just forget breakfast! For lunch I recommed (in the summer) the Rose Garden, directly on the back of The Dome (at the rear of M&S), food fab and great setting in a cute courtyard. For Dinner I highly recommend the Maison Bleue (Victoria Street, Grassmarket) food amazing but you need to book. For cocktails 'The Dome' is a must, its not cheap but the setting is amazing and the atmosphere wonderful, old fashioned style and class!.

Room Tip: High floor to avoid noisy traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hyacinth2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Hyacinth2013,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about your recent stay with us at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff extremely polite and helpful. We will ensure your feedback is passed onto the team. We are also pleased to see you enjoyed our central location, the room you were allocated along with the amenities provided. We were disappointed to see that you found breakfast did not meet your expectations and we will be investigating your feedback further.

Thank you for pointing out that we price match and we would ask any future guests to do the same as you and contact us directly with regards to this prior to booking.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,020 - 2,026 of 4,550 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great location being at the end of Princess Street! The airport bus drop off point just 5 mins walk and it's own exit to train station!
We had a room at the back so no view but probably a bit quieter than it may have been on the front.
All the tour buses were just around the corner, no more than 7/8 mins walk away although the Royal Mile, Castle, Old Town and Museums (free!) were all within very easy reach!
We ate in the hotel restaurant from their set menu. I had the pork which was very good although a few vegetables would have been welcome. The chocolate cheesecake was amazing!
Take swimwear as the free pool, sauna and steam rooms are a great free facility!
Already looking forward to another visit and will be hard pressed to find another hotel better suited to our needs!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Twosheffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

DearTwosheffs,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel. We are delighted to see that you had a great city break. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our location and our close proximity to Edinburgh’s main attractions. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal in Elliots restaurant and will be sure to pass your positive feedback onto our chefs. Please do not hesitate to ask for extra vegetables on your next visit should you find you need them. We are pleased to see you managed to get time to relax in the pool during your stay.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The location and staff were terrific. Our room, though beautiful was near the pool and smelled like chlorine our entire stay. I think our biggest issue was we had booked two rooms and though our bathroom was by far the nicest we had seen in all our travels, the second room had a handicap bathroom instead. A handicap bathroom is fabulous if you are handicapped but this one was very inconvenient otherwise. The open shower allowed the entire bath to get wet. This made dressing and blow drying etc impossible. Our family was going to just make due with it but as we were paying the same for both rooms, we certainly wanted them to have a room as nice as ours...sans chlorine smell. The hotel did switch the room for the 2nd night of our stay. Lastly, breakfast was very expensive compared to everywhere else we visited.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Mary V,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel and for providing us with such valuable feedback. We were disappointed to see that whilst you found your stay better than average you did not find it outstanding primarily due to one of your two rooms being an adapted bedroom. We were pleased to note that our Guest Services Team were able to allocate you an alternative room for the second night of your stay.
Our staff constantly strive to exceed all our guests’ expectations and we are delighted to see that you found our team terrific along with enjoying our central location in Edinburgh.

We do hope that despite the initial issue you raised with your bedroom allocation that you will consider returning again in the near future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at the Apex Waterloo in late May on a two week trip around the UK

The week before we stayed at the Apex Temple Court in London and liked that very much, so when we arrived at the Waterloo we were expecting the same...but were sadly disappointed.

Summary as follows:

Rooms
The beds were comfortable but the rooms were really lacking for the price tag. Ours was down a labyrinth of a corridors which felt like an old addition but rather than being quaint it just felt worn down. The washroom was damaged, tiles chipped, tile grout dirty, wood counters dinged and worn out. The air conditioning as very noisy, the room was noisy, neighbours, door slamming (closers need to be adjusted). Shower was very big but water pressure was not great, water was not overly hot. The room faced a courtyard which looked pretty and was quiet but when you opened the window for fresh air you could smell the fish and chip grease from the kitchen exhaust near by. The room was often not cleaned until very late.

Bar
The bar was probably the best part of the hotel. The service really depended who was on staff but they all mixed a good drink and the space was comfortable to sit in and enjoy people watching

Restaurant
There was one in the hotel. We only ate breakfast there. Service was really lacking- not for lack of trying but because it was crazy busy. There was a sign in the elevator which encouraged guests to eat later as a result, but the problem was most of the buffet was pretty picked over. If you ordered a la carte, it was 50-50 if you would get your order. The food quality was a squeak above average.

Location
This is a plus of the hotel, its very close to the train station, across from Rabbies Tour company and close to shopping etc

Pool
The pool looked amazing on the hotel website so I was very excited about using it but when I got down there one evening it was so messy with water everywhere, towels, and generally unkept looking...so it was not very enticing to jump into. So I went back to the room.


Front Desk
I am mentioning the front desk as there was on staff member in particular who should not be at the front desk. She was extremely curt to us when we had simple requests like, are there any good restaurants around.... But the creme de la creme for me was watching a poor woman try to ask her for a different room in the most courteous way she could- noting that when she booked a room with two single beds.... that they would not be touching....and that she would pay to be upgraded. The woman at the desk was so incredibly rude and condescending to her it was shocking. Rather than help her she just left frustrated.....

I suggest you keep looking unless you are there for one night and you want something close to the train station

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kikivancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear kikivancouver,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel and for providing us with such valuable feedback.

We would like to apologise that on this occasion your stay did not live up to your expectations, primarily due to your disappointment with regards to the up keep of the room you were allocated and the housekeeping service during your stay, breakfast service, the pool area having not been serviced and the service you received from one of our front desk team. Thank you for bringing these to our attention and we will ensure that the upkeep issues in the room you were allocated are rectified and ensure our public area cleaners are servicing the pool area on a more regular basis.

As you can see from other reviews we receive many positive comments with regards to our staff, especially those on the front desk and therefore we are disappointed to see that on this occasion you found one of our staff members to be curt. We will be investigating your feedback further and will take this opportunity to make improvements where required.

With regards to the delay in your room not being serviced until late we provide “Please Refresh our Room” signs in all bedrooms in order that housekeeping can be alerted to refresh your room as a priority whilst you are out. Please accept our sincere apologies that you were not made aware of these and for the delay you experienced in your room being serviced.

With regards to breakfast we replenish the breakfast buffet throughout breakfast service especially during busy periods. Our staff constantly strive to exceed all our guests’ expectations and ensure that the buffet remains well stocked and all A la carte orders are taken and delivered correctly. We apologise that you found the buffet picked over during your visit and the service lacking due to breakfast being so busy. We will look into our staffing levels for the future to see where improvements can be made.

We do hope that despite this you will consider giving us a chance to redeem ourselves by staying at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel again in the future. Should you wish to discuss your feedback further please do not hesitate to contact me via email: natalie.watts@apexhotels.co.uk.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We booked the Apex for our first wedding anniversary. One of the reasons for choosing this hotel was down to the location, spa and pool.

The hotel is fantastic, beds very comfortable, air con, TV with plenty of Channels to choose from, great views... All in all a great room.

The pool, sauna and steam room are all great and we both enjoyed using the facilities.

The bar was a little expensive £10 for a pint of lager and a gin and lemonade so probably better not drinking at the hotel.

Overall a very nice hotel which we would happily come and visit again.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Richy1880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Richy 1880,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about your recent stay with us at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel fantastic. It’s good to see you found time to enjoy our leisure facilities, they are great for relaxing in after a long day sightseeing.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We both had an excellent long-weekend break based at the Apex. Ouroom (superior double) was great and the hotel's location is just about perfect. We had dinner in the hotel on our first night which was very pleasant. Only a few minor gripes: bar service can be very slow, especially if they're doing cocktails, the air-con in our room was a bit noisy, our room was not made up until well past midday on our first day, and for three mornings on the trot my breakfast bacon (one slice per serving) was burned. On the plus side the staff were always attentive and professional. We look forward to a return stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TJM6528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear TJM6528,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel. We are delighted to see that you had an excellent weekend break. It’s great to hear that you found our staff to be professional and attentive and we will ensure your feedback is passed onto the team. We are very lucky to be in such a central location in the city centre and therefore close to Edinburgh’s many attractions. Thank you for your constructive feedback with regards to the bar service, breakfast and housekeeping service – we will ensure improvements are made as required.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We absolutely loved this hotel, as well as its wonderful staff. We originally planned to stay only one night, but knew as soon as we walked in that we wanted to stay longer. Our room was on the 7th floor, in the older wing. It had a beautiful floor to ceiling window and every amenity one could want. OUr daughter and my sister-in-law were on the 7th floor in the new wing, and also were delighted with their room. We ended up asking to add a night onto our stay, and the hotel staff was able to come up with a discounted rate. The breakfast was terrific and the location could not be beat...just steps from the train station. Best of all were the staff--desk staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, as was the concierge. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank thekma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear thekma,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your recent stay with us at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel. We are delighted to see that you and your family enjoyed your first night so much that you chose to extend your stay. Our staff constantly strive to exceed all our guests’ expectations so it’s great to hear that you found our staff wonderful and we will ensure your feedback is passed onto the team. We are very lucky to be in such a central location in the city centre and we are pleased that you found our location great for exploring Edinburgh’s many attractions. It’s also terrific to see that you enjoyed breakfast in Elliots restaurant.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,595 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,884 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £88 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing