We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$605
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$488
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$439
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (5,001)
Filter reviews
5,001 results
Traveller rating
2,831
1,680
360
95
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,831
1,680
360
95
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselemis productstrain stationjelly beanssauna and steam roomwalk in showerrubber duckend of princes streetcalton hillsuperior roomroyal milespa facilitiesexcellent locationlovely hotelhotel barlarge bathroomcentral locationcity break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,384 - 2,389 of 5,001 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This property is great for walking to Royal Mile as it is just over the bridge from the Royal Mile. The tour bus stops are right across the street! Also, you can exit the property and turn right and walk to the town for shopping and restaurants.
The rooms are very well appointed and there is a great option for breakfast at the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanHarbisher, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Harry R
Great to hear our location worked for you during your visit last year. We are really well positioned for so many of the Edinburgh attractions.
I hope to welcome you back in the future.
All the best
Alan Harbisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed here during Festival week and although the price we paid for 2 nights was quite high it was more reasonable than lesser rated hotels in Edinburgh City. Reception staff were excellent. Very helpful and friendly. Rooms were of a good size and beds very comfortable. We did argue who was getting to keep the complimentary duck however!
Location was perfect for shops, omni centre etc. but was still quiet enough at night for a good nights sleep.
We had breakfast and again , although quite expensive at £15 per person, the food was delicious.
Spa and pool was lovely .
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would return the next time we travel to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avrilPerthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanHarbisher, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear avrilPerthshire
Many thanks for posting your review.
It sounds as though your daughter and yourself had a great time here in Edinburgh and found that Apex Waterloo was well located for everything you wanted to do and places you wished to visit. No need to argue over Earl our Apex Duck, drop an email to waterloo.reception@apexhotels.co.uk and we'll have another Earl posted out to you.
Many thanks
Alan Harbisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed at the Apex Waterloo during the Festival this August. Excellent hotel. The room was comfortable and large for Europe, with a king size bed...a bonus. The location is perfect for anyone who wants to be very close to all the action, but not right in the middle. The Royal Mile is within walking distance, but being one street over was great for a quiet night's sleep.

I would highly recommend the Apex Waterloo!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Jerry E
Thanks for the review. Sounds like you had a great stay and hopefully enjoyed all that Edinburgh has to offer during Festival time. Our location is ideal for getting out and about easily to Festival venues.
I hope we can welcome you back.
Thanks again
Alan Harbisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed here two years ago, just as nice as last time. Room clean and tidy. The concierge is a brilliant lady (was there on 7 Aug 14), friendly and knowledgeable about how to walk around Edinburgh. The Bar was nice, I was very happy to sit in the bar as a single lady and have a whisky and order bar snacks.

Room Tip: Not a room tip. This hotel has a short cut to Waverley Station, ask about it if arriving by train.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy_fromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Wendy_fromAus
It's great to hear that this was your second stay here at Waterloo Place and that you enjoyed it as much as the first time.
Linda from our Concierge Team is always willing to help and assist with ideas of places to see and visit. Her local knowledge is fantastic.
Here's hoping we can welcome you back again in a few years time.
All the very best.
Alan Harbisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We just returned from our Scotland/England trip and thought I would share a few experiences we had. We flew into Edinburgh and spent our first 3 nights at the Waterloo. This is an awesome location and quick walks to just about anything to see. We took the tram from the airpot and the last stop is a 2 minute walk to the hotel, so don't waste money for a cab. Reception desk was very nice and stored our luggage for us until the room was ready. The room was exceptionally clean and large and had some nice amenities like coffee, snacks, bottled water. We did not have breakfast there, however we visited the bar a few times and they were quite nice and good service. The bar area is a very relaxed atmosphere. We wanted to attend the Military tattoo festival and found it was sold out but the concierge was able to get us tickets. She was awesome. I would have given 5 stars but our room was on the 3rd floor (2 floors down from reception - weird) and the view out our window was a brick wall. I didn't like that too much. However, I would definitely stay again due to its location and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Don't get booked on the 3rd floor.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Belle1691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Belle1691
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay.
Great to hear our location was good for you and that the long awaited tram system was put to use!
I'm really pleased that Linda was able to source tickets for the Tattoo. It's a great performance and would have been a shame to miss it.
I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your time travelling in Scotland and England and had a good journey home.
Warmest regards
Alan Harbisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews