We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - hotel improving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2009

Apex offered me a complimentary nights stay following my complaints after a visit in April. I was given a nice room plus a bottle of wine and chocolates were waiting in the room. This was a nice touch. The reception staff were helpful too. I did not use the leisure facilities so dont know whether they are finished yet. I would recommend this hotel for its location if you are travelling without a car. I would not have breakfast in the hotel. There is an exellent little cafe on the corner of the street offering better food, service and value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HNMEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,512)
There are newer reviews for Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,095 - 4,101 of 4,512 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2009

Location - Waterloo Place is the eastern extension of Princess St. So it is only a 10 minute walk away from the Royal Mile, and 15 minutes away from the Castle.
Amenities - Free Wifi, Pool, Spa
Room quality - excellent, everything was brand new, including the large flat screen tv. We were travelling with our 1 yr old son, and he got a baby cot, free of charge.
Service - everyone was eager to help.
Scope for improvement - there is still some work going on, so that ramp to the stairs leading up to the elevator was not operational. It was just 3 steps and we had a baby stroller. But it might have been a problem with people on a wheelchair.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaushik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights June 1 - 4th. Payed a total of £211 for a Superior room on the Hotels.com website. This was a pay in advance rate. (Hint, if you go through a cashback site like Topcashback you'll get 8% back)
Room 937 was a decent size at the front of the Hotel. I was glad about this, as at the back there is building construction ongoing. The front does face a main road but is quiet during the night. It needs to be, as the windows do not have double glazing. Air conditioning unit was almost slient, which was much needed as it was probably the hottest week of the year.
Bed was very comfy with huge pillows. Room could have done with a decent armchair as chair in room was all style & no comfort. Carpet was nice & thick for walking around barefoot. Shower & Bath were both fantastic. Good selection of teabags/coffee etc. Fridge was also a welcome addition to the usual mini bar.
As a gadget lover I really loved the 42inch tv, with a good selection of tv channels (including sky sports). There was also a DVD player with USB input. WIFI was free and worked fine for BBC Iplayer on my Ipod touch
I was a little disappointed that on checking out, all the receptionist said to me was 'that'll be £2.70 for the newspapers'. No pleasant goodbye etc.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel providing you can get a decent rate. Just need the windows to be doubled glazed and a slight improvement in staff training.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We got this place at the last minute and only chose it as I'd stayed in Apex Hotels before on business, but I'm so glad we did.

The building is really old and in an ideal place, right at the bottom of Princes Street, but the inside is modern and funky. The room was large and comfy, with a wide-screen TV and huge bed. The bathroom was also really smart.

The leisure suite is fab - we had it to ourself on a Sunday afternoon.

There isn't a car park, but there is an NCP behind the hotel that you can use at a discounted rate.

I'd really recommend this place, especially to anyone who'd like to be in a historic building tastefully renovated without chintz and flowery carpets.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank redhead49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Apex now have ?four good hotels in Edinburgh . This is the newest on the site of one of the cities oldest Georgian hotels but now there are two lifts (should have a third as there are 9 floors to service and a good swim pool.
Our opening offer rate was £20 beat that . No parking .
Our great room looked west along Princess Street (room 925 )unfortunately the tileing was not finished at the base of the bathroom walls and the bath water was too cool to use . The flash desk chair rise and fall was on the brink of a great fall , off . Interesting use of LED light bulbs in the room . Early days here .
When I ate lunch on a previous visit in "Elliots " restaurant I hated it , other meals of the day should be better ? Remember your swim suit (sauna and steam too ).

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

It was pretty much everything you'd expect from a trendy boutiquey place. I didn't put a lot of demands on the place. Pre-paying breakfast for 10 pounds is a bit pricey for breakfast, but its convenient and pretty good. The location on a map seems confusing, because the street it's on "Waterloo Place" is five stories above the road just next to it on the map. They don't cross; it's a bridge.

But conveniently the hotel has a 0 floor exit too, so you can exit on floor 5 for most things in town, or floor 0 for very easy access to the train station or for a quiet backdoor way down towards Holyrood Palace.

My main gripe is the strange way they offer information. They didn't have your standard tourist information brochures on display, but when I asked about walking tours they handed me info for two ghost tours, neither of which were the main tours I knew existed. My friend asked them about live music in the evening, and they did a google search. I asked about a bus that would get me from the foot of Arthur's Seat to the Castle, and again to the computer and she printed me out the full day's schedule of a bus that runs every few minutes, but not a map.

It was all a bit strange. They could definitely use some basic concierge skills, or at least a knowledge of their town, in a hotel trying to be fancy.

Final note: the rate I paid was a discounted introductory rate for their recent opening, about 80 pounds per night. If that skyrockets, drop my review down a notch. The rooms were a bit small, though not bad.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoggyEthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

Friendly staff, good base to tour the great City of Edinburgh. Newly renovated to a very high standard, room had comfy Queen size bed, 42" LCD TV, nice bathroom with walk in shower, only downside 'No View' from room, worth checking this when you book! Breakfast good, generous buffet of cereals, fruit, yogurt, cheese, cold meats, juices. Cooked breakfast to follow should keep you marching up and around the Castle till dinner time! Swimming pool small but worth a try after the sauna or steam room. Gym small and cramped with two treadmills, two bikes, a crosstrainer, rowing machine, some dumbells and three more large LCD TV's, but you're not here to work out are you?

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rigididge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,853 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £85 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing