We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Commonwealth Games trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #32 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Commonwealth Games trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Had a super time in Edinburgh and travelling over to Glasgow for the Commonwealth Games. Loved the hotel. Great staff with very good people skills. Lovely breakfast and used the restaurant for dinner too which was lovely. Great ice cream down the road on the corner at Martones. Small but lovely pool.
No complaints from me

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teerays M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Teerays M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review with regards to your recent visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel.

We were delighted to see you had a super time in Edinburgh and at the Commonwealth Games. Our team constantly strive to exceed all our guests’ expectations - we will be sure to pass your positive feedback on to all of the team including our restaurant and kitchen team with regards to breakfast and dinner.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,445
    1,425
    295
    80
    26
See reviews for
710
2,146
198
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrodsburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

perfect location for walking around Edinburgh and also worked out well for us because we used Rabbies as a excursion company and pick up was right outside front door. Do ask for room above 5th floor. Many restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentucky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Kentucky123,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review with regards to your recent visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel.

We were delighted to see you found our location perfect for walking around Edinburgh, we are very lucky to be situated so close to the many attractions Edinburgh has to offer.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I had stayed at the Apex Waterloo a few years back and when we needed some somewhere to stay in Edinburgh this time, it was my first choice. Its not the cheapest, but the location is great, yet still quiet, the facilities are fantastic and the staff welcoming. We enjoyed a great evening meal in the restaurant and the Breakfast is one on the best I've experienced in a hotel, which lets face it they are normally pretty poor. So if you are staying in Edinburgh the Apex Waterloo Place should be top of your list.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have particular great views, but they are all of a good standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Computastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Computastar,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review with regards to your recent visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel.

We were delighted to welcome you back and to see that you had an excellent stay. We are pleased you found our team welcoming and that you find our location great.

Thank you also for your fantastic feedback about Elliots Restaurant for both Dinner and Breakfast – we will be sure to pass this onto the team. Thank you for recommending us to others.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Super location, super service. Can't do better in Edinburgh. We had a group of twenty and all were happy. A woman met us out on the street (our bus) and carried all our bags in. Strong little woman! Room was spacious for Europe.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolE451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear CarolE451,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review with regards to your recent visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel.

We are delighted to see that you had a great stay and found the location and service from our team super. We will be sure to pass your feedback onto Linda our Concierge – she is very strong! Thank you for taking the time to mention her in your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We visited the hotel at the weekend as part of a murder mystery night for my friends hen. After being treated terribly at another venue we went to the apex early...the service we received was truly outstanding. The bar staff were extremely accommodating, despite there being about 25 of us and went above and beyond the call of duty. Strongly recommend and excellent location.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank leslog23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear leslog23,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review with regards to your recent visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel and Elliots Bar.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your murder mystery evening and that you found the service in Elliots Bar outstanding. Thank you for recommending us to others.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here over xmas and had a wonderful time. Though Edinburgh was very cold, the hotel was cosy and in a perfect location. Close to shops, queen street, the gardens, scot monument, carlton hill- it's really the heart of edinburgh.
We also walked to the castle and saw lots of the city on this walk.
We had trouble as our flights were cancelled on boxing day due to the storms at the time- the staff were extremely helpful calling up the airlines and trying to find alternative means of transport (trains etc) as we had tickets to a boxing day EPL game in London that afternoon.... we made it to the game about 3 minutes before kickoff!!
Great hotel, location and city in Edinburgh!!

Room Tip: The city side of the building actually has a huge drop off next to it from the roadside, so if your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will5024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Wil5024,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review with regards to your Christmas stay with us at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and would return on your next visit to Edinburgh. We are sorry to see you had issues with cancelled flights due to adverse weather conditions; however we are pleased to see you found our staff extremely helpful in finding alternative means of transport to London.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

After looking at lots of hotels in Edinburgh I finally settled on Waterloo Place for a suprise trip for my partners birthday. We were definitely not disappointed with our stay.

The reception team were really helpful and had even put chocolates and free drink vouchers in the room for my partners birthday which was a lovely gesture. The room was spacious and very well looked after, the bathroom was bigger than expected too and had fab Elemis toiletries too which were replenished daily.

It was great to have a pool, steam room and sauna on site. The pool is small but it's nice to have and the area around the pool is nice with chairs and loungers to relax in.

The bar and restaurant are nice and modern like the rest of the hotel and the food we had was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear GLP82,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review with regards to your recent stay with us at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and hope that your partner enjoyed their surprise birthday trip. Thank you for your feedback with regards to our Reception Team and also the food in Elliots Restaurant – we will be sure to pass your feedback on to our team. It’s great to see you had time to enjoy our leisure facilities.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,250 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,630 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#27 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing