We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We stayed at the Apex Waterloo for my birthday weekend and had a wonderful time. The location was excellent, only 5 minutes from Waverley Station and the Airport buses. Check in was friendly and efficient and we were quickly directed to our room on the 8th floor. We had booked into a standard city room through Airmiles, but my boyfriend had secretly upgraded us to a Master Suite!

The room was beautiful, with a large seperate living area, huge bed and lovely bathroom with stand alone bath and power shower. We even had a view of Authur's Seat out of the main living room window. Whilst I was marvelling at how nice the room was, my boyfriend got down on one knee and proposed!

Needless to say, we had a wonderful weekend! Breakfast was lovely, lots of choice on both the cold buffet (delicious croissants!) and off the menu for the hot food options. We didn't eat in the restaurant at night as we prefered to eat out - I would definetly recommend Wildfire on Rose Street for a lovely dinner.

All the staff we polite and helpful, ordering us taxis in the evening and sorting out late check out for us when we were leaving. I would definetely return to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone wanting a quality hotel in an excellent location.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LouiseLeyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,470
    1,447
    301
    81
    26
See reviews for
722
2,170
201
442
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2010

My wife and I were looking for a central hotel for a two day trip to Edinburgh which would allow us to be conveniently located for all the major shops etc, yet not expensive because we weren't planning on spending any significant time in the hotel (apart from sleeping). Added to that, a desire for quiet comfort, clean and not 'tired'....and I think we came up trumps with the Apex Waterloo Place.
Right from the really helpful telesales assistant (who clearly knew the details of our chosen hotel), to the quiet, unobtrusive, yet helpful reception staff, we couldn't have been happier.
The room was clean and quiet, with a large new walk-in shower separate from the bath, a big TV (sadly no Sky Sports, but we weren't in the room long enough to worry). The reception staff offered to help at every stage - to look after luggage after check-out, order us a taxi (took 3 mins to arrive!) and anything else we wanted. Great!
We didn't see or use the spa or pool so can't comment.
We also popped 4 doors down Waterloo Place to a lovely Italian cafe for a lighter breakfast bacon roll and superb coffee, rather than use the hotel breakfast served in their 'Elliot's Restaurant'.
I will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dac2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

This hotel is a gem in Edinburgh and a must choice for any guest business or leisure wanting a quality classy hotel in a wonderful location .
Combining the great old charm of Edinburgh with an elegant modern twist.

Location is perfect - minutes from the main railway station and in the heart of the city.

Rooms are spacious very very clean with all the modcons that you would expect. The beds and bedding are top quality for the perfect nights sleep. If you can afford to upgrade to a deluxe room it is well worth it.

Pool and Spa area are lovely. The pool is small, but it is an ideal place to relacx and unwind after a hectic day shopping and the sauna/steam room are an added bonus.

Restaurant and bar is the place to be seen in Edinburgh. The bar has an elegant atmosphere and a great selection of drinks and snacks. The restaurant has a great seasonal menu and the food is awesome.

Staff and service - well all I can say is everybody has a smile and nothing ever seems to be a problem.

In summary in my opinion this is the perfect all round quality hotel in central Edinburgh and I have already booked my next visit to the hotel and I can't wait

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank future6150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Found this hotel via Tripadvisor and was not disappointed. Location is perfect to walk everywhere and the room was clean, spacious and very nicely decorated. Didn't eat in the restaurant but the menu and food looked good. There is a good (and reasonably priced) eating place for breakfasts/snacks just outside the hotel. Turn right and on the corner. Would have no hesitation recomending this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob20042004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,108 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

I didn't have great expectations of this hotel as, having stayed in Edinburgh on business a number of times before, I'd found the hotels average and the staff generally unhelpful. But the Apex proved me wrong; it's a lovely hotel for a couple of days, in a fabulous location for exploring the city on foot and with friendly staff.

We were there on business during the Festival and even so it was a peaceful haven with nicely furnished rooms, lovely bathrooms (love the bath duck they leave for you!) and a modern, yet unflustered air. Breakfast was a bit average but it was during Festival and to be fair the basics were well covered. And best of all it isn't too expensive. Most hotels during Festival charge crazy money but this was a good hotel at a good price and for that alone Apex deserve a 'well done'.

I'd certainly stay again on business, although when I go up with the family, I may want somewhere that feels a little more suited to that market.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Unfortunately my first impression of the Apex wasn't good as the receptionist looked as if the world was coming to an end & certainly didn't give a warm welcome. I put it down to a bad day but it was the same the next morning when I went to report a blown lightbulb in my room. I just stayed here for 5 nights and the bed clothes were NEVER changed and eventhough I had booked a double room I got two seperately made up single beds pushed together.

While the location is good there are LOTS of hotels in the area for the same price or cheaper so I'd recommend you try one of them before the Apex. While the staff are polite I can't say they are friendly with the exception of a small blond Scottish lady at reception who is lovely. Good points for the hotel are the leisure centre is nice though it's a pity it doesn't have a jacuzzi and every day the maid left lovely shortcake biscuits in the room.

I'm conscious that I'm going against the trend on reviews for this hotel and seem like a very fussy guest but I'm being honest as Trip Adviosr is a great place for giving advice.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank figurecollectors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Stayed at this hotel recently and was amazed to have found such a excellent hotel in the heart of Edinburgh. The hotel is in an amazing location right beside princess street. The room we got was spacious, clean and modern. The bed was so comfortable and bathroom was spotlessly clean. Staff were very friendly and very helpful. All in all we have a fab stay and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Breda_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#83 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,302 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,669 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#27 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Property: Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing