We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Edinburgh Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2010

Really friendly and happy staff helped create a relaxing and fun few days, starting with check-in at reception. Food was good as was the service in the dining room.
Our room was of a very high standard, very clean and a quality bathroom added to the feeling of luxury. It has an excellent city- centre location. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,911 - 3,917 of 4,633 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2010

Stayed here for one night whilst attending a show at the Playhouse Theatre. Hotel is very well located for this. Nice modern reception but staff faces are obscured behind the high computer terminal screens. No particular warm welcome but efficient enough. Room was small but nice enough however it took two attempts to fill the bath tub with hot enough water for a bath! Small lounge area but nowhere really to relax as seating was either more formal or uncomfortable and wouldn't drink in the bar again anyway as small things like, no lemon in drinks and using large litre bottles of tonic (which go flat very quickly) are not what we would expect in a four star hotel. Service in the restaurant during breakfast was very good and we would return for breakfast but not to stay over. I spoke to others who had booked earlier than us and I would say that the price they told me they had paid (£117) is a better reflection of the hotel than what we paid (over £200 including breakfast).

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thebairds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

This hotel is amazing, from the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty by all the friendly and helpful staff. The hotel itself very luxurious, with a great location just off Princes Street, so perfect for access to all the main sites. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great value for money location, in very central Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

This was a weekend stay to see icehockey, that was extended for an extra day due to travel problems. The rate was very good for an hotel of this quality and location, and I would thoroughly recommend the hotel to anyone. A free breakfast was offered at no extra cost by reservations for the return stay, which was greatly appreciated.
The staff were outstanding and obviously very well trained.
In particular, Paula at reception, Keith in the breakfast room, and Nicole in the bar and business centre went out of their way to help us with various queries, and all were extremely pleasant and efficient,
The bed was comfortable and the room large and well maintained. Both rooms {we had to return due to the snow} had large well equipped bathrooms. I have had ongoing neck pains recently and these have disappeared, such was the comfort of the bed and pillow. A miracle!
I would not hesitate to stay here again as the location also is fantastic, with the station, Royal Mile, Princes Street and St. James Centre all within a short walk, and is the pick of any Edinburgh hotels I have visited.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HabLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

We were put up in this hotel by Scotrail after they cancelled their sleeper service to London at short notice.
My what a surprise, when told we were being put in hotels I have to say I was expecting something grotty but when we walked it was a surprise.
The hotel is very grand, very modern looking & best of all sparkling clean.
The rooms are amazing, very well thought out and you can tell that a lot of thought went into the room design and a lot of effort in keeping them clean & well maintained.
I can honestly say that this is the most amazing hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bromleyboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

I stayed here with my partner for a few days in November. the location was great. The hotel was nice and peaceful and had everything you could ask for.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank kate_bidwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

I have stayed in plenty of hotels and this ticks all the boxes. Clean and modern, great breakfast and really friendly and helpful staff. The rooms had large LCD TVs with modern decor. Nice bathroom. Although only slight criticism is with the shower, the hottest it went was only warm, not unpleasantly cold but with the sbowy weather it would have been nice if it went a little hotter! The reception staff, cleaning staff, waiting staff were all exceptional. If you passed a member of staff in the hallways or in the lifts they would always say hello and wish you a good day, which is rare these days. Breakfast was great and well worth the £10 addition to the room only rate. Full Scottish absoultely spot on the first time but second morning the poached egg was overcooked and the portion was smaller, however I did get there 5 mins before they were due to close so maybe this explains the slightly smaller portion. Would def go back to this hotel the next time I am visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luke_hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#91 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,684 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,032 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £83 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing