We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families--and food allergy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Our family loved our stay at the Apex Waterloo. From helping us plan our travel and excursions in Edinburgh and beyond (over emails before we arrived and in person while there) to providing safe and delicious meals for our son who has a severe dairy allergy, we were incredibly pleased by and grateful for the staff members' knowledge and help. We loved the convenient location, the hotel's clean and sleek/modern look, and our kids loved the pool. Thank you Apex for helping to make our stay so wonderful. We hope to stay with you again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanHarbisher, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Liz W
Thanks for the review. I'm really pleased to hear how much you and your family enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide suitable meals for your Son. It's great to also hear that the team assisted with some planning before you arrived so that you could make the most of your time here in Edinburgh. The pool, steam room and sauna are great spaces to relax in after a tiring day out and about.
I hope we can welcome you back soon.
Warmest regards
Alan Harbisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,512)
There are newer reviews for Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,929 - 1,935 of 4,512 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Apex Waterloo is a nice small hotel with a friendly staff and very comfortable rooms. On Waterloo Place at the end of Princes Street, it is away from much of the bustle of traffic, yet an easy walk to New Town or the Royal Mile. I would stay there again if I return to Edinburgh.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Baxter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanHarbisher, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Baxter H
Thanks for the review. Sounds like our location suited you and that you enjoyed your time here in Edinburgh. As many reviewers comment, our location is ideal, central yet away from the hustle and bustle of the busier streets. Great to hear you'll be looking to stay again if you return to Edinburgh.
Warmest regards
Alan Harbisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Have just returned from our second visit to this hotel and we were not disappointed. The room, once again, was extremely comfortable - large comfy bed, good pillows, well equipped and the views from the top floor were a wonderful surprise. The location was ideal for us, being close to transport links, entertainment and the shops. We were visiting for the Festival and found we could pop back to the hotel between shows. All members of staff we encountered were friendly and welcoming. We will definitely book again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanHarbisher, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Sarah M
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your second stay here and that you'll be looking to return in the future. There is so much going on in Edinburgh during the Festival time and I hope you soaked up the atmosphere and caught some good shows. Our location, as you say is ideal for so many of the attractions and places of interest.
Thanks also for mentioning how friendly you found the team here.
I look forward to welcoming you back.
Warmest regards
Alan Harbisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This property is great for walking to Royal Mile as it is just over the bridge from the Royal Mile. The tour bus stops are right across the street! Also, you can exit the property and turn right and walk to the town for shopping and restaurants.
The rooms are very well appointed and there is a great option for breakfast at the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanHarbisher, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Harry R
Great to hear our location worked for you during your visit last year. We are really well positioned for so many of the Edinburgh attractions.
I hope to welcome you back in the future.
All the best
Alan Harbisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed here during Festival week and although the price we paid for 2 nights was quite high it was more reasonable than lesser rated hotels in Edinburgh City. Reception staff were excellent. Very helpful and friendly. Rooms were of a good size and beds very comfortable. We did argue who was getting to keep the complimentary duck however!
Location was perfect for shops, omni centre etc. but was still quiet enough at night for a good nights sleep.
We had breakfast and again , although quite expensive at £15 per person, the food was delicious.
Spa and pool was lovely .
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would return the next time we travel to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avrilPerthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanHarbisher, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear avrilPerthshire
Many thanks for posting your review.
It sounds as though your daughter and yourself had a great time here in Edinburgh and found that Apex Waterloo was well located for everything you wanted to do and places you wished to visit. No need to argue over Earl our Apex Duck, drop an email to waterloo.reception@apexhotels.co.uk and we'll have another Earl posted out to you.
Many thanks
Alan Harbisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed at the Apex Waterloo during the Festival this August. Excellent hotel. The room was comfortable and large for Europe, with a king size bed...a bonus. The location is perfect for anyone who wants to be very close to all the action, but not right in the middle. The Royal Mile is within walking distance, but being one street over was great for a quiet night's sleep.

I would highly recommend the Apex Waterloo!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Jerry E
Thanks for the review. Sounds like you had a great stay and hopefully enjoyed all that Edinburgh has to offer during Festival time. Our location is ideal for getting out and about easily to Festival venues.
I hope we can welcome you back.
Thanks again
Alan Harbisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed here two years ago, just as nice as last time. Room clean and tidy. The concierge is a brilliant lady (was there on 7 Aug 14), friendly and knowledgeable about how to walk around Edinburgh. The Bar was nice, I was very happy to sit in the bar as a single lady and have a whisky and order bar snacks.

Room Tip: Not a room tip. This hotel has a short cut to Waverley Station, ask about it if arriving by train.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy_fromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWDGM, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Wendy_fromAus
It's great to hear that this was your second stay here at Waterloo Place and that you enjoyed it as much as the first time.
Linda from our Concierge Team is always willing to help and assist with ideas of places to see and visit. Her local knowledge is fantastic.
Here's hoping we can welcome you back again in a few years time.
All the very best.
Alan Harbisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,853 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £85 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing