We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #35 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Stanthorpe Qld Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The Apex Waterloo is in a great location for all those who wish to explore Edinburgh.
The room are well appointed and modern. Our bathroom had a separate large shower and bath. The standard room also included a king sized bed.
The staff are efficient and friendly- especially in the restaurant at breakfast.
The Royal Mile is within a few minutes walk as are a large variety of shops and restaurants. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank greenlds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear greenlds,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review with regards to your recent visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel.

We are delighted to see you found our location great for exploring Edinburgh. We are also pleased to see you found your room to be well appointed and modern. Thank you also for your positive feedback with regards to our team – especially the staff at breakfast – we will be sure to pass your feedback on to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,552
    1,501
    315
    86
    31
See reviews for
762
2,234
210
457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was our second stay with Apex, we were there 4 years ago right after they had opened. The room is a little small by American standards, but the furnishings are very well maintained and the bathroom was very modern. Extremely friendly staff, great location right at the New Town end of the North Bridge makes it a much more affordable alternative to staying on the Royal Mile, which is only a 5 minute walk. Also right next to Calton Hill and the National Monument, which is a great place to go with a scoop of homemade ice cream from Martone's next door in the evenings. Also very convenient to the train station.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BalooSPE76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear BalooSPE76,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review with regards to your recent return visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel.

We were delighted to see you found our team extremely friendly, your room well maintained and your bathroom modern. Thank you for also informing others of our excellent city centre location and close proximity to Waverly Train station. We are pleased to see you had time to enjoy the view from Calton Hill.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Had a super time in Edinburgh and travelling over to Glasgow for the Commonwealth Games. Loved the hotel. Great staff with very good people skills. Lovely breakfast and used the restaurant for dinner too which was lovely. Great ice cream down the road on the corner at Martones. Small but lovely pool.
No complaints from me

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teerays M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Teerays M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review with regards to your recent visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel.

We were delighted to see you had a super time in Edinburgh and at the Commonwealth Games. Our team constantly strive to exceed all our guests’ expectations - we will be sure to pass your positive feedback on to all of the team including our restaurant and kitchen team with regards to breakfast and dinner.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrodsburg, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

perfect location for walking around Edinburgh and also worked out well for us because we used Rabbies as a excursion company and pick up was right outside front door. Do ask for room above 5th floor. Many restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentucky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Kentucky123,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review with regards to your recent visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel.

We were delighted to see you found our location perfect for walking around Edinburgh, we are very lucky to be situated so close to the many attractions Edinburgh has to offer.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I had stayed at the Apex Waterloo a few years back and when we needed some somewhere to stay in Edinburgh this time, it was my first choice. Its not the cheapest, but the location is great, yet still quiet, the facilities are fantastic and the staff welcoming. We enjoyed a great evening meal in the restaurant and the Breakfast is one on the best I've experienced in a hotel, which lets face it they are normally pretty poor. So if you are staying in Edinburgh the Apex Waterloo Place should be top of your list.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have particular great views, but they are all of a good standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Computastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Computastar,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review with regards to your recent visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel.

We were delighted to welcome you back and to see that you had an excellent stay. We are pleased you found our team welcoming and that you find our location great.

Thank you also for your fantastic feedback about Elliots Restaurant for both Dinner and Breakfast – we will be sure to pass this onto the team. Thank you for recommending us to others.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Super location, super service. Can't do better in Edinburgh. We had a group of twenty and all were happy. A woman met us out on the street (our bus) and carried all our bags in. Strong little woman! Room was spacious for Europe.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolE451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear CarolE451,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review with regards to your recent visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel.

We are delighted to see that you had a great stay and found the location and service from our team super. We will be sure to pass your feedback onto Linda our Concierge – she is very strong! Thank you for taking the time to mention her in your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We visited the hotel at the weekend as part of a murder mystery night for my friends hen. After being treated terribly at another venue we went to the apex early...the service we received was truly outstanding. The bar staff were extremely accommodating, despite there being about 25 of us and went above and beyond the call of duty. Strongly recommend and excellent location.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank leslog23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear leslog23,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review with regards to your recent visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel and Elliots Bar.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your murder mystery evening and that you found the service in Elliots Bar outstanding. Thank you for recommending us to others.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,808 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,462 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing