We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have recently returned from a seven-day stay at Apex Waterloo. The hotel is in an excellent location; it is just one block off a major intersection but is not on a crowded street. It is less than a five-minute walk from Waverly Station, which is the city's train station and where the bus from the airport stops. One can walk anywhere from the hotel.

The hotel staff were professional, friendly and helpful. I found Linda, a concierge, to be incredibly helpful. Our room was stylish, very clean and spacious.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TigerDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear TigerDiner
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.
It's great to hear you enjoyed your week staying here and that the team looked after you so well. Thanks for the positive comments about Linda. Her local knowledge is fantastic and she loves sharing tips on what to see and where to go.
I hope we can welcome you back in the future.
All the best
Alan Harbisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,472
    1,448
    301
    81
    26
See reviews for
723
2,172
201
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great location! Attentive and well trained staff. Nice rooms and very good breakfast. Excellent fitness facilities!!! We thoroughly enjoyed a great stay at this beautiful hotel. Would certainly stay there the next time we are in town. All staff are well trained for their roles from bar, housekeeping, front desk, restaurant and concierge. Only complaint was that elevators could not keep up with demand.

Room Tip: Front desk is on 5th floor. If you are on floors 1-4 you need to take the elevator down from recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Paul H,

Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review with regards to your recent visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel.

We are delighted to see that you found us the ideal Edinburgh HQ thanks to our location, staff, breakfast and leisure facilities. We are so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be sure to pass your excellent feedback onto our team as they constantly strive to exceed all our guests’ expectations.

We are delighted to see that you would stay again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, location excellent, minutes away from train station, food was excellent, we had both dinner and breakfast, a relaxed atmosphere, staff very friendly & helpful, nothing is a problem & service with a smile, will definitely re visit.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Hazel B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel.

We are delighted to see that you found our hotel fantastic, location and both dinner and breakfast excellent. We are also pleased to see that you found our team very friendly and helpful. It’s great to see that you will return – we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I could not imagine a better location: easy walking distance to everything we wanted to see, and on the same time just a little off the main street, sa as to be very nice and quiet. There was nothing that disturbed us at night! Nice, friendly staff, good breakfasts.
You pay for the location and the good rooms.
Very good food in the restaurant, and also less expensive.

Room Tip: The third floor, which is also the entrance floor is what we recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Elisabeth H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and found our location central yet quiet in the evenings despite the bustle of the Edinburgh Fringe Festival.

We are also pleased to see that you found our team nice and friendly and breakfast good. We are pleased to see you had time to enjoy a meal in Elliots restaurant and found the food to be very good – we will pass this feedback onto our Chefs.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We were so pleased with the warm welcome at the hotel at 10.30 am by Suki at the front desk. She was super friendly, told us we could already check into the room, which really helped after a long international flight, and gave us an upgraded room on the top floor. The room and the bathroom were very clean and nicely decorated. A big plus is how central the hotel is. You can walk anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Manon S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel.

Thank you for your lovely feedback with regards to the welcome you received from Suki one of our Guest Services Agents. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and found our location central and within easy walking distance of all the main Edinburgh attractions.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed for two nights as a 'couple' but were joined by son/wife/granddaughter staying in a nearby room. This was our first visit to Edinburgh and although the hotel is not in the absolute heart of the city and its attractions, it is certainly within easy walking distance of the main areas (even with a gammy leg). More than happy with location. Staff were very friendly and supportive - can't say how they would have coped with a problem because we didn't have one. The only conflict arose when we asked where we could go to get the baby's ready meal micro-waved - 'it was for them to do, not us - kindly hand it over and we shall bring it to you immediately' and they did. It appeared nothing was too much trouble.
Only possible down point - the corridors appeared to be too warm, although the bedroom air-conditioning seemed more that adequate for our needs. Then again - how often do you complain of being too hot, in this country?
Would certainly be our first port of call should there be a return to that city.

Room Tip: Upside down hotel. Front entry at street level but the geography of the are is such that the rooms e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Keith L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel.

We are delighted to see that we will be your first port of call should you return to Edinburgh. It’s great to see that you enjoyed your stay and found our location within easy walking distance of all the main Edinburgh attractions. We are pleased to see you found our team friendly and supportive and will ensure this is passed on to them.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I would have liked to write a very positive review but the Apex Waterloo Place has issues that need to be resolved. The rooms are very nice but if the weather is warm to hot the air conditioning is not sufficient. The staff was very pleasant and tried to help us with the warm room but the AC system was the problem. They supplied a small fan but that didn’t get the job done. Also, the AC turns off when you are not in the room. During our stay breakfast & dinner were included. The breakfast was good but the included dinner has issues. The full menu is not available for those with the included dinner, just the pre-theatre menu which has 4 entrees and the menu doesn’t change. You end up having to order the same entrée again if you’re there multiple nights. The location is excellent. Close to the train station and just 10 minutes from the Royal Mile.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHillLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear KHillLV

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your July stay with us at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel and for providing us with such valuable feedback.

We would like to apologise that on this occasion your stay did not live up to your expectations, primarily due to the AC unit not cooling your room sufficiently during your stay. We did experience some incredibly hot weather for Scotland during July and appreciate that this will have had an impact on the temperature of your room. Thank you for bringing the issue with the AC unit in your room to our attention in order that we can investigate and take required action.

In order to conserve energy and reduce our carbon footprint our AC units do switch off if you leave the room and remove your keycard from the key slot – however we are able to provide additional keys to keep in the slot in order to keep the AC running whilst you are out ensuring a sufficiently cool room on your return – we apologise you were not made aware of this during your stay.

With regards to your comments about dinner all guests on a dinner inclusive package are welcome to dine from the full A La Carte menu for an additional supplement, should they wish to do so - again we apologise if this was not communicated to you at the time of dining. We will look to rectify this for future guests.

On a positive note we are pleased to see that you found our staff pleasant and breakfast good.

We do hope that despite the issues you have highlighted that you will consider staying at Apex Waterloo Place again in the future and we hope to welcome you back soon.


Kindest Regards

Natalie Watts
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#83 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,308 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing