We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Bar/Lounge
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Room Service
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Bar/Lounge
    Reviews (4,992)
    Filter reviews
    4,992 results
    Traveller rating
    2,824
    1,679
    359
    95
    35
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    2,824
    1,679
    359
    95
    35
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewselemis productstrain stationjelly beanssauna and steam roomwalk in showerrubber duckend of princes streetcalton hillsuperior roomroyal milespa facilitiesexcellent locationlovely hotelhotel barlarge bathroomcentral locationcity break
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    2,363 - 2,368 of 4,992 reviews
    Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

    Just could not fault any of the main things you want out of a hotel. We had a suite and thought for the location it was extremely good value for money. The hotel location is perect. 2 mins from Calton Hill for the best view in Edinburgh, 3 mins from the East side of Princes Street and Waverley station, 2 mins from North Bridge the best way to get to the Royal Mile. Great breakfast. Spacious suite with nice little touches. Especially the bathroom. Nice little spa. Great friendly service.

    • Stayed: August 2014
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank StuartfromRugby
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    AlanHarbisher, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

    Dear StuartfromRugby
    Thanks for taking the time to post your positive review. As many reviewers have commented, out location is without doubt one of the best in Edinburgh being so convenient to transport links, attractions and shopping.
    Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we'll see you returning in the future.
    Many thanks
    Alan Harbisher
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 August 2014

    Enjoyed our stay at Apex Waterloo. The location is perfect. Walking distance to old town and other attractions. The room was a little small for three of us but nice. The restaurant for breakfast was good but we found simpler and cheaper alternatives close by after our first morning. Wifi was mostly not working throughout our stay. Shower never got quite hot. AC seems to have a max that doesn't really do the job if you like it on the cool side. The service was very friendly throughout especially the bar and front desk.

    • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank RafarbGeep
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    AlanHarbisher, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

    Dear RafarbGeep
    Thanks for the positive review despite having had a few issues during your stay. Really sorry to hear of the WiFi problems. Our external provider is usually very quick to resolve any problem. I am sorry that this was not the case on this occasion.
    Our AC goes down to 19 degrees Celsius which is normally cool enough for Edinburgh.
    It's great that our location suited your needs.
    Many thanks for the positive comments re the front desk and bar teams.
    I hope we can welcome back should you be visiting Edinburgh again.
    Regards
    Alan Harbisher
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 August 2014

    Have not stayed in a better place in our 5 weeks (to date) trip. Staff unloaded suitcases from car & took them to our room while we parked. Huge bed with soft pillows & the best shower you could wish for! Quiet, excellent food, friendly staff & walking distance to Royal Mile & Hopon/Hopoff bus. Don't stay anywhere else in Edinburgh!

    Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    1  Thank Jenny J
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    AlanHarbisher, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

    Dear Jenny J
    It's fantastic to hear that we currently top your list of places you've stayed during your 5 weeks of travel. It would be great to welcome you back if you come this way again.
    Enjoy the rest of your time away before heading home to Australia.
    All the very best
    Alan Harbisher
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 August 2014

    This hotel was in an ideal situation to see the sights of Edinburgh. The room was clean and fresh and though looking out on to Waterloo Place there was no noticeable noise. We were pleasantly greeted by reception staff who gave clear direction to the room. There was also city parking fairly close by but at a cost of £18 for 24hrs. All round a great visit and will use this hotel again.

    Room Tip: Would recommend this hotel for a city break as it was close to all amenities and parking
    • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Mavis V
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    AlanHarbisher, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

    Dear Mavis V
    Many thanks for posting your review.
    It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our Front Desk Team were helpful.
    Our location is great, close enough to the City Centre attractions and shopping yet just far enough away from the noise and hustle and bustle of the surrounding streets. It's also good to hear you took advantage of the 15% discount offered by QPark at the nearby Omni Centre.
    I hope we will see you again in the future.
    Warmest regards
    Alan Harbisher
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 August 2014

    The apex has it all, fabulous service, beautiful rooms, great food all tucked into the center of the city. We walked to the old city, shopping on Princes Street, and to Calton Hill from here. You want to make sure to get a room facing the old city, not behind the hotel.

    • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Emily C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    AlanHarbisher, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

    Dear Emily C
    Thanks for posting your positive review following your recent stay.
    It certainly sounds like our location suited you and I hope you saw all the sights and attractions during your time here in Edinburgh.
    I hope to welcome you back to Waterloo Place should you be planning any further trips to Edinburgh.
    Warmest regards
    Alan Harbisher
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews