We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Algotels
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
TheAlexanders232629
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Amazingly comfortable hotel very close to the Christmas market
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Nov 2023via mobile
Had a fantastic 3 night stay at the Apex. Didn’t have breakfast or dinner so can’t comment on that, and whilst we bought our swimwear to use the pool and spa facilities, we were so busy in Edinburgh itself that we ran out of time. However, hotel was very comfortable, nicely furnished, incredibly comfortable beds and pillows, fantastic sized shower and bath and also had a good selection of tea/coffee/hot chocolate supplies, plus posh toiletries and a mobile hairdryer that wasn’t fixed in the bathroom. I slept like a baby here. The only thing I would say is that room 405 faced a back street and it could be noisy with drunk people walking past and then the hustle and bustle of morning traffic. But that’s because I like to sleep with the window open. Once it was shut you couldn’t hear a thing.

Fantastically located close to the Christmas market, St James’ Quarter, St Andrews Square, a 15 -20 minute uphill stroll to the castle and Royal Mike, plus lots of shops and places to eat along Princes Street. Check out Rose Street too as lots of nice restaurants and pubs along there also. Overall a great mini break and we will be back!
Date of stay: November 2023
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£210
  • Priceline
    £234
  • Vio.com
    £169
  • Expedia.com
    £210
0.2 miles from Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£163
  • ibis Styles
    £163
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £163
0.3 miles from Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£156
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £173
  • Agoda.com
    £135
  • Expedia.com
    £173
0.7 miles from Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Free Wifi
Room service
Exterior
Travelodge
£97
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.0 miles from Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Booking.com
£685
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £685
  • Vio.com
    £571
  • Hotels.com
    £685
0.1 miles from Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
£248
  • Priceline
    £247
  • travelup.com
    £241
  • Expedia.com
    £247
0.3 miles from Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£129
  • Expedia.com
    £129
  • Vio.com
    £115
  • Hotels.com
    £129
8.7 miles from Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
PremierInn.com
£80
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
ibis Budget
£59
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • travelup.com
    £55
  • Skyscanner.com
    £56
  • StayForLong
    £56
5.3 miles from Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£55
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £55
  • Agoda.com
    £46
  • Expedia.com
    £55
1.4 miles from Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Edinburgh
Reviews (6,701)
Filter reviews
6,701 results
Traveller rating
3,777
2,223
494
142
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,777
2,223
494
142
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location train station rubber duck sauna and steam room walk in shower calton hill end of princes street superior room spa facilities lovely hotel royal mile large bathroom hotel bar central location lovely room old town family room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 6,701 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2023

Our stay at the hotel was very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast service was excellent and the food was amazing. We would highly recommend eating at Elliotts restaurant. We were there celebrating an early birthday and nothing was too much trouble.

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lauralb62023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Apex Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2023

Thank you for choosing Apex Waterloo Place Hotel for your early birthday celebration and for taking the time to share such a positive review.

We are thrilled to hear that your stay with us was very good and that our staff's friendliness and helpfulness added to your experience. It's our team's passion to ensure every guest feels welcome and well-cared for, and your kind words are a wonderful affirmation of their efforts.

Your high praise for the breakfast service and the quality of food at Elliotts restaurant is greatly appreciated. We're delighted that our culinary offerings impressed you and contributed to a memorable dining experience.

We are especially honored by your recommendation of Elliotts restaurant and pleased to know that we could make your birthday celebration special. If there's anything we can do to make your future visits even more enjoyable, or if you have any suggestions, please don't hesitate to let us know.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, perhaps for another celebration or a relaxing getaway.

Warm regards,

George Miliaras
Front Desk Duty Manager
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2023

First time visiting Edinburgh, the hotel is conveniently located, we were walking distance from old Edinburgh, the Christmas market and other tourist attractions. The hotel is clean, spacious and beautiful inside and outside. Everything is walking distance. The service was exceptional and everyone was very polite.

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patricia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Apex Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2023

Thank you for choosing Apex Waterloo Place Hotel for your first visit to Edinburgh, and for taking the time to share such a wonderful review of your experience.

We are thrilled to hear that our convenient location enhanced your exploration of Old Edinburgh, the Christmas market, and other attractions. It's great to know that you found the hotel clean, spacious, and beautiful, both inside and out. We take great pride in maintaining our property and ensuring a welcoming atmosphere for all our guests.

Your compliments on the exceptional service and the politeness of our staff are truly appreciated. Our team is dedicated to providing a memorable and comfortable experience, and knowing that we've made a positive impression is incredibly rewarding.

We hope your first visit to Edinburgh was filled with unforgettable moments, and we would love to welcome you back to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel for future adventures in our beautiful city. If there's anything we can do to make your next stay even more special, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Warm regards,

George Miliaras
Front Desk Duty Manager
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2023

Great contemporary well run hotel situated in the perfect location right in the hub of Edinburgh. Facilities - it’s all here. Rooms modern but still cosy and comfortable Clean to a high standard. Quality of food and service is excellent. I will be back!

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jenifer706
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Apex Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2023

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our contemporary and well-run establishment met your expectations.

It's wonderful to know that you found our location to be perfect, right in the hub of Edinburgh. We take pride in providing a central and convenient setting for our guests to explore and enjoy the city.

We are delighted that our facilities, including the modern and cozy rooms, contributed to your overall satisfaction. Maintaining a high standard of cleanliness is a top priority for us, and we appreciate your acknowledgment of our efforts in this regard.

Your praise for the quality of food and service is truly gratifying. We strive to provide an excellent dining experience for our guests, and it's rewarding to hear that we succeeded in doing so during your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Edinburgh. If there's anything specific you enjoyed or any suggestions you might have to enhance your future stays, please feel free to share them with us. Your feedback is invaluable as we aim to continuously improve and exceed our guests' expectations.

Once again, thank you for choosing our hotel, and we can't wait to host you again in the future.

Best regards,

David Gardiner
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2023

We spent 3 nights and had a room right at the top of the hotel with a great view. Despite the location, it was very quiet. The room was comfortable with a kettle, Nespresso machine and a large glass bottle of filtered water in the fridge instead of the small plastic ones. Bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of hot water and towels in te bathroom. All the staff in the hotel were friendly and welcoming. In the dining room at breakfast and the one night we ate in, the staff there went out of their way to look after us and were extremely professional without being formal.

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Apex Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2023

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel and for taking the time to share such a detailed and positive review of your experience.

We're delighted to hear that your top-floor room provided both a great view and a quiet environment. It's our aim to ensure that every aspect of our guests' stay is comfortable and enjoyable, and I'm glad to know that the amenities, including the Nespresso machine and the eco-friendly approach with the large glass bottle of water, added to your satisfaction.

Hearing that you found the bed comfortable and the bathroom well-equipped is particularly pleasing. We understand how these aspects significantly contribute to the overall experience of a stay.

Your kind words regarding the friendliness and professionalism of our staff are truly appreciated. Our team is dedicated to providing a warm, welcoming, and attentive service, and it's heartening to know that this was evident to you throughout your stay, especially in the dining room.

If there is anything we could have done to make your stay even more special, or if you have any suggestions for your future visits, please don't hesitate to let us know. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel for another delightful visit.

Warm regards,

George Miliaras
Front Desk Duty Manager
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2023

Had a really good time. Friendly staff great location. Long open hours for sauna and steam room. Felt really relaxed here. Everyone was eager to help the bed was comfy although I wasn’t a fan of the pillows but that’s just preference thing.

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 4bis6y4d08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Apex Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2023

Thank you for choosing Apex Waterloo Place Hotel and for sharing your wonderful experience with us.

We are thrilled to hear that you had a really good time during your stay. It's particularly heartening to know that our friendly staff and the hotel's great location contributed positively to your experience. Our aim is always to create a welcoming and comfortable environment for our guests, and it sounds like we were able to do just that for you.

I'm glad that you enjoyed the long open hours of our sauna and steam room and that they provided you with a relaxing experience. It's always our goal to ensure our guests feel refreshed and at ease while staying with us.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the bed and pillows. Comfort preferences can indeed vary greatly, and we strive to accommodate a wide range of tastes. Your input is valuable to us and will be considered as we continuously seek to improve our guest experiences.

Thank you once again for your kind words and for your recommendation. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel for another relaxing and enjoyable stay. If there's anything specific you would like for your next visit, or if you have any further suggestions, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Warm regards,

George Miliaras
Front Desk Duty Manager
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews