We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service and appreciation is the #1 value for this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2009

This hotel ranks in the top 5 I''ve stayed in in the UK. It is #1 in service and customer appreciation. From the front desk staff to the dining room and lounge staff, to the conference services team, courtesy and individual attention was paramount. The location of the hotel is very convenient to local attractions, yet far enough away to be unaffected by city noise. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for business, pleasure or meetings.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,322 - 4,328 of 4,813 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2009

Great location, only 5 mins from the City Centre on a safe street. The rooms were nice, although we were 2 floors below ground, so no view and no phone signal........ Bathrooms were very nice, large bath and a large walk in shower. The SPA was good, with an ok pool and a small gym. Friendly staff. Breakfast was not included in the room which was disappointing but there was free Wifi.......would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richakn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

This hotel is located very close to Princes Street in Edinburgh but not on Prices Street with the accompanying noise etc. Excellent accommodation and friendly staff

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

I booked online at apex website and requested a room with a view. On arrival was given a small, smelly dark room overlooking a building site at the back of the hotel. There were builders on scaffolding within a few metres of bedroom window! I had been told at reception that room looked towards sea. It may well have done but there was a 10 storey building in the way! The room smelled of blocked drains and there was a damp patch on wall and the skirting board had been removed - presumably to deal with damp patch. Within half an hour of complaining we were given a family room at the front of the hotel which was just what we had been led to expect from the apex website - light, bright, clean and spacious. Booking through central reservations and not the hotel itself means that you end up taking pot luck with the rooms - not a gamble I am prepared to take again. Nevertheless, after this initial setback, we had a very pleasant stay, food was good and staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

This hotel is in a cracking loction right at the end of Princess Street and a short walk from the NCP for parking or a short walk from the train station.

We parked at the NCP car park just round the corner and paid £30.90 for 2 nights stay uisng the discount from the hotel.

There's parking at the front of the hotel for a short stay while you get checked in. Doubt you'd park there for any longer though.

We stayed on the 7th floor and were overlookin gthe rear of the hotel. God knows where these people have stayed who are writing bad reviews, but we heard nothing. Yes we were opposite the building work going on over the road, but we heard nothing. Plus, who stays in the room all day when the workmen are at work. (ok, maybe if you have the window wide open, but you have aircon to keep warm or cold.)

The room is brillaint, very modern and has all the comforts you require - iron, hairdryer, tea/coffe, safe, etc. Can't see you'd want to upgrade really!! The 42" tv was great for me and standard in every room.

The wife says that the pool, steam and sauna are great and she used it both days and only bumped inot two people, so it was very quiet.

As i said, it's a great location - seconds....yes seconds away from it all!!! Come out of the hotel and turn right takes you to a shopping mall, or go down the hill to great bars like Slug and Lettuce, Walkabout, Lloyds bar, etc. Carry straight on down princess street for all the shops. Out of the hotel, right and then left take you to the bridge that leads to the castle, that must only be a good 10-15 mins away, by the way, the wife is pregnant and we did it in good time.

Back to the hotel staff - very good and polite. used the bar and the staff there were good as well. asked the chamber maid for more towels, tea dn cofee and handed it straight over.

We paid £214.40 for two nights Weds to Fri. Would have liked it to have been just under £200 for a good deal.

Great hotel and won't be dissapointed!!!!

Pictures on this site are great and reflect the room very well.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al_n_Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Half the rooms overlook the beer-bar Pivo, which has loud drunk patrons smoking in front of it all night long. (Smoking inside bars is now illegal in Scotland, so this noise is year-round.) The street is narrow and sound echoes up and down the building. Otherwise a fine hotel, but you're paying too much for this kind of distraction.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martini037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMApex, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2009

Dear Martini037,

Following your recent review on Trip Advisor I would like to thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you were disturbed by noise during your stay from the Pivo bar outside the hotel. We have been in contact with them regarding their patrons creating noise while smoking outside or leaving the bar and they are looking at way to improve this. Being in a city centre location we do experience some noise from outside however, if you do return to stay with us please contact me and I will ensure you are allocated a quiet room on a higher floor. If I can be of any further assistance or if you would like to speak to me directly please contact me on 0131 523 1819 or email joanne.goodwin@apexhotels.co.uk.

Kind Regards,

Joanne Goodwin
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

The best 4* hotel that I saw until now in the UK. Friendly staff, free wifi, Gym and spa is a plus.
The big screen tv is amazing and the king size beds are very confortable.
I surely recomend.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelsoncerqueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#72 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £81 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing