We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$251
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$347
US$279
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$325
US$258
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$300
US$280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$328
US$305
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$169
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$231
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Holiday Inn Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (4,997)
Filter reviews
4,997 results
Traveller rating
2,828
1,679
360
95
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,828
1,679
360
95
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselemis productstrain stationjelly beanssauna and steam roomwalk in showerrubber duckend of princes streetcalton hillsuperior roomroyal milespa facilitiesexcellent locationlovely hotelhotel barlarge bathroomcentral locationcity break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,545 - 4,550 of 4,997 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We got this place at the last minute and only chose it as I'd stayed in Apex Hotels before on business, but I'm so glad we did.

The building is really old and in an ideal place, right at the bottom of Princes Street, but the inside is modern and funky. The room was large and comfy, with a wide-screen TV and huge bed. The bathroom was also really smart.

The leisure suite is fab - we had it to ourself on a Sunday afternoon.

There isn't a car park, but there is an NCP behind the hotel that you can use at a discounted rate.

I'd really recommend this place, especially to anyone who'd like to be in a historic building tastefully renovated without chintz and flowery carpets.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank redhead49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Apex now have ?four good hotels in Edinburgh . This is the newest on the site of one of the cities oldest Georgian hotels but now there are two lifts (should have a third as there are 9 floors to service and a good swim pool.
Our opening offer rate was £20 beat that . No parking .
Our great room looked west along Princess Street (room 925 )unfortunately the tileing was not finished at the base of the bathroom walls and the bath water was too cool to use . The flash desk chair rise and fall was on the brink of a great fall , off . Interesting use of LED light bulbs in the room . Early days here .
When I ate lunch on a previous visit in "Elliots " restaurant I hated it , other meals of the day should be better ? Remember your swim suit (sauna and steam too ).

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

It was pretty much everything you'd expect from a trendy boutiquey place. I didn't put a lot of demands on the place. Pre-paying breakfast for 10 pounds is a bit pricey for breakfast, but its convenient and pretty good. The location on a map seems confusing, because the street it's on "Waterloo Place" is five stories above the road just next to it on the map. They don't cross; it's a bridge.

But conveniently the hotel has a 0 floor exit too, so you can exit on floor 5 for most things in town, or floor 0 for very easy access to the train station or for a quiet backdoor way down towards Holyrood Palace.

My main gripe is the strange way they offer information. They didn't have your standard tourist information brochures on display, but when I asked about walking tours they handed me info for two ghost tours, neither of which were the main tours I knew existed. My friend asked them about live music in the evening, and they did a google search. I asked about a bus that would get me from the foot of Arthur's Seat to the Castle, and again to the computer and she printed me out the full day's schedule of a bus that runs every few minutes, but not a map.

It was all a bit strange. They could definitely use some basic concierge skills, or at least a knowledge of their town, in a hotel trying to be fancy.

Final note: the rate I paid was a discounted introductory rate for their recent opening, about 80 pounds per night. If that skyrockets, drop my review down a notch. The rooms were a bit small, though not bad.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoggyEthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

Friendly staff, good base to tour the great City of Edinburgh. Newly renovated to a very high standard, room had comfy Queen size bed, 42" LCD TV, nice bathroom with walk in shower, only downside 'No View' from room, worth checking this when you book! Breakfast good, generous buffet of cereals, fruit, yogurt, cheese, cold meats, juices. Cooked breakfast to follow should keep you marching up and around the Castle till dinner time! Swimming pool small but worth a try after the sauna or steam room. Gym small and cramped with two treadmills, two bikes, a crosstrainer, rowing machine, some dumbells and three more large LCD TV's, but you're not here to work out are you?

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rigididge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

A nice modern hotel converted from government offices,seconds from Princes and not far from the station. Even the Royal Mile is only a 10 minutes away, if that! The minimal spa was a nice surprise to refresh tired feet after a long day walking. Only down side was a bar called Pivo behind the hotel which had revellers chatting loudly outside disturbing our sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wkspang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews