We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£99
Fully refundable before Thu, 14 Mar
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com
£99
Fully refundable before Fri, 15 Mar
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
£99
Fully refundable before Fri, 15 Mar
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,688)
Filter reviews
6,689 results
Traveller rating
3,768
2,221
493
142
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,768
2,221
493
142
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location train station rubber duck sauna and steam room walk in shower calton hill end of princes street superior room spa facilities lovely hotel royal mile large bathroom hotel bar central location lovely room old town family room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 6,689 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2023

Spent two nights here whilst visiting Edinburgh. Have stayed a couple of times before, and is always our first choice of hotel especially due to its location, spa facilities and friendly staff. Has a handy rear entrance close to Waverley Station as well. Arrived early by train, had planned to drop cases off and go around the Town, but they had rooms ready and checked us straight in. We did not eat here of an evening, but the breakfast food was well prepared and tasty. The only change since our last visit has been the layout and decor in the bar, seems to be less seating and gets very busy in the evening (also no local beer on tap anymore). Will no doubt stay here again, especially as the Tour Buses now have their Terminus opposite, rather than in the City as per our last visit.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GWRTSSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Apex Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2023

Thank you for once again choosing Apex Waterloo Place Hotel for your stay in Edinburgh. We are truly grateful for your loyalty and are delighted to hear that we continue to be your preferred hotel, especially for our location, spa facilities, and friendly staff.

It's fantastic to know that our proximity to Waverley Station and our early check-in process added convenience to your visit. We're also pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast offerings, as we take pride in providing delicious and well-prepared meals for our guests.

I appreciate your observations regarding the changes in the bar layout and decor, as well as the selection of local beers. Your feedback is invaluable to us as it helps us understand our guests' preferences and areas where we can improve. I will share your comments with our management team for consideration in our ongoing efforts to enhance the guest experience.

We're also glad to hear that the new location of the Tour Buses' Terminus opposite our hotel adds convenience for sightseeing and exploring Edinburgh.

Thank you once again for your kind words and for continuing to choose Apex Waterloo Place Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay. If there's anything specific we can do to make your future visits even more pleasant, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Warm regards,

George Miliaras
Front Desk Duty Manager
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2023

7 of us met for a weekend away. We've stayed in Edinburgh a few times but the Apex was a perfect location for the station, shops, restaurants and Christmas Market. The staff were all so helpful, friendly and professional. Nothing was too much trouble, even when they were extremely busy at breakfast time if checking in. Our rooms were all very clean, comfortable and well equipped for our needs. Large baths and showers with plenty of hot water were great after a long day out in chilly December weather. We dined in the restaurant one night and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Once again, the staff were very attentive and helpful.
Breakfast was slightly disappointing, probably due to the large numbers of guests all arriving at the same time, yet the staff remained helpful and most accommodating.
I would certainly recommend the Apex and would choose to stay there again for a City break in Edinburgh.

Date of stay: December 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank debbiegL4605QB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Apex Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

Thank you for choosing Apex Waterloo Place Hotel for your weekend getaway in Edinburgh and for sharing such a positive review of your experience.

We are thrilled to hear that our hotel's location perfectly complemented your plans, offering convenient access to the station, shops, restaurants, and the festive Christmas Market. It's particularly heartening to know that our staff's helpfulness, friendliness, and professionalism stood out to you, especially during busy times like breakfast.

We're glad that you found the rooms clean, comfortable, and well-equipped, and that the large baths and showers added an extra level of comfort to your stay during the chilly December weather. It's wonderful to know that your dining experience in our restaurant was thoroughly enjoyable, and I will pass on your compliments to our culinary and service teams.

Regarding breakfast, I apologize for any disappointment caused due to the busy period. We strive to provide a high-quality breakfast experience for all our guests, and your feedback is valuable in helping us improve our service during peak times.

We are honoured by your recommendation and delighted that you would choose Apex Waterloo Place Hotel again for a city break in Edinburgh. If there's anything specific we can do to enhance your next stay or if you have any preferences for future visits, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Thank you once again for your kind words. We eagerly await your return and the opportunity to provide another memorable stay.

Warm regards,

George Miliaras
Front Desk Duty Manager
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2023 via mobile

Location is very good, room was comfortable and had everything required for a short break, pool area is very small and extremely busy, waited at breakfast 15 mins to get seated, 10 mins to take order and 45 mins for food and the food wasn’t worth the wait.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KDh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Apex Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

Thank you for choosing Apex Waterloo Place Hotel and for sharing your feedback with us.

We are delighted to hear that you found the location and room to your liking and that our staff's friendliness and brilliance made a positive impact on your stay. It's always our aim to provide a welcoming and comfortable environment for our guests.

However, I am concerned to learn about your breakfast experience. Please accept our sincere apologies for the slow service and the quality of the scrambled eggs. We understand how important a satisfying breakfast is to start the day right, and it seems we did not meet our usual standards in this regard. I have shared your feedback with our culinary and service teams to ensure we address these issues promptly and improve our breakfast experience.

We value your patronage and hope this experience will not deter you from returning to our hotel. We would like to have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience in the future. If there's anything specific we can do to enhance your next stay, or if you have any further feedback, please don't hesitate to let me know.

We look forward to welcoming you back and ensuring your next visit is thoroughly enjoyable in every aspect.

Warm regards,

George Miliaras
Front Desk Duty Manager
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2023

Lovely Hotel, really friendly helpful staff with clean and comfy rooms.
Location was brilliant, minutes from Waverley Station and practically on the doorstep of Princes Street, moments from Christmas Market oh and tour buses across the street.
Definitely recommend and stay again.

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank afergu878400
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Apex Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2023

Thank you for choosing Apex Waterloo Place Hotel and for sharing your delightful experience with us.

We are truly pleased to hear that you found our hotel lovely and that our staff's friendliness and helpfulness enhanced your stay. It's wonderful to know that the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms met your expectations, as we strive to create a welcoming and relaxing environment for all our guests.

Your comments on our prime location, just minutes from Waverley Station, close to Princes Street, and near the Christmas Market, highlight one of the many benefits of staying with us. We're glad you were able to enjoy the convenience and the festive atmosphere around.

We are honoured by your recommendation and are thrilled to know that you would choose to stay with us again. If there's anything we can do to make your next visit even more enjoyable, or if you have any preferences for your future stays, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Thank you once again for your kind words. We eagerly await your return to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel.

Warm regards,

George Miliaras
Front Desk Duty Manager
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2023 via mobile

Had a fantastic 3 night stay at the Apex. Didn’t have breakfast or dinner so can’t comment on that, and whilst we bought our swimwear to use the pool and spa facilities, we were so busy in Edinburgh itself that we ran out of time. However, hotel was very comfortable, nicely furnished, incredibly comfortable beds and pillows, fantastic sized shower and bath and also had a good selection of tea/coffee/hot chocolate supplies, plus posh toiletries and a mobile hairdryer that wasn’t fixed in the bathroom. I slept like a baby here. The only thing I would say is that room 405 faced a back street and it could be noisy with drunk people walking past and then the hustle and bustle of morning traffic. But that’s because I like to sleep with the window open. Once it was shut you couldn’t hear a thing.

Fantastically located close to the Christmas market, St James’ Quarter, St Andrews Square, a 15 -20 minute uphill stroll to the castle and Royal Mike, plus lots of shops and places to eat along Princes Street. Check out Rose Street too as lots of nice restaurants and pubs along there also. Overall a great mini break and we will be back!

Room tip: Edinburgh has so much to see at this time of year, so plan your trip well. 3 nights just wasn’t quite long enough to see everything.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TheAlexanders15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Apex Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2023

Thank you for choosing Apex Waterloo Place Hotel for your 3-night stay in Edinburgh, and for sharing such a detailed and positive review of your experience with us.

We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic time and found the hotel to your liking, from the comfortable and nicely furnished rooms to the ample amenities including our tea/coffee selection, toiletries, and hairdryer. It's particularly pleasing to know that our beds and pillows contributed to a restful night's sleep for you.

Regarding the noise from the street when the window was open, we understand how this can impact light sleepers, and we appreciate your understanding and solution to close the window for a quieter environment. We always aim to provide a peaceful stay for our guests.

Your comments on our central location near Edinburgh's key attractions like the Christmas market, St James’ Quarter, and the Royal Mile highlight one of the many benefits of staying with us, and we're glad you were able to explore and enjoy these areas.

It's wonderful to know that you're planning to return, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another great mini-break. Should you wish to experience our breakfast or dinner offerings or use our pool and spa facilities on your next visit, we would be delighted to arrange that for you.

If there's anything specific we can do to make your next visit even more special, or if you have any further feedback, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Thank you once again for your kind words and for recommending us. We eagerly await your return to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel.

Warm regards,

George Miliaras
Front Desk Duty Manager
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews