We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #35 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
wigan
1 review
“Excellent hotel!”
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We had a brilliant time in Edinburgh and the hotel only added to that enjoyment. It's situated at the end of prince's street. just minutes away from the royal mile which was perfect. We got no noise at night either. We stayed in a superior room. It was a good size, it was nicely decorated. And very easy to relax in. The bed and pillows were really comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and again decor was very nice. The service of the staff throughout the hotel was to an excellent standard. We also ate in Elliot's bar, to which i can say served lovely food, and had a good menu. It was only a small restaurant so i would say definitely book if you was visiting during a busy time. And I imagine that breakfast can get busy too. Luckily we stayed during a quiet time. I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone going to Edinburgh. We had nothing to say except good things about our stay. Even the weather was brilliant!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urban_angelwigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,552
    1,501
    315
    86
    31
See reviews for
762
2,234
210
457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

New hotel, Location excellent especially for Edinburgh attractions and traveling by rail. Accommodation and service very good apart from failing to act on order for wine & chocs in room as a surprise for spouse. Wine delivered after complaining but surprise lost.
Restaurant service attentive but a little pricey.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camvad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Stayed here recently on a short business trip. We liked the feel of the place and service in all areas was generally good. Rooms were very clean and facilities were good too. However, lunch and breakfast food weredisappointing: sandwiches stale and breakfast scrambled eggs tasting like they had come out of a packet. My room looked out onto a building site (although the hotel probably can't do much about that). The bill came as a bit of a shock too. All in all a good but not great experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s2art50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2009

This hotel ranks in the top 5 I''ve stayed in in the UK. It is #1 in service and customer appreciation. From the front desk staff to the dining room and lounge staff, to the conference services team, courtesy and individual attention was paramount. The location of the hotel is very convenient to local attractions, yet far enough away to be unaffected by city noise. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for business, pleasure or meetings.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Great location, only 5 mins from the City Centre on a safe street. The rooms were nice, although we were 2 floors below ground, so no view and no phone signal........ Bathrooms were very nice, large bath and a large walk in shower. The SPA was good, with an ok pool and a small gym. Friendly staff. Breakfast was not included in the room which was disappointing but there was free Wifi.......would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richakn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

This hotel is located very close to Princes Street in Edinburgh but not on Prices Street with the accompanying noise etc. Excellent accommodation and friendly staff

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2009

I booked online at apex website and requested a room with a view. On arrival was given a small, smelly dark room overlooking a building site at the back of the hotel. There were builders on scaffolding within a few metres of bedroom window! I had been told at reception that room looked towards sea. It may well have done but there was a 10 storey building in the way! The room smelled of blocked drains and there was a damp patch on wall and the skirting board had been removed - presumably to deal with damp patch. Within half an hour of complaining we were given a family room at the front of the hotel which was just what we had been led to expect from the apex website - light, bright, clean and spacious. Booking through central reservations and not the hotel itself means that you end up taking pot luck with the rooms - not a gamble I am prepared to take again. Nevertheless, after this initial setback, we had a very pleasant stay, food was good and staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,808 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,465 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing