We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Recommended!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Spent 4 nights in a Superior room w breakfast early in July. Hotel is well located, and as Edinburgh is a rather small city, we took the tram from the airport and hopped of in the city centre. A 6-7 minute walk from there and to the hotel.

Rooms weere decent sized and the bathrooms were large qith separate bathtub and shower. I loved the bathroom amenities. Great products!

The breakfast was excellent and the service was very good. Quick, efficient and always with a smile. We also had a dinner at the Elliot restaurant, which tasted fantastic. Good selection of wines to go with the menus.

We'll stay here again.

Room Tip: Some of the Superior rooms have partial view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kn1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear kn1901,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel.

We are delighted to see that you found the hotel well located with regards to the new tram system and ease of travel to and from the airport. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay along with breakfast and dinner. We will ensure your feedback is passed onto the team. It’s also great to see you enjoyed our lovely Elemis toiletries.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,503
    1,472
    309
    82
    28
See reviews for
737
2,197
206
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

2 minutes from train station - perfect located and walking distance of major attractions. Great staff, everything was wonderful. would definitely return. Really enjoyed breakfast, good selection for all tastes and many vegetarian options. Highly recommended. Ask for a room above reception level (6+)

Room Tip: floor 6 and above are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trickytracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear trickytracy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed our central location and breakfast as well as finding our staff great. We will ensure your feedback is passed onto the team.

Thank you for recommending us to others, we find the word of mouth is often the best form of advertising and we appreciate your taking the time to tell others about your stay.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langhorne, pa
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We chose the Waterloo over some of the other Apex hotels in Edinburgh as they have AC! While it was not hot when we were there we were glad we had AC circulating the air. The rooms themselves were spacious, clean and comfortable with nice amenities. Bathroom was very large for a European hotel with a great shower. Staff was generally helpful and super nice; only minor glitch when we checked in they didn't seem to know anything about the "gift bag" left for us as we were there for a wedding. Easily solved though. Breakfast was plentiful; coffee too strong my American tastes. Would recommend this hotel over the others in the chain.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear tammilip,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel. We are delighted to see that you would recommend our hotel to others. We are pleased to see that you found the AC a positive feature of your room as well as finding your room comfortable, spacious and clean.

Thank you for your calling our staff super nice and we are delighted to see you found breakfast plentiful. We will ensure your feedback is passed onto the team.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and can't fault it.

The location was great and the room was very comfortable and spacious.

The staff were excellent, so all in all a great stay with no complaints.

If you're thinking of going to Edinburgh I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacDrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear MacDrum,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review about your recent stay with us at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff excellent. We will ensure your feedback is passed onto the team. We are also pleased to see you enjoyed our central location and your allocated room comfortable and spacious.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here in May for my Birthday for 2 nights and, so far, has been the best hotel experience in Edinburgh. We booked a Deluxe Double room, which was on offer from the hotel website for a reasonable price. We arrived at the hotel early and had hoped to get checked-in however our room wasn't ready which was fine, they kept our bags and off we went. The hotel then phoned us to tell us when the room was ready which was a nice touch. The hotel staff were very friendly, helpful and polite upon check-in.

The Room

There was easy access to the room via the lifts - we were on the 7th floor, which is actually 2 floors above reception because there is access to the hotel from Waterloo Place (5th floor) and also Leith Street. The room was spacious, clean, all furnishings were well maintained. The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. We had a nice surprise in the room, while I had not informed the hotel we were there for my birthday they had obviously checked the booking where I had entered my Date of Birth and they had left a box of chocolates and birthday card in the room. Lovely. We also had a mini fridge with still and sparkling water, an espresso machine, Pringles and Jelly Beans - all of which were complimentary. We were also given a £10 voucher for the bar downstairs as a thank you for booking via the hotel website directly. The TV had plenty of channels, not that we watched much and also had sky sports and we had a great view over Waterloo place and down Princes street. Also - free and speedy Wi-Fi! Bonus!

The Bathroom

The main issue I have with bathrooms in hotels is when they do not clean them thoroughly enough, this bathroom however was pristine, of a good size, bath with enough hot water to fill it and separate shower with plenty of water pressure, all the toiletries you could need and of course the free duck!

The Bar

Was a lovely area to sit and have a quiet drink, however we found it a little expensive - we were on a budget though. We cannot comment on the restaurant as we never ate there. We also did not avail of the spa/pool facilities so again we cannot comment.

The location of the hotel was a huge plus - within walking distance to pretty much everything and very close to Waverley station. We also walked to and up Arthur's seat, where my partner proposed!

Check - out was very busy and we felt we were rushed out a little bit - hardly a massive complaint, there were only 2 members of staff on duty.

We would definitely stay here again in the future and look forward to returning, it will be remembered as the place we stayed when we got engaged. Thank you Apex!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank targaryenfire_blood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear sarahirishgirl

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review with regards to your recent stay at Aoex Waterloo Place Hotel and more importantly congratulations on your engagement! We are delighted that we will be remembered as the place you stayed when you got engaged. Thank you for your feedback with regards to our staff being very friendly, helpful and polite. We will ensure your feedback is passed on to the team. We are pleased that you found your room to be clean and your bathroom pristine.

Good luck with all the wedding planning and the big day itself – don’t forget to send us some pictures! We hope to welcome you back for the anniversary of your engagement if not before.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel has a superb location, right at the end of Princes Street, 5 minutes walk from the stores (Parking at the Q Omni right behind it, hotel will give 15% discount on parking). The hotel is modern, clean and the staff are extremely polite and helpful. I was going to book through a site like last minute.com, however I noticed that the hotel advertises that they will match any rate, so I called them direct, the lady was extremely helpful, she did match the cheapest price I had seen online and as it was my husbands birthday she put a note in my booking to upgrade if possible. We did indeed receive the upgrade to a small suite - it was superb, on the 7th floor with a great view all the way to the water!. (I recommend you ask for a high floor as the traffic is noisy) the room was spacious, immaculately clean and the bathroom was huge with a large walk-in shower and a stand alone bath. Elemis toiletries were suppled and also there was tea/coffee making facilites, fridge, A/c, biscuits, pringle crisps and sweets. The one huge let down was the breakfast, it is £15 each for the full scottish breakfast, the food is all stone cold, although served on red hot plates, the sausages are not cooked and insipid and the rest looked like it had been made hours and was congealed, the obviously they do not make it to order, so avoid this at all costs - two doors down there is a lovely deli that does breakfast, and next to that an italian restaurant that also does breakfast, for about £5 each. We would definately stay at the hotel again, but just forget breakfast! For lunch I recommed (in the summer) the Rose Garden, directly on the back of The Dome (at the rear of M&S), food fab and great setting in a cute courtyard. For Dinner I highly recommend the Maison Bleue (Victoria Street, Grassmarket) food amazing but you need to book. For cocktails 'The Dome' is a must, its not cheap but the setting is amazing and the atmosphere wonderful, old fashioned style and class!.

Room Tip: High floor to avoid noisy traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyacinth2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Hyacinth2013,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about your recent stay with us at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff extremely polite and helpful. We will ensure your feedback is passed onto the team. We are also pleased to see you enjoyed our central location, the room you were allocated along with the amenities provided. We were disappointed to see that you found breakfast did not meet your expectations and we will be investigating your feedback further.

Thank you for pointing out that we price match and we would ask any future guests to do the same as you and contact us directly with regards to this prior to booking.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great location being at the end of Princess Street! The airport bus drop off point just 5 mins walk and it's own exit to train station!
We had a room at the back so no view but probably a bit quieter than it may have been on the front.
All the tour buses were just around the corner, no more than 7/8 mins walk away although the Royal Mile, Castle, Old Town and Museums (free!) were all within very easy reach!
We ate in the hotel restaurant from their set menu. I had the pork which was very good although a few vegetables would have been welcome. The chocolate cheesecake was amazing!
Take swimwear as the free pool, sauna and steam rooms are a great free facility!
Already looking forward to another visit and will be hard pressed to find another hotel better suited to our needs!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twosheffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
DearTwosheffs,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel. We are delighted to see that you had a great city break. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our location and our close proximity to Edinburgh’s main attractions. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal in Elliots restaurant and will be sure to pass your positive feedback onto our chefs. Please do not hesitate to ask for extra vegetables on your next visit should you find you need them. We are pleased to see you managed to get time to relax in the pool during your stay.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
968 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,043 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing